Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hove

Nice place for leisure and relaxation

Posted Nov 21, 2014
The accommodation was lovely and great for a relaxing break. Unfortunately my TV was not working, ariel was not connected but resolved in morning. I couldnt connect to wifi so could not work in the evening which was frustrating. I would come back to chill out though, lovely accommodation and bed.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk

Sleepless in Redhill

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: The outside and the dogs
Cons: everything. Quality of breakfast offerings 'Sainsbury basic honey'? Customer service
Reception on arrival was unfriendly. Apparently we arrived to early, left standing on the patio whilst other guests were given orientation of the building. Eventually we were booked in and shown our room. Strong smell of plaster / damp fur which became over powering during the night. Brought it to the attention of the young lady (early evening) who had no response to our complaint. Room extremely small, once the luggage was put on the floor no one could move. Lights were out in the shower and 1 in the room, but no staff to report it to. No information in the bedroom so did not know what the code was for Wi-Fi. Found that in the morning on the fridge door? Tried to sleep with the window open but late arriving guests were so noisy and dogs barking were too much. Very thin partitioned walls so knew when everyone was going to the loo. Too many bedrooms for car parking facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Leonard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve Cfrom Truro

Quirky room

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Text message requesting I check-in at 19.00hrs was a surprise. Entrance to courtyard car park is very tight. Had to phone hotel from their reception area to check-in - a first! Poor EE reception & internet connection was playing up. Room was quirky, but comfy & warm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Annette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, all our rooms are unique, the house having been built in 1640. We do ask guests what time they plan to check in, and indeed we suggest a time. As a very small business I cannot be here all the time, proximity to Bristol Airport can lead to a very long day. The turning in is indeed tight, as the entrance is between two properties over 400 years old. We do have an entry phone and there is no need to call.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant for an early morning flight!!

Posted Oct 16, 2014
I arrived at about 7:30 and was greeted by the friendly owner and her even friendlier Labradors. I unfortunately arrived in the dark so couldn't see much of the grounds but what I could see looked lovely. The room was small (it was a single room) but comfortable, clean and well laid out with everything I needed. The owner was very helpful with information about local eateries and my overall stay was lovely - I was only sorry that I wasn't able to sample the breakfast as my flight was so early. I would certainly recommend it to others and would indeed stay there again. Thankyou.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stevenfrom Southend, Essex

Meadow Cottage 4/5 7th-Oct-14

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really nice location just set away from the main road and only a 7min drive to the airport, staff was very friendly, very quite day and night time would recomend. The only thing we felt it was lacking was a cooked breakfast in the morning but we was told we could use there kitchen if we wanted too (as was selfservice over all) 4/5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Bucolic spot close to Bristol

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Overnight stop (second time) on trip from Los Angeles to Cornwall. Really appreciate their willingness to let me sleep in a while.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by galinafrom london

very hospitable hostess

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
we were warned that breakfast is self-service, but we found it hard to navigate the kitchen, because need someone who can help. Many guests were embarrassed by the fact that it was necessary to open the fridge. search for milk, yogurt and butter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Barbarafrom Bristol

Easy to get to Bristol airport

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a comfortable room in a beautiful old house and gardens , and walked the country lanes before turning in for the night. As there was no restaurant within walking distance, I took food for an evening meal with me and ate at one of the tables in the garden.The host booked my taxi for a 5.45 am arrival at the airport and I was there in five minutes of leaving Meadow cottage. It all worked just fine!