Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Loads of caracter

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Nice hotel, rooms are clean dated but adds to the character. Would stay agen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old imposing building away from the centre of

Posted Nov 28, 2014
The hotel staff were pleasant and well mannered. The hotel is nice old building with plenty of personaility. The plumbing in the room I stayed in was very noisy, so I made sure I didn't flush in the night, sorry to other guests at other times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom West Midlands

Good, will return!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Location, price, full size Bath, comfort of bed. Free parking.
Cons: Could do with a freshen-up, but then it is an old building and does have atmosphere.
Location: I didn't have time to consider local amenities, but the hotel location is certainly convenient for Bristol, Bath & area.
Convenient for my Business appointments in the City the following day and more competitively priced that any of the so called Budget hotels on the night. Generally well appointed if a little dated. I arrived around midnight to a cheery welcome from Reception and was given a large comfortable room on the second floor, albeit I found the necessity to navigate two flights of stairs with both suit and hand bags a bit wearing at that time of night. Coffee and tea selection was fine and I was particularly grateful for the two packets of biscuits provided, as i was a bit peckish by that time. I missed breakfast due to incoming business calls, but received an equally cheery farewell on the way out, so overall impressions were very favourable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kuala lumpur, malaysia

Nice hotel but inconvenient

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Have all the basic facilities and pretty clean overall.
Cons: Front receptionist is not so well versed in the public transport system. Need to have a better understanding of the public transport system.
Location: Location is not inconvenient to eateries. Must travel at least 2 miles to restaurants for food.
Staff is friendly but not well versed with the public transport system.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom C

Old mansion house that needs updating

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Shabby and basic hasn't been modernised in a while . The lift needs to be repaired and it needs a lick of paint. The bed was comfortable and the shower was fine
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleased with the room allocated for price paid

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Suitable 3 star for overnight stay
Location: Stayed overnight as attended occasion at the hotel that evening / night and stayed the night ( was not on sight seeing visit)
Some areas of hotel dated however for 3 star hotel , room we got on 1st floor spacious and well ventilated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Semajfrom Cambs

Tired place

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Building has a good air and history, unfortunately the hotel, staffs conduct and attitude did not echo the same. There re is plenty of parking area and is within easy distance of city centre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom stratford upon avon

Good hotel, good location close to city centre.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Overall hotel was good and would revisit. Unfortunately the bathroom had a drainage problem which left a pungent smell directly after flushing the toilet! The room was comfortable, light and spacious. Staff we encountered were cold and neutral. Hotel localation was very good, lots of shops near by and bus stop outside and good off road car parking. Would go back again because of location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gary Lewis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom west sussex

Visit to friends in Bristol

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Good parking, easy access by road, very helpful and friendly staff in particular Mark.
Cons: Rooms are a little tired and in need of decoration
Location: Bus stop close to Hotel, good service into City. Ideal location if you wish to avoid driving.
It would be helpful if Expedia indicated the deal is room only.