Ratings based on 514 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Relaxing break

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grounds,cleanliness, comfort and hotel staff.
Cons: Sound proofing, the planes overhead were slightly annoying at night time.
Location: Beautiful location with lovely view across to Wales. Bristol is nearby aswell as the Mendip hills
My daughter and I came for a one night stay to relax and use the spa facilities. the hotel was fantastic, a stunning location and beautiful grounds. Lovely room with modern decor and very comfortable. the hotel facilities were excellent, we were met at the door buy a very cheerful and polite member of staff who took our bags to our room. The spa facilities were excellent and again the staff were very cheerful and helpful. We had a meal in the 'club' restaurant which was very good. The 'Lounge' was luxurious, where we had an evening drink and morning coffee. We had a lovely stay and will certainly come back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from London

Weekend away with the family

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Staff, décor, external grounds.
Cons: Remodel Kitchen/hot food area. Better organized breakfast. sound proofing. focus on guests wanting to relax too.
Location: Location lovely, spa next door. Puxton Park for kids. Local to Weston beach, Bristol, cheddar gorge. good run routes - invigorating.
Situated in a lovely area with health club, although not directly adjoining the hotel. Hotel caters extensively for Weddings/Hen/Parties, etc., so you need to be prepared for extreme activity. Staff are very responsive and hotel is furnished nicely, although a bit of a rabbit warren and you will frequently queue for lifts. VERY disappointing first night - noisy wedding guests - doors banging from 2 a.m. - 5 .30 a.m. every 20 minutes or so, voices in corridor permeate your room. Sound proofing between walls is just ok but at the point of entry the doors are wafer thin. It was like knock down ginger whenever a door was knocked somewhere on the floor and between floors a lack of sound proofing was equally problematic. Breakfast was a debacle, ran out of plates, bowls, food, coffee machine ran out of water, no milk, we asked for 2 tables to be saved as we were a family booking of 10 which was no problem until the next waiter gave tables to another family (lots of left hand - right hand)- hot food area is ill set up, as space tight and guests unclear as to what side to take food from, and kitchen staff entering by same entrance as guests with trays of hot good and having to work there way through the queues to put food out on hot plates. Saturday night/sunday morning was better, calmer, quieter - but Saturday's activities were ruined due to exhaustion from lack of sleep, etc. Rooms lacked facilities - no water in the room (you have to buy), no minibar, etc. Rooms small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Weekend break for older couple

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The staff. Had to use room service and it was great.
Location: Visited Cheddar gorge which was a brilliant day out. Lots of things to do around this area for all age groups.
Beautiful hotel and grounds. There many functions taking place the weekend we stayed but the service didn't falter and we were not affected by any of the guests. Brilliant location as a base for sight seeing and a lovely place to relax in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with great view.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: the quiet location, view and fitness facilities.
Location: About 15 minutes from Bristol Airport.
Lovely far reaching views over to Wales. Excellent fitness club/spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nicholas from Cheselbourne

Double Tree Bristol Airport

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay - really close to the airport. Rooms quiet and clean, good showers. Had a steak off the bar menu delicious. If I fly from Bristol I will definitely stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas from Dundee

Not many Veggie meals at Marco's

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for a long weekend as part of a wedding party who got married in the hotel and for our first year wedding anniversary. Overall we found the hotel to be very good. Set in nice grounds, not too far from Weston and Bristol Airport. Our only issues were the breakfast, which for the cost, we would have expected waiter services, rather than a simple buffet. We never ate at Marco's restaurant as my wife is vegetarian and could only find one veggie main course, which in this day and age is a bit annoying! Apart from that we enjoyed the stay and would probably visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jamie from Weston super mare

Hotel review

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here for a wedding hotel staff were polite and helpful room was spotless and Nicely decorated my only complaint would be drinks are expensive from the hotel bar hotel breakfast was very good to
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sleeping above a nightclub.

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Weren't informed of a party being held the night of our stay. The music meant we felt like we were sleeping above a nightclub. Things in our room were vibrating due to the bass. Called reception, told it would stop at midnight and the bass would be turned down. Not offered any other conciliatory measures. If the bass was turned down we didn't notice. Rang back but no answer. Wanted to sleep with windows open but due to our room being 2 floors above the party with their outside area directly below our window we couldn't, as then, on top of the music, we could hear conservations in their entirety. The room had AC but it should be our choice to use it, given the quiet location this choice should not be dictated by factors we weren't informed of. We had a long journey on the day of check in and a long journey the next day. Although the hotel had no reason to be aware of this, we wouldn't have stayed there had we been informed that the venue would be turned into a nightclub where we wouldn't be able to sleep. By the time the party started we’d had a couple of drinks so were unable to drive and find alternative accommodation and the hotel did not offer to move us. On top of this, the room did not have the bathrobes nor sofa-bed as advertised. Wanted to speak to staff on check out but there was no one at reception. If you can be sure the hotel is not holding party then it might be a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve sharp from Halifax

Room with a view

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
We chose the hotel because it was close to the airport as we had arranged to pick up our son from traveling back from Chicago the hotel staff were very pleasant and booking in was extremely easy the cookies were a nice touch and our room was very nice with a lovely view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Solihull

Didn't live up to it's billing

Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels
I was impressed by previous reviews of the hotel but didn't find the hotel lived up to it's billing. On the plus side is the countryside location, the gym and pool facilities and the restaurant (although a bit pricey) with friendly staff. On the negative side I booked well in advance of our Easter stay and requested a quiet room with bath at the time of booking. The hotel ignored both points. The man on reception tried to find an alternative when we arrived but it was too late and by that time the hotel was fully booked. I'm a light sleeper so don't like night time noise. Unfortunately, the hotel is along the path of flights to Bristol airport (as early as 6am) and there was a wedding on that weekend with some very inconsiderate guests at 1am - a hotel's nightmare. To their credit they shut them up fairly quickly when I complained. The halls in the hotel were pretty shabby with the carpets looking cheap and ill fitted but the room was clean. So, in summary I'd probably chose a more intimate hotel for a quiet getaway, but it would be a good place to stay for a flight from Bristol airport.