Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Low-end hotel a short subway ride to Manhattan

Posted Oct 10, 2013
The hotel is a long walk from the two subway stations on 167th (about 20 mins), and an even longer walk to Yankee Stadium and the subway station there. Although the area immediately around the hotel feels deserted, it is next door to a police station, and the neighborhood behind the hotel is full of life. The rooms need some sprucing up, but if you like urban, edgy slightly grungy environments, you will be fine. The continental breakfast is not bad, though the coffee is not good. There was plenty of indoor parking when I was there, though I stayed after baseball season, so the hotel was not full. It odd thing: it seems you have to reactivate your electronic room key every day after check-out time, but that is not a big deal. My only real warning is that it is hard to find the hotel by car, even with a GPS, so definitely study a map before you embark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

OK quality hotel. Very good for its cost.

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: There was free parking area.
Cons: quality of breakfast. I did not have breakfast there any of the mornings I woke up at the hotel.
Location: I did not book this hotel for the location in order to do things there, but for its affordable cost.
the big problem was the long distance from the subway system which was a very long walk to go there in the morning and a cab fare to come back from the subway to the hotel at night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

We didn't feel comfortable walking to the subway

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was clean, no bugs in the room, the staff was nice but the place really smelled bad. We didn't feel comfortable walking to the hotel from the subway, so we had to taxi a lot, adding expenses, and difficult since there are no fare taxis available outside Manhattan I guess.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price

Posted Sep 29, 2013
I stayed for a single Thursday night. Pros: Parking garage. Friendly staff. Comfortable, modern room with a nice bed and bathroom. Typical continental breakfast. Cons: The hotel stunk of cigarettes, body odor, and a marijuana. Overall, it was definitely worth the price and I'd stay again, but not long term.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kwasi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by bishop from boston

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Horrible location told by all we should not walk home from Yankee stadium to dangerous. Do not go to thhis hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Howard Johnson Inn Yankee Stadium

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Terrible and uncomfortable. There is not hot water, and not clear..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marie

Nice hotel not in great area

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Clean rooms. Great staff. Breakfast is ok
Cons: Breakfast could improve. Donuts soggy
Location: Near Yankee stadium. Next to xway
Adequate hotel next to police station. Not in best area. Near Yankee stadium. I would not recommend walking
1 out of 5
by Mo from Los Angeles

Worst Experience

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: I did not like anything about the hotel except for the name Howard Johnson which is a pretty good hotel but the management for this facility sucked.
Cons: Change the staffs and keep the rooms more cleaner and be attentive to any problem with the rooms.
Location: I was there on a business trip N.Y.C wholesale Expo and boy I wished I didn't have to go back to that room every night.
This was by far the worst experience I had lodging I don't know where to begin, the rooms we EXTREMELY dirty the bed sheets and blanket smelled bad and was dirty my whole body was itching it got so bad that I just slept without the blanket off and the shower tub kept on plugging up I complained three times to be exact and unfortunately sure enough no one came to repair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Shane from NY

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was incredibly accommodating. It may not have been the fanciest hotel but the staff was always on top of any wants and needs we had.