Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pigeon Forge,TN

great hotel close to creeper trail and Damascus

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Free breakfast; close to historic downtown
Cons: maybe matresses on beds
Location: historic downtown abingdon and creeper trail
Excellent staff, breakfast very good, great big thanks to female staff member in charge of breakfast area. Never had I been asked at a hotel breakfast if I needed anything while eating; very attentive. she was constanly replenishing food. she was like that both days we stayed too. would definetley stay here again!! Thanks Holiday Inn Express!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by Danny Owen, Hotel Management
Thanks, Lona, for the wonderful comments and for reviewing our hotel. Our Express Start Breakfast in a great way to begin the day and our our hostesses are always eager to please. Our location is also convenient to many local area attractions and great local dining as well. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon !!! Danny W. Owen Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everywhere

Noisy area invades room.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Great staff and clean room. However, the walls of this hotel do not keep out the outside noises.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by Danny Owen, Hotel Management
Thank you Jeff for taking time to review our hotel. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the clean room, and yes - we do have a wonderful that is always available to assist. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope we'll be your choice again when in the area. Danny W. Owen Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Cons: How about a smoke alarm in every room that would go off is someone smokes?
Location: Abingdon is a wonderful little town, near lots of outdoor activities, and the Barter Theater.
The manager and front desk person on duty could not have been nicer. Our only complaint is that it was evident that someone had smoked in or near the room. The breakfast was good, and the breakfast staff were most pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Danny Owen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We certainly apologize for the smoke odor you encountered. We are non-smoking hotel. We're happy that you were able to begin your day with our Express Start Breakfast and that you found our staff to your liking. We always are ready to assist our guests to provide the best in customer service with a great nights rest. We hope to see you again when in our area. Danny Owen Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winston Salem, NC

Virginia Highlands Festival attendees

Posted Aug 7, 2014
We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly. Our room was fresh and clean; normally reserved for pet use, you would never know another pet had been there before! The room was nicely appointed with a king sized bed; great bedding and mattress. We will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Danny Owen, Hotel Management
Thank you Cindy from Winston-Salem, for taking the opportunity to share your experience. Our housekeeping staff is the finest and they make sure all rooms are clean - whether they be pet friendly or not. We are glad you were able to rest comfortably on one of our new pillow-top mattresses. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel located close to interstate

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, bed comfort, free wifi
Cons: Large travel size coffee cups in breakfast area
I chose to stay here because of the reviews and was not disappointed. After a long drive, I arrived late and was greeted by a friendly smiling hotel staff. My room was comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express and have not been disappointed. The room included free wireless connection which worked flawless. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cashiers, NC

Very nice pet friendly hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Very nice and comfortable. Breakfast had huge variety, no complaints.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Awful, Awful, Awful..........the front desk people were very friendly and handed out dog treats to both of my dogs, but the room smelled absolutely horrible and the air conditioner was so worn that you couldn't read the settings so very hard to figure out how to set the darn thing. I don't normally stay at Holiday Inns because they are so inconsistent, but the reviews weren't all that bad, first time I have been led astray by the reviews on Hotels.com.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Happy Camper from Martinsville, Va

Excellent staff

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very clean, large breakfast- FREE!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Larry Nobles from Jacks Creek, Tennessee

Excellent Service!

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The entire staff exceeded my every expectation! And the degree of cleanliness of the entire facility was simply outstanding! It is for these reasons that I shall continue to utilize this hotel as my itinerary requires my being present within the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service was great. Employees were very helpful, nice & attentive.