Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Houston, TX

Wonderful time at Fort Recovery

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very clean and well decorated. The staff was very helpful and responsive to questions and requests.
Cons: We weren't able to get wi-fi from our room so we had to walk down to the pool or beach area to check email.
Location: Consider getting a rental car while staying at Fort Recovery. Most activities are in Road Town or via the West End terminal, both a few miles away.
We had a wonderful three days at Fort Recovery !! The staff was excellent and very helpful with recommendations on things to do (Virgin Gorda and the Baths), getting a rental car and taxis, and other information about the island. We felt like we were the only guests there because our room was so private and it was very relaxing. I only wish we could have stayed a few more days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, Louisiana

A truly relaxing hotel...appropriately named

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: It's convenience, comfort, staff, and location. Everything really!
Cons: I was completely satisfied.
Location: It's on the West End, so it's a beautiful location, and with a car rental, you can go up the mountain to restaurants/dance spots, etc.
After a week sailing on a 36 foot monohull from island to island, I was ready for a bit of "recovery" and pampering. Fort recovery provided just that. Our little suite opened up to a slice of Tortola beach on the West End. We even had a little patio with lounge chairs. Wine classes were ready and waiting, of which we took complete advantage. The bedroom was air-conditioned, neat, and comfy, and the sitting area with its French doors was quite charming. I loved it all and just felt embraced by the place. It was truly a place to relax. And everything was so convenient. We asked about car rental, and the receptionist immediately called the National car rental agency just a minute down the road from the hotel. The agent was there before we had finished checking in. Then, the next day, one of the agents gave us a ride to the ferry, which was also close by. There was a nice little restaurant, a salon, and a pool. Everything was simply lovely. It was a nice way to wrap up our British Virgin Islands experience. Next time, I will stay more than one night at Fort Recovery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from New York

Recovering at Ft. Recovery

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Friendly and caring staff.
Cons: It could use some sprucing up.
Location: There's not much nearby. You'll need a car or a taxi to get around, although there is a grocery within walking distance.
After sailing around Tortola for a week in cramped quarters, this was a nice place to spend a few laid-back easy days. There's not much happening on this end of the island but we didn't care. Breakfasts and dinners at the restaurant were very good. The room was spacious and looked out upon the beach. There's a pool but it's quite small and we didn't see anyone using it. The staff was attentive and quite concerned about how we were doing to the point of probing about taxi pick-up times. ("You'll need an earlier pick-up if you want to make your plane.") If you are looking for a top-of the-line resort with all of the amenities, this isn't it. But it is a pleasant, comfortable and no hassle place to park yourself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paula from Lebanon, TN

Older but in a nice way

Posted Jan 26, 2014
The hotel is about as far away from the airport on Tortola's Beef Island as you can get, but once at the hotel the setting made the trip worth while. We rented a car because the cab ride was very costly for 4 passengers and we are glad we did. It enabled us to explore the island and stop in Roadtown for supplies. We stayed one night on the front and one night on back of a week's sailing cruise. We all looked forward to returning for the second stay. The beach was right outside our door and the sunsets were breathtaking. The kitchen staff set up dinner on the beach and even supplied an oil lantern. The rooms were very clean and well supplied. The grounds are lush with the added feature of the old fort. We enjoyed the whole experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janet from Toronto, Canada

Great spot to stay after a week sailing.

Posted Jan 6, 2014
We booked this hotel after a flight change required us to overnight in Tortola. What a gem! The resort had a slightly retro feel that reminded me of my childhood vacations in the 60's. The premises were extremely clean and well maintained. Our balcony was steps away from the beach with a beautiful view and our room had everything we needed. Someone even came by and left a basin of water at our steps to rinse the sand from our feet. The office staff booked our taxi for early the next day and gave us recommendations for local dining. Exhausted after a week of sailing, we were happy to eat dinner on-site.. Our lucky night - we dined poolside and had the patio to ourselves. The meal was delicious and our server graciously wrapped our key lime pie to take back to our suite. My only regret is that our stay was so short. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynne from Saratoga, CA

West End Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Pros: Our room was lovely, right on the beach. You open our door and there is the water, right there. The staff was extremely accommodating.
Cons: The restaurant could be open on a more regular basis, the pool could be serviced on a daily basis.
Location: If you have a car, this would be a nice place to stay. It's not really near anything, even walking distance. We took lots of taxis.
This was a nice hotel, we loved our room, but were very disappointed in a few things. The restaurant was only open for breakfast and cost $12.95 per person no matter what you ordered. We arrived in the evening and were looking forward to a nice, relaxing dinner, but were informed the restaurant was closed for dinner that night (and in fact it was closed for dinner during our entire stay). So, even though we were tired from our trip, we took a taxi and had dinner somewhere off site. The pool was small and full of leaves. I only saw it being cleaned once. The "spa" was a little tiny dark room and not what I would call a spa at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from Ottawa, Canada

Quiet, with great Island ambiance

Posted Nov 16, 2013
We stayed here for a couple of days before our sailing holiday. It was early in the season, and we wanted a place to get into the pace of the BVI before picking up our boat... It was perfect!! Hotel staff were friendly, and went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. The food was good, and the menu varied every day, plus there are a couple of good restaurants nearby in Sopers hole, if you are looking for a change. The room was very clean and comfortable - although the air conditioner was a little noisy, it was more than made up for by the sound of the waves on the beach when we shut it off. This is not a modern resort... It's a island getaway with a great deal of charm, and peace and quiet. If you want to wind down... this is the place. We will be back...