Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Nice for A Night

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and welcoming.
Cons: It would be great it they would allow breakfast to be taken out of the lobby. It would really help, I think, with families who travel with young kids
Location: We were just there overnight so I do not know what is nearby.
We stayed here while traveling to see family. We got to the motel around 11:30P.M. Thought it was late, the front desk staff was very welcoming and seemed genuinely glad to have us. The room was acceptable for an overnight stay. It was clean and comfortable. We have two kids and didn't cringe to see them walking barefoot on the floor. The beds were kind of lumpy, which took away from the comfort of the room, but again, it was good for one night. The continental breakfast was average. One downfall was they wouldn't let you take breakfast out of the lobby. This presented a small problem for us because my husband always goes down and gets breakfast for all of us. It's just easier with two kids to eat in the room. Due to their restriction, we ended up going elsewhere for breakfast so we could eat in the car on the road. Overall, it was a good place for an overnight stay and I would recommend it to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

nice hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: the staff & it was clean
Cons: delux breakfast
Location: excellent
it was just overnight & it was in the location we needed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great value

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, great staff
Cons: Expand breakfast selections
Location: Convenient to the interstate, several good places to eat close by.
I was pleasantly surprised when I checked in. For the "bargain price" I was expecting just the basics but was very impressed with the quality of the room, the cleanliness of it and overall furnishings. We will definitely be staying here whenever we are in the area. Thanks to the great staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for a great price!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The breakfast bar and how smooth our stay was.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Be sure to checkout downtown Abingdon just a few miles away...picture perfect town reminded us of Stepford Wives...
So many places had already booked up and it was getting more difficult to find a reasonably priced place close to Grayson Highland State Park. The reviews on this hotel were less than favorable and I must say, those folks were obviously expecting the Ritz Carlton. We were pleasantly surprised by the non-smoking room's cleanliness, updated furnishings and first impression. Our favorite part...the breakfast bar. The spread was truly amazing. My kids love the waffle maker! A smiling, friendly staff member greeted us warmly and kept the food & supplies well stocked all the while offering assistance to us and others in the lobby. I'm not sure why there are reviews with such low stars, but our family agrees that it was a perfect stay and one of the nicest low-budget hotels our family has had the pleasure of staying in. We will definitely be back at this very same location in a couple of weeks as we plan to return to the state park before summer's end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Easy interstate access & clean

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Cons: Breakfas could have offered more fresh fruit selections.
Location: Abingdon, VA & I always recommend the Barter Theater which was fabulous & the Virginia Creeper Trail!
My grandson & I were looking for a clean, quiet, convenient hotel to spend the night before journeying on to our next destination. This hotel met our expectations & provided just what we needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Road Warrior from ATL

Road Warrior

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
A good and safe 1 star hotel. Clean, just not renovated.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Tim from Jackson, TN

Pet Fee not Refundable and Dirty carpet.

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Though it is really the fault of hotels.com, I was given incorrect information (I knew it was too good to be true) about the pet fee. The fee is pretty reasonable, but it is NOT refundable. Get your database straight Hotels.com. Also, the room was what you'd expect from a hotel in this price range: livable, but pretty beat up and dirty. Our kids' feet were black after walking on the floor for just 15 minutes. I don't think that is acceptable even for a hotel in this price range. Though there wasn't any visible dirt on the floor, you need to have the carpets shampooed or more thoroughly vacuumed. I will not stay at this hotel again for that reason. That being said, the staff was very courteous and professional. Kudos to them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Good Overnight Stop

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nothing fancy, but it's worth the price. An older place, but reasonably clean. For one night, it's fine.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Yoshi

No water

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay here was very disappointing. After a long day at the the track, we find out there is water for the shower. Would not stay here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Uncomfortable beds and terrible AC. Not worth the stop if looking to sleep at all.