Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Thunder Bay

Winnipeg Thriftlodge

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location is great. Near a park, restaurants, Walmart and a Casino.
Cons: Temperature control for anyone who wants to have a shower.
Staff was great. Got burned by scaulding shower though. Now I know why the shower bar was coming out of the wall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2015
People running up and down the halls slamming doors till 2am with a fight breaking out at 5:30 am. Not a pleasant stay. Staff seemed unconcerned.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Derekfrom Thunder Bay

Don't stay here

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed 2 nights .. decided to bring my son .. found out they have no roll away beds as stated on website .. inquired about it .. was told they never did offer roll away beds .. my son slept on a small uncomfortable love seat bad neighborhood .. hotel patrons disruptive, rude, threatening, drunk both nights all night .. when I brought up my concerns with the desk clerk .. she dismissed it all .. saying she knew about it, but didn't offer any apologies or any compensation total disappointment .. won't be back ever
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Derekfrom Thunder Bay, ON

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
READ THE OTHER COMMENTS AS WELL .. I should have avoided this place Poor experience from the get go decided to bring our 5 yr old son as kids stay free, as the Listing states they offer ROLL AWAY COTS(the whole reason i booked this hotel as we were unsure if we were bringing our son) checked in & enquired about a roll away cot,front desk clerk said she'll get one. we checked out the pool &I again inquired about the roll away cot, to which the front desk clerk replied 'we don't provide them'. needless to say, my son slept on an uncomfortable mini love seat for 2 days. BOTH NIGHTS were sleepless as there were arguments and fighting of other hotel patrons in the halls all hours of the nights, to which these patrons were thrown out with loud and over bearring overnight staff, waking us all up. OVERALL, THIS WAS A HORRIBLE 2 NIGHTS STAY, WON'T BE BACK EVER AGAIN FOR SURE, AND I'LL BE VISITING WINNIPEG MORE THAN 4 TIMES IN THE UPCOMING YEAR..THEY LOST MY BUSINESS
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Sorry about the cot, but we have never had cots and we are trying to get that removed from that listing. We do have rooms with two beds, which is better than a cot. The overnight staff is the security. Domestic arguments happen anytime and anywhere, and they do tend to be loud and annoying. Our staff did their best to deal with the situation as quickly as possible. Thank you again, and best wishes for you and yours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Amandafrom Winnipeg

Good price, clean room

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Price was good. Room was clean, pool was clean, room was just a bit stuffy. But since we were travelling and doing activities in Winnipeg and not staying in the room all the time it worked just fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We apologize if your room was a little stuffy, and if you would have let us know, we may have been able to rectify the situation. Please come again, and I assure you we will do our best to make your next stay even better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tammyfrom Brandon

I would stay there again

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall it was pretty good. The beds are very comfortable. The restaurant has great food and reasonably priced. The pool and waterslides are great, just like being on a beach with palm trees and everything. The only bad things are that its a pain when you have to go to the front desk to be let into the pool area and to get towels and its always quite busy so your waiting quite awhile. Be sure to bring your own shampoo there is none in the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our establishment. We were happy to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. We realize it can be annoying sometimes waiting to get into the pool area, but it is essential that we control who goes in to maintain safety and cleanliness. We have been waiting for our overdue shipment of shampoos, and we expect to have them very soon. Sorry for the inconvenience. Thanks again and see you next time you are in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Edfrom Thompson

In the right place to where we wanted to be

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The steak in the restraint was very good & I enjoyed the pool & spa, my sleep was relaxing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by kim, Hotel Management
Thanks for your wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again and be assured that we are committed to making your next stay as pleasant as your last.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was ideal for our needs.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Reasonable all round. Location was close to places we needed to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Kim, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again for your next trip.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Needs some work

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's dated. Made staff was very late getting to my room. After dinner most days. Lighting is terrible, you can't see and it has a bit of a scary feeling to it. Most of the hotel seems to be rented by family's so there are a lot of people, although very nice, it is more like being in a dorm then a hotel. Overall if I had to stay there again, I would, but I will never try to.