Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bournemouth

Small standard room and slow restuarant service

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the receptionist we dealt with. Executive room was lovely, bed and pillow both really comfortable
Cons: Portion sizes and efficiency in the restaurant. Also prices are much higher than expected, especially in regards to wine, £6.20 per 175ml glass...ouch
Location: We didn't really explore the area, but it is quite a distance from Bristol City Centre. Only thing we saw near to us was a driving range!
I came to stay for my birthday, it wasn't a cheap room and so I expected a nice sized, very clean room. On arrival to our room, we noticed it was considerably smaller than we thought, but still looked like a clean and standard room, so was happy to stay in it for only he one night. On closer inspection we found one of the towels dirty, one pillow and the bed sheet to have suspect looking marks on them. I called the front desk, and the woman was incredibly helpful & apologetic. Within 3 minutes someone was at our door to take us to a new room, which we found was an Executive Suite. She also gave us 2 drinks vouchers to use in the bar/restaurant. The new room was brilliant, so much nicer than the last, and incredibly clean. It was the type of room I'd expected to be in the first place! Suffice to say, we were much happier in the new room, and very happy with the level of customer service from the Front Desk. We decided to eat at the The Junction restaurant. Firstly we were assumed to be Uni students with another group that were dining there, which we were not! There was food left on the floor that was noted by staff, but then didn't proceed to clean it up. Service was slow, we were waiting quite a while to order drinks & food. Once the food arrived, it was a considerably small amount - especially for the price, but luckily it was really tasty! No-one came to give us the bill, so I eventually after waiting around 10-15 mins had to go up to the till myself to get it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cornwall

Staff, including restaurant staff and chef gave is

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Staff in hotel and restaurant, including chef, gave us a fabulous Twixmas and new year. Very kind to 90yr old mother in wheelchair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BS15

Xmas gift

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Found hotel to be nice and clean quiet and relaxing. Would recommend to friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bishops Stortford

Average over all

Posted Dec 28, 2014
The hotel is well equipped and furnished to a good standard. It's clean and effective ti fulfil the purpose. The shower is outstanding. The bed matress feels like a cardboard box and the reception staff seen mostly intent on selling the guest added services to raise more revenue. A visit to Tesco is more welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unexpectedly Good

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: location, price, interior, facilities
Cons: wifi cost, noise
Without trying to disrespect HI, I wasn't expecting much from this hotel. It was reasonably priced and had a convenient location. Upon arrival i didn't think it looked that great from the outside if i am absolutely honest. However as soon as i stepped through the door, i was immediately surprised. It was modern, spacious and well laid out. It was a lot bigger than i'd anticipated, which i assume is due to being aimed at a business audience with the amount of conference rooms they have. The room was really nice, although quite small, but comfortable enough for a couple of nights. Breakfast was really nice. Large buffet with most things you would expect. it has a small bar and a cafe serving starbucks. The two minor things i would say about this hotel are; It was quite noisy. I'm not sure if i can blame the hotel for that, as they can't control every guest who stays. The other is the price of the wifi. I find it ridiculous that in the modern age with the ease and cost of communications "a sector i work in", that it can cost £14+ for the internet, but again i assume that is because they are business orientated and are trying make a good profit on that side of the business. overall i would recommend it here and would stay here again if was in the Bristol Area.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom owen

Overpriced

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Overpriced - very average typical chain.why pay 130 unless you are desperate for a room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicholasfrom Milton Keynes

Overnighter

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our Executive Room was missing the plug lever which didn't matter much as the outlet was mostly blocked anyway. The tap was also loose so surprised by the cleaning staff not reporting this and it being fixed before being used again. Apart from that, the bed was very comfortable, the stay quiet and the heating working okay. As typical with Holiday Inn don't expect a central light in the room. Cooked breakfast was good quality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alistairfrom Surrey

Ok...& consistent.

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
You get a consistent 'quality' with Holiday Inns - like this one in Bristol, nothing bad, just nothing 'wow'. Ok hotel, ok staff, dull location, ok rooms... Just seems a lot of money for no wow. I would stay again if it suited an event or meeting, but not rushing back....kind of place you just feel like a number. Nothing wrong with that.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

In need of updating

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Cons: Open the gym (not the pool) 24 hours; heat the changing rooms; more staff in the restaurant.
We arrived on a Friday evening for a one night stay. Check-in was pleasant and easy; the front desk staff member to greet us was very friendly. Our room was rather small. The sofa bed was single sized; it was not at all comfortable. The bathroom had seen better days; it was far too small to be functional. Wiping down the desk in the room, my wipe turned black! The swimming pool was ok. The changing rooms had a poor odour, and were cold; when you leave the warm heated pool and enter the changing facilities, you do not have a good experience; dressing is like a race to ensure you do not freeze to death! The gym was tiny, and full all the time. We were in room 150; the young men in the room next to us had a party all night; we did not sleep! The spiel stated their breakfast was award winning. I am not sure what award it is that has been awarded to this place; it was not special. The sausages were salty, the bacon was dry, the friend eggs were just too oily (the breakfast buffet was well stocked and replenished quickly). The poached eggs took 40 minutes to arrive. The cold buffet was too small, and the fruit looked awful. The selection of breads and pastries were limited. The automatic pancake machine was a nice novelty for all the children in the restaurant. The hotel is reasonable. Nothing special.