Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

First stay at Super 8

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: I love the layout with inside hallways and few steps. The decor a amenities are excellent.
Location: We enjoyed the historic sites and arts and crafts in S.W. VA.
I was pleasantly surprised that Super 8 is so adequate for the price. No fancy lobby and room compact to save on room rate....great idea!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sausage gravy biscuits for breakfast

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Courteous and quick check-in, prompt results to requests, very clean.
Cons: A/C noisy as is common.
Location: Convenient on/off I-81 but not traffic noise.
You gotta love the local flavor. If you expect the Taj Mahal, go to India, but in western Virginia this convenient and quiet motel is what an overnight traveler needs. The current refurbishing is no inconvenience, and the service is excellent.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

musical rooms

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
First room, bed wasn't made. Second room smoke detector was beeping. Third room smelled like smoke (non-smoking room). Moved us back to the second room after fixing the smoke detector. Friendly staff, but a frustrating start to the night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

999 motels on I- 81 and I was stuck with that one

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
Dreadful. Under questioning, mgmt said prior owner walked away from the place and left it battered, bruised and busted. Said they're undergoing renovations. May become the queen of the interstate by year's end. But till then ...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by chasity, Hotel Management
We apologize that our hotel was out of date at the time, we are almost finished with the renovation which has updated and improved our rooms. We hope you will give us a chance to serve you with new ownership, management and newly renovated rooms. sincerely, management 276.676.3329
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JOSEPH

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for quick stopover to rest

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels
Sufficient hotel room for brief overnight stay during long road trip, easy access on/off interstate. Clean and parking lot has good lighting for safety. The hotel is dated but seems clean and does not smell of smoke or mildew. There was a recliner in our room that looked like it was taken straight from someone's living room, full of stains and very well-worn fabric. Scary! Good choice of tv channels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by chasity, Hotel Management
We are glad our hotel room was sufficient for your stay, but we strive for excellence. Due to our out dated hotel we have completely renovated second and third floor and are in the process of renovating first floor. We hope you will stay with us again in the future with our newly renovated rooms as well as new ownership and management. sincerely, Management 276.676.3329
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carolefrom Florida

Disappointment

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
We tried 3 different rooms until we found one where the drapes closed, the phone worked and the safe hadn't been left locked. Unfortunately, it was not a non-smoking room, so we had that stale smell to contend with. Also the heating unit occasionally sounded ask if there were a bird caught in it. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful and claimed the motel would be renovated by new owners soon. Not soon enough!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by chasity, Hotel Management
we apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay at the super 8 in Abingdon, VA. Yes the property has changed management about 3 months ago and has already started the renovation since January 12, 2015. Please give us another chance to serve you better with our newly renovated rooms. Sincerely, Management 276-676-3329
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Harris L.from Buchanan

Good value

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
Clean, comfortable & good value!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by chasity, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Management 276-676-3329
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jamesfrom Roanoke VA

Stay at your own risk

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels
Awful. Filthy. The people were nice, but I definitely see why it's so much cheaper than other Abingdon options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels