Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bristol

For the first time I went to a hotel and left

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Awful rooms nothing like the advert, very bad service and bad admosphere. Lady told us our rooms where used by prisoners which where killed next day. It's a bed toilet shower all in one, same room. Cat walking in kitchen table, discussing smell and no staff after 9pm. Highly NOT recommended, there is a reason they do not do refunds! I called another hotel after 10 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Australia

Great B & B and excellent staff.

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: All aspects
Cons: Nil
Location: Good location in relation to Bath and other tourist spots nearby.
Our room was one of the converted gaol cells and was very comfortable. Breakfasts were very good and staff were extremely friendly and helpful with travel tips, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LeanneandJohn from Portsmouth

Lovely weekend at The Old Court

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The quirkiness and character of the building from its impressive architecture and history, to the the jail cells underneath.
Cons: The only thing and a minor thing, was that the milk on the refreshments tray was a bit lacking and they forgot to replenish this the next day.
Location: We were given perfect instructions to get into the centre of Bath by the local park and ride, so we were able to do the bus tour, shops and Thermaspa.
We were greeted by John at the hotel who showed us to the Judges Master Suite. Nancy was unfortunately in the USA, but emailed me before we arrived to ensure we had a table booked for the Friday evening for dinner at the wonderful Old Station and Carriage Inn which was a lovely thought. John even offered to take us to pick our car up the next day, if we chose to get a taxi home. The room was huge, the jacuzzi bath a generous size and the bed, sumptious. Lovely choice for breakfast - on the second day my fiance had the full English whilst I had blueberry pancakes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jo from west midlands

EXCELLENT

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: This is a very unusual place to stay. Great if you like something exclusive and different. We stayed in the cell (Anne Boleyn)
Cons: The bathroom is private but it is not in the room. Just think this needs to be stated clearly as some people might not like that.
Location: Close to Bath and Bristol (10 miles each). Lovely restaurant - Pony and Trap - quite close and well worth a visit
We had a fabulous time at this hotel. Its a very comfortable and unusual place to stay. Matt is excellent and looks after you very well - nothing is too much trouble. Its not a standard hotel experience but I would recommend it to anyone. Breakfast is also very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mark huse from milton keynes

Great b&b with lots of character

Posted Feb 18, 2014
A great experience, lots of character and plenty of activities in the surrounding area, I will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BB from South East

Unusul experience

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Just the experience of staying in a cell and trying to visulise past history.
Cons: Upkeep of plumming and window that would shut
Location: Nice eating place. The Station Inn. It had a converted train carriage. Very good food. Reasonable price. Pre book early to eat in the carriage.
On arriving it took a while to get an answer to the door. We were shown our cell for the night and offered a cup of tea. We did not notice at first that the small window did not shut due to ware and rust so the room was quite cold and draughty and needed the electric heater on all night as it was very cold out side. The sink also leaked which it seems to be a long standing problem as tape was wraped around the pipe work. On a goog note a very good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing!

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Awesome hotel, great staff, and very comfortable! This old house was beautiful with lots of history!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kat from Coventry

Amazing hotel with jail experience!

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: The opportunity to stay in a jail cell!
Location: We enjoyed our meal at The Old Station Inn where we experience dining in an old railway carriage. The food was delicious and reasonably priced.
A wonderful place to stay with the historical charm of a former courthouse. Do not miss out on the opportunity to stay in one of the jail cells as they offer a unique and comfortable experience. Nancy (the owner) could not have been anymore welcoming with personal emails leading up to our stay and even booked the local restaurant in advance to avoid disappointment. She also provided hot drinks on arrival as well as a huge choice for breakfast. We will definitely be returning to The Old Court!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by James from N wales

Lovely place

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great.... Very welcoming. would stay again!! just keep your eyes peeled as it is a little tricky to find!