Ratings based on 11,130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location, price

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Cons: The lighting was rather dim in the room, another lamp would help. The lobby could use a bit of upadating
The hotel is well located, near Carnegie Hall on 57th street. Price was very reasonable and, while an older hotel, the rooms were very large, clean and comfortable. My room was not on the 57th street side, which meant that it was quiet, am not sure about rooms facing 57th street. There is also a continental breakfast, quite nice for and extra $10.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SC

Great location with large rooms

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Size of the rooms and location.
Cons: It needs some updating.
Location: Very centrally located. Close to subway, Times Square, Broadway, Central Park.
If you are looking for a fancy five star hotel, this is not the hotel for you. This is an older hotel that is dated. The rooms are clean and very large by NYC standards. Our room had a small fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. It also had a huge walk-in closet with shelves. It is very centrally located to Times Square and Central Park. It is a great hotel for the price and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Nice, roomy hotel, convenient to all of the sights

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Courteous and helpful staff. Room was large and comfortable. Good continental breakfast.
Cons: TV remotes were antiques...didn't even have a "guide" feature, which made it difficult to find programs to watch in our down time.
Location: Very convenient to Central Park. An easy walk to Times Square and Rockefeller Center. Across from Carnegie Hall. Subway was only 1/2 block away.
It was very convenient for our 5 night stay in NY.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nc

Great location!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Great time! Love NYC! Hotel close to everything! Could jump on subway if we needed to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very good location

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The best feature of this hotel is how well it is located in between the central park and the time squared. A lot of good attractions are near by.
Cons: There was a mice i the room. But i think this is very difficult to avoid since NY is full of these due to the subway system.
Great staff and service. Room with a lot of space. Great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, Florida

NYC visit

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Refrigerator wasn't working but hotel staff responded very quickly when we called about it.
Location: We walked to almost everything we wanted to see...shopping, Central Park, Broadway, garment district. Financial district is an easy subway ride away.
Enjoyed our stay at Salisbury very much. Room was nothing super special but was spacious, clean and very convenient to everything we wanted to do and see while visiting NYC. Hotel staff were more than gracious and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom York

Welcoming, comfortable hotel close to everywhere!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: initially it was the price and proximity to my original booking that drew me to this one, followed by reviews. Perfectly located, well appointed rooms
Cons: nothing to improve
Location: Central Park is one block away, as is Broadway. Carnegie Hall is across the street & Theatre District/Times square are a few minutes walk away.
I changed my hotel from a branded chain to this one, as the price was much better and previous reviews suggested for what I wanted this hotel was perfect. And I am VERY PLEASED with my decision to swap. The hotel is an older, stone building just one block from Central Park, right across the street from Carnegie Hall, a block from Broadway and just a few minutes walk from Times Square, Theatre District and other points of interest. The rooms are well appointed and well maintained, and in good clean condition. My room had two double beds (very comfortable), with microwave, Fridge/icebox and the usual coffee making facilities as are prevalent in North American hotels. I had a choice of front facing room or rear facing. We chose front facing as street noise doesn't bother us but if that is something that would bother you, ask for a room at the rear of the building. Rooms have tv with cable channels. Hotel staff were excellent - very helpful and reception staff are happy to sort out airport shuttles, taxi's etc for you as well as advise on trips, sight seeing etc. This hotel has 3 Concierge on duty, and all are exceptionally helpful, polite, courteous. They really did seem to enjoy their work, and were genuinely happy to be helpful rather than it being about the tips! Housekeeping staff were equally attentive and helpful. Would I stay here again? IN A HEARTBEAT! This is such a welcoming hotel and close to everything, without breaking the bank.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: room was spacious to fit a family of 6-8
Cons: they need to update the look, the bathroom we had was old and run down and the sofa bed very uncomfortable the beds in the room were much better.
I stayed for spring break with my husband ,son and nieces and had a great time, hotel was close t everything and had great access to fresh market and delis ,subway station and more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wales, Uk

Lovely hotel, perfect location

Posted Mar 29, 2015
If a powerful shower and a comfortable bed, in an excellent location is what you want...book this hotel!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Vintage and not that clean

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Not much. It was cheaper than the rest.
Cons: Remodeling and better cleaning needed.
Location: Just Central Park and restaurants.
Hotel staff was friendly enough. Check in was quick and we were immediately shown to our room. The previous occupant's sock was laying on the floor near the micro fridge. Don't know how housekeeping could have missed this. Stains on various things in the room like lamp shades, walls, etc... Mold in corners of the shower. At least the bedding was clean.