Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Two Night Stay

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Close to my destination. Friendly staff, Price was reasonable.
Cons: More of a selection for the continental breakfast
Location: Great restaurant (Iron Skillet). Pretty scenery.
Staff was very friendly. Got us processed very quickly.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

There are other Options

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: location close to family
Cons: cleaning!
Location: There were several things to do, if you had someone that knew the area.
Had to wait several minutes for someone to show-up just to sign in, and I was the only one there. When we went for breakfast, there was never anyone there.Was able to get ground floor, but the room needed a really good cleaning. There was mold on the ceiling and around the tub, and the floor was not very clean. The breakfast was very poor (Waffle maker did not work correctly). We just had to put the keys on the counter when checking out...again, no one at counter!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close hotel to Emory and Henry

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Will be staying here again shortly and will be my go to hotel when traveling that way!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

You Get What You Pay For (or not)

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The front desk staff were friendly and courteous.
Cons: The cleaning crew, and the general upkeep of the place could use improvement.
Location: Right off of Rt. 81 - very convenient location. Virginia Creeper Trail, Emory & Henry College, and the quaint town of Abingdon are all nearby.
I checked in late (around midnight), and the front desk was very friendly, courteous, had me out of out and heading to my room in about 30 seconds. I wasn't expecting much for the price, but I did expect a reasonably clean and functional room. Unfortunately, I found dirt on my bed sheets; a used, dirty coffee filter in the coffee maker; only two bath towels (although the reservation was for three); the stopper in the drain didn't work correctly (I had to reach under the sink to open/close the drain); and the toilet was not secured to the floor, and leaked a little from the bottom. The queen bed tended to roll When we brought it to the attention of the front desk, they apologized and offered to move us to another room. We declined - we had already moved in, and we weren't spending enough time in the room to worry about it. Good marks for the desk staff, not so much for the cleaning crew and facilities manager. It was really cheap (it cost more to board my dog that weekend), but not particularly pleasant. I would consider staying there again for a day or two if I were on my own (strictly on account of the price) but would not bring my family back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Craigfrom Glade Spring

Review

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a standard cheaper motel. It meet my expectations.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Blacksburg, VA

Stay away

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: It should be raised and rebuilt.
I got nervous on the way to the room when I passed a curtain with a rip repaired with duct tape and had to maneuver around bent grating on the outside of every room's air/heat unit. We walked into the room and were immediately disgusted. Everything in it was old. It smelt dirty. The carpet was so bad I didn't want to take my shoes off. The old TV's cabinet had been melted on one top corner. Then I went into the bathroom and noticed that the shower head was broken off and sitting on the back edge of the tub. At that point, we decided that we couldn't spend the night. Unfortunately, Expedia already had our money. We just walked away and found another place down the road. It was a $60 mistake and I learned not to pay up front for a place I didn't know.
1 out of 5
by Barry and Nancyfrom Richmond, VA

worse motel EVER!!

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!
Location: We COULD NOT STAY!
We did not stay because we looked at the room first; it was dirty with cigarette burn holes in the comforter and it smelled so musty and unclean. We expect a refund.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by S.N.from Dulles,Va

Very So-So

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Older looking hotel that needs major upkeeps.The cleanliness of the hotel rooms was below average.The beds you absolutely sank in the middle.The snack machines were empty.The continental breakfast and the office staff was no where to be found at 6:45 am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Good highway stop

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you are barreling down highway 81 and just have to stop for rest, this is a great place to do so. It's just off the highway, next to a gas station, and has a pretty good Italian restaurant next door- and they will deliver to your room for free. The room itself was clean, comfortable, and had all the necessary amenities.