Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Convenient hotel for Bristol and M4/M5

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was excellent and the staff were always very attentive and pleasing. The breakfast was plentiful and cooked for you in their restaurant.
Cons: We had issues with the TV not working. Might have been us who knows. Also our toilet did not flush well which made for awkward moments.
Location: The hotel is 1 junction down from Cribbs Causeway shopping mall and only 10 miles from Bristol City Centre and yet in beautiful countryside.
The staff were very pleasant and welcoming for our entire stay and hence across various shifts and staff rotas. The room was spacious and clean. It overlooks a relatively busy main road leading to a motorway. However this did not bother us as overnight the traffic does die down and the windows are double glazed. We were there over a Bank Holiday weekend and they were fully booked and still took the time to show us to our room and take their time. The internet was fast and reliable. The included breakfast was very good and there was as much as you wished. The twin beds were in fact put together and hence were with 1 sheet underneath and 1 duvet on top. Hence a large double bed in reality. Perfect location for us being near Bristol and yet not Bristol hotel prices. Excellent value for money and would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Mixed Review

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The staff and the food.
Cons: More soundproofing in the rooms. Better mattresses. More attention to detail in the maintenance of the rooms.
There was plenty of free parking and we were warmly greeted on arrival by a very nice member of staff behind the bar in the pub. This excellent service continued and all the staff we had dealings with were very pleasant, friendly and helpful and even arranged a late check out for us and lent my wife a hair-drier. We had both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, and the quality of both for and service was very good, as was the real ale on offer. The room however, let things down a bit. It was clean enough but the bathroom was a bit tired. The electric shower was not very powerful and the rail where the shower head was attached to (so the height could be adjusted) kept falling off the wall. Noise was also a problem. We were in room 8 on the ground floor and only a narrow pavement separated us from the busy A38. Double glazing was in place but the noise still permeated the room, and of course we were unable to get any fresh air by opening the window. There was no sound-proofing between us and the room above, which appeared to have a wooden floor. The guests there entered their room after midnight and appeared to spend the next fifteen minutes or so, rolling heavy suitcases across the floor ensuring that we were left wide awake. To sum up therefore, the staff and food and drink could not be faulted. They are a great asset to The Swan. I would only return if I could be guaranteed another, quieter room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A comfortable stay

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros - room was comfortable and well priced - staff were friendly and helpful - good inclusive breakfast cons - mattress was overly soft - after an epically long wait we expected a better quality of food, which for the cost was very average
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Very friendly and cheerful staff
Cons: Would be nice to have fuller pillows
Location: Location is easy to get too from M5 and only 20 minutes from Bristol city centre.
We arrived early but were able to check in before the official check in time which was very helpful as we can the go into Bristol and not worried about arriving too late to check in at night. All the members of staff were very friendly and cheerful. The room was clean and comfortable and has tea making facilities. The included breakfast was excellent. A very pleasant stay indeed. Will certainly book there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Weary travellers from Dorset

Terrific value for money.

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The premises and our room were immaculately clean, staff were friendly and helpful and the quality of the food was superb. Had two dinners and breakfasts here and all were exceptional for pub food. Other bigger hotels nearby but the Swan is much cheaper and still great quality. They even offer takeaway breakfast sandwiches! 100% recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by dadadave from Los Angeles, USA

Great value for a clean and comfy couple of beds

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
My daughter and I stayed here on a quick sightseeing trip during our vacation in the UK. The Swan was a perfect place to stay - quiet, clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the food at the pub was surprisingly creative and tasty. We ended up eating dinner and breakfast there. It functioned as a classic inn - a place to stay in the middle of a long journey. Oh, and it was extremely reasonably priced. I highly recommend it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by AMC H. from Brundall ,Norwich

Convenient for Bristol

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The beds were comfortable and the room clean, though a little odd in being in a house in the garden. Lovely towels. It was very easy to find, just off the motorway and very convenient for Bristol. The only drawback was traffic noise from the road (A38) in front of the hotel/pub, not from the motorway. I still slept quite well so that was not a big issue for me. Friendly staff and a decent breakfast. Didn't eat at other times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient Location for Aztec West

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: It's convenience and the restaurant.
Cons: I thought the room needed a chair so that I could sit and read.
Location: The location was convenient for where I work.
Needed an overnight stay near Aztec West, I also wanted an evening meal. I used the Swan and it's restaurant and found the hotel perfectly adequate and the restaurant very good. I thoroughly enjoyed a well cooked main course of pan fried salmon on a pea risotto and a small cheese board with a couple of glasses of Sauvignon Blanc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cristian from Bucharest

Fantastic employees

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything is absolutely ok, but the people are absolutely extraordinary!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Business stay

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Staff and food
Very helpful staff and excellent food. Very good for business stopover. Room very noisy due to busy road right outside window (would ask for a rear-facing room next time). Overall, good value and would definitely use again.