Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Dee Dee from West Hills, CA

One night stay on west end of Tortola

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Check in was good. Even got an upgrade to a suite. Room was newly remodeled. Room was far from reception and restaurant. Restaurant staff was not friendly. Had to ask for milk ordered 3 times, but food was good. Couldnt stay on beach because of bugs (this not their fault, dont go in June). Not worth price paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cara P. from Dallas, tx

Great hotel on Long Beach

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is on the best beach on Tortola. It is on the pricier side, but the service and location more than make up for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cara P. from Dallas, TX

Great Hotel and Amazing Beach

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel on the best beach on Tortola.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Cabana on one of the most beautiful beaches

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: The hotel has a beautiful beach with a great reef right out in front.
Cons: The cabana's are right on the beach and could use updating to the pillows and flooring.
Hotel staff was excellent, friendly and very accomodating. They, as all others on the island, move at "Island speed", which for us was just fine. We were on vacation and wanted to do nothing fast. By far this group was the nicest of all the people we encountered on all the islands were were on (7 total).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Painkiller from Ft. Worth, TX

Friendly hotel close to the beach.

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: This hotel is very close to the beach. We had a upstairs deluxe room with a private patio. View from our room could not have been better.
Cons: Needs a fresh water pool.
Location: The location is perfect for relaxing,walking on beach, napping in lounge on beach. Many other things are available by car.
Our check in was as smooth as glass. The staff is very professional, well organized, and personalble. The beach is so clean. White sugary sand and nice breeze all day long. Not a swimming beach but is close to one at Smuggler's Cove. Any side trip you might want to make is available, such as day sails. We would go back at a moment's notice. Lovely low key hotel. The staff are wonderfully helpful. Taxis are available for those without a car. The food in the restaurant is very good. There are many options available in a short distance from this hotel. It is a treasure that should not be overlooked. If you drive THINK LEFT! Great home base for an island adventure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by stx john from san antonio.

Long Bay has downsized and has lost the goodies

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Long Bay use to have an amazing pool and resort amenities. No more. They need to tell people that the facilities that use to be there have been abandoned. It is still okay, but not at the price point with the reduced options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eugene Jones from Little Falls, NJ

Great Place but no Pool

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Long Bay Beach Club is very nice and set on one of the most beautiful beaches on Tortola. The rooms seemed recently renovated and were very nice including a full kitchen which helped offset some costs of dining out all the time - especially helpful for breakfast. The staff was also very nice and helpful. We have been to the Long Bay resort several times in the past and we were just completedly surprised to learn upon our arrival that their beautiful pool with a swim up bar and slide was no longer in service. This was very disappointing for the family as it was always a highlight for us. They are currently working on digging a new pool down by the beach, albeit much smaller, and not sure when it will be ready - but not until some time in 2015 at the earliest it seems. We ended up visiting various other resorts to use their pools around the island. So as long as a pool is not a priority for you, this is a great place!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fold-out couch does not constitute a bed

Posted Apr 10, 2014
The hotel management is good at taking care of guests when they arrive by providing cold towels to wipe hot foreheads, giving lovely fruit or rum punches while signing you in. However, we were soon very upset and disappointed that for what we paid we were given what they called an "upgrade" to a suite with kitchenette MINUS one of the queen beds we paid for upon reservation six months earlier. Our children slept on a flimsy, uncomfortable sleeper sofa, which we were told upon registering a complaint with the manager, "was a queen" foldout. We did not receive a fair deal despite the small credit they gave us after requesting fair compensation for the substandard bed. They stated that their policy does not guarantee a particular room type. Another huge disappointment was the absence of the swim-up bar pool and fitness center, since taken away (that's what we loved most about the hotel last year). So, three strikes and we are out and will not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mary from Northern CA

Great stay after sailing.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Location is fantastic and the staff is so helpful. Beautiful room and lovely bathroom in the beach front deluxe. It was worth the upgrade.
Cons: I think perhaps a clothesline in the shower would be nice for wet swim wear. The beds are very hard, maybe a feather mattress would help.
Location: Just down the road from Long Bay is a great restaurant called Da Coal Pot. Wonderful spot in a garden setting. All 8 of us enjoyed our meals.
After sailing for a week it was a pleasure to have the comfort of a king bed; albeit an extremely hard one, and and nice air conditioned room. We were so looking forward to floating in the freshwater pool and the swim up bar as we had on our 3 previous visits. We were very surprised that the resort had shrunk, and only the beach front was all that remained. After our surprise, we settled in for a nice lunch after our welcome rum punch, that was a nice surprise! The staff were very welcoming and helpful and continually checked on our well being without being overbearing. If you stay in a deluxe beachfront room, watch out for the corner of the beds, they are hidden under the bedspread but stick out a bit and you can get a wallup of a bruise walking into them! If you are looking for a great dinner, please check out DaCoal Pot. It is in a lovely garden setting, with a wonderful staff very cheerful and refreshing. There were 8 of us and every one of us said it was our best meal in the whole 10 days of our stay. It is just up and down the hill and around the corner from Long Bay. The shrimp roti and ribs are not to be missed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice beach front Inn

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Staff was very attentive.
Cons: New beds.......and a pool!
Location: Beautiful beaches near by and a few great restaurants!!! Our favorite D' Coal Pot. Mmmmmm!
We have been to this Hotel before, but we were unaware they had sold off part of the hotel. The part with the pool and swim up bar! We were obviously disappointed! The beds were old and like sleeping on bricks! Office staff was wonderful! Almost made up for other problems!