Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom shropshire

Beautiful hotel, impeccable service, homely feel

Posted Mar 7, 2015
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. From the moment I arrived the staff were so welcoming and helpful. The room was beautiful and everything was immaculate. The dining room although small served the most amazing food. My only comment was that the lighting in there was too bright, could be toned down to create a more ambient atmosphere. Would come here again in an instant. Glad I've discovered this gem of a place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chesham

Nice hotel just missing out on the details

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Plenty of car parking. Friendly staff.
Cons: More tea bags and milk! Only 4 of each over the weekend. No doubt could have asked for more but only realised when I got out of bed.
Location: Cheap Toby carvery in walking distance if that's your thing. Very easy to get to Bristol - SS Great Britain is highly recommended.
My daughter checked me in with no problems. Everything was fine and the staff exemplary. Had a pleasant loft room with sloping roof and exposed beams. But all the furniture was cut down to fit. So very low bed - easier to roll out of than get up from. Same with the bedroom chair - great if you're a kid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, pleasant stay

Posted May 27, 2014
Overall a very good experience. Food was very good during the dinner service and breakfast. The room was a good size with a comfy bed and nice bathroom. Nice local walks around Blaise Castle and local parkland. Friendly staff both on reception and in the restaurant. Also not far from city centre in a cab/bus etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Location: Although I didn't have time to look around or see anything of the area, the hotel was everything I needed it to be.
Lovely big room with tea, biscuits and comfy chairs. Very nice breakfast. Faultless service from friendly staff who couldn't do more to help. What more could you want? :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dannyfrom West Sussex, UK

Great hotel great staff great value

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Perfect for Buisness travellers and couples on a weekend break
Cons: Nothing at all
Location: Great
We chose the hotel because of its location to a site we were attending, our arrival was met with a friendly smile and the receptionist booked us in efficiently,room was great very roomy , bathroom was Clean and modern with a great shower, bed was very comfortable. We elected to stay to stay in the night of our arrival and eat in the restaurant, food was exceptional however menu was limited in vegetarian options electing for a single "main " pasta dish. Breakfast was again brilliant and the home made Jam was to die for. Overall great hotel great staff good value
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nurse on a weekfrom midlands england

my festival weekend

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: the bed and the food and service
Cons: the noise from the room above
Location: not much to see but toby inn carvery within walking distance for relaxation.
food, staff and room fantastic. only downside was noise from room above which disturbed our sleep. Staff interveined immediately and resolved the situation without any fuss. was given a complimenery bottle of wine on our departure for any inconvienience. would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Georgefrom Hampshire, UK

Good value hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2013
Pros: Clean room with good shower and toilet facilities. Very pleasant bar--very good breakfast.
Cons: Car park surface gravel and area not well defined.
Location: Location perfect for our needs--close o Avonmoouth
Hotel staff courteous and efficient. Meals very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David & Kathrynfrom Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK

Comfortable place to stay!

Posted Feb 19, 2013
Polite, friendly staff. Good sized bedroom and bathroom, bathroom stylish and modern with modern marble finish. Easy parking, good breakfast, "guest house" feel rather than corporate hotel which is great.
3 out of 5
by markfrom Warwickshire, UK

avoid room 1

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Pros: clean , good staff
Cons: room 1
Location: quiet, nice for a short walk
Do not take this review as a general view of the hotel as most things were positive, but be warned if you are allocated room 1 dont expect a good nights sleep. The hotel is very clean , and the desk staff was very proficient, however we were allocated room 1 which is located less than 2 metres from the lounge , this means that so long as people are talking ,laughing cheering in the lounge you are going to be kept awake as you can still hear this over the noise of the TV in your room. The other alarming thing was that when the small car park was full , cars would then turn round at the back of our room triggering a security light which illuminated our room , so all in all i had a poor, short and disturbed sleep. I would give the hotel another chance but not if i was allocated room 1 again
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Friendly and characterful hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2009 on Hotels
Very friendly staff and a characterful building set in a nice village. A bus stop just outside the hotel takes you in (and out) of central Bristol including Temple Meads c.£2.50 each way, so there is no need for a car. Recommended.