Ratings based on 4,483 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

An ok hotel , great location

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: You simply can not beat the location. Waking distance to all the theaters, the subway, Central Park , Rockefeller center and lots of restaurants.
Cons: Cleaner, brighter halls. Sound proofing would be nice. Thicker towells. More power outlets. And better wi fi. how about a smile at check in??
Location: We go to theaters and eat out. Love the park this is perfect location for that
My husband and I come to New York a few times a year and have stayed in many hotels around Times Square. We have stayed here 3 times now and it gets a little dingier every time. The actual rooms are not bad. They are pretty god size for a New York hotel and were pretty clean and comfortable. The towels were kind of a joke. I've never seen thinner towells in my life. The bedding was just fine. What I don't like are the hallways that look dirty and kind of scary. It was noisy most of the night with street work going on until the wee hours, but that's not really the hotels fault. The lobby was always kind of a madhouse. Noisy with lots of people, teens mostly. It was spring break week so maybe it's not always like that but I didn't want to spend any more time there than I had to. My biggest gripe is the $22 per day "facilities" fee they tack on to your bill. I wouldn't mind so much but it was to cover things we did not use and " complimentary" wi fi which did not work most of the time. It's not the worst hotel I've stayed in New York. But who spends that much time in a hotel when you are in New York?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Great Sutton, Cheshire

Excellent location

Posted Mar 30, 2015
This hotel was in an excellent location, the room was cleaned every day and the bed was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, the halls look like they need a bit of refurbishing but the rooms were fine. I would definitely go back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy but hidden fees

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Cons: They could be upfront about charging all people who stay there a facility fee of 20$ per day, even they don't use the services.
Location: Excellent location.
Great location. They charge everyone a facility fee even you use none of the services it involves. They also don't tell you about it and just charge your credit card.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom newark, DE

Just the cheap hotel near the time square

Posted Mar 28, 2015
DO NOT stay here. They charge extra fee when you book through Expedia.com. The fee is only for the person booked using Expedia.com.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2015 by Raluca A, Hotel Management
Dear Robin, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel. and I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations. All reservations booked after October 27 2014 have a daily mandatory facility fee, or resort fee, of 20$ plus taxes, totaling 21.78$ and it is a bundled up price for a number of services, such as unlimited calling both local and international, unlimited WiFi, collapsible water bottles in your room and filtered water stations on all guests' floors, 24 hours fitness center and 24H business center. Such information is displayed on various booking sites for the hotel. Yours in Hospitality, Raluca Avacaritei Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Location
We had to call for the tv remote, and the cold water faucet in the bathroom sink did not work. We were only there for one night so we just made due.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable hotel close to Times Square

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Hotel was adequate but could do with some upgrading throughout the rooms. Staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2015
It was in a nice location, staff was very helpful GREAT view, the Wicked sign was right out our window!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2015
We had an enjoyable experience at the Manhattan at Times Square. It was much better than we had expected from reviews we had read. Those reviews proved to be incorrect for us. We would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom manchester uk

Great location

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Great location
Cons: Everything apart from location
Location: Great location, Central Park, broadway, times sq.
Great location. Not a lot more to say. The hotel was very short on any other plus points
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Posted Mar 24, 2015
The location of this hotel is convenient, but there were a number of problems: - Intrusive housekeeping staff. They regularly banged on the door of every room at 9 AM regardless of "do not disturb" signs. Pretty unpleasant when you're jetlagged and sleeping in! - Unaccommodating policies. When booking a month in advance, I made a mistake in choosing the dates, and despite calling to correct it less than 10 minutes after I booked, I had a very hard time getting the error fixed. - Extremely loud construction across the street (Broadway) at 2-3 AM. This is out of the hotel's control, but was a serious problem. - Mediocre facilities and cleanliness. As other reviews have noted, the halls and rooms feel moldy and decrepit. It was only a superficial problem, but I couldn't help feeling disappointed given the high rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Raluca A, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, your feedback is instrumental in our correcting any faults in the service we provide to our guests. I apologize for the booking error you faced, any changes though need to e directed towards the booking channel used as third parties are involved in the process. Yours in Hospitality, Raluca Avacaritei Front Office Manager