Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shirley from Austin, TX

This is a lovely hotel and great place to stay.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The overall appeal was perfect. We learned that the structure had been a old brewery at one time. The staircase is amazing and worth many pictures.
Cons: We have no recommendations for improvement.
Location: The location is very quiet and the walk to the town center is an easy one. The location is very close to all of the sights we wanted to see.
The hotel was a short walk from the old town center and in a quiet location. Our room was small but perfectly adequate. The staff was exceptional and every person we encountered went out of his/her way to make our visit memorable. An amazing breakfast was included and the nicest we had anywhere in Europe. We will return to Bruges and the Azalea Hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TJ from Korea

Nice hotel at quiet but close to main street

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Good for price. Friendly staffs. Building itself seems an antique.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Angela from Germany

Beautiful Hotel in Brugge

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff was extremely warm and hospitable. This is a family-owned hotel with a lot of history, and I think the staff all take great pride in running the hotel so one feels like a guest in someone's home, not just a visitor to a huge corporate chain of hotels. The hotel's location was close enough to various sights in Brugge yet not right in the middle of all the noise so night-time was peaceful. Absolutely loved this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Brugge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mick Stone from Derby

Great, central location for all Bruges's delights.

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I have stopped at the Azalea previously, because of it's fabulous location for central Bruges, but our room this time was not as comfortable as before; decoration needs attention and everything was a bit cramped. However, overall impressions were good and service excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Southampton

Somewhat dated.....

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Great location; staff were all friendly, welcoming and polite.
Cons: Bit of tidying up here and there - i.e cleaning behind curtain pelmets, better bathroom extracts but otherwise perfect
Location: Everything in Bruge is within walking distance, or there are excellent cycle hire places (ask reception); defo recommend Halve Maan Brewery!
We booked 2 nights at the Azelea as it offered a good central location in Bruge with parking and breakfast included. The hotel is an older building and in all honesty could use a bit of TLC here and there, but then the original floorboards and doors add to the charm of the place (and it is a 3* family run establishment, not the Burj Kalifa!) The parking is expensive ($15 euro per day) however there is a 24hr car park 200m away (turn left onto Dweersstraat instead of right onto Wulfhagestraat) which is half the price. Breakfast was lovely, fresh baked pastries, rolls, fruit and plain loaves with plenty of cold meats, cheese and preserves (jams); there was cooked bacon, hard boiled and scrambled eggs in the warmer; although as previous reviews have noted the 4 tea-lights aren't really sufficient to keep it at a suitable temperature.......... Our room (nr 17, 1st floor up the feature staircase) was a 'superior' room with an amazingly comfortable kingsize bed and views (through the ivy and trees) over the canal. Single glazing throughout and no air-con so windows would need to be open in summer but the curtains were very thick and kept it dark. En-suite needed a better extract fan and (if i'm being really cynical) the shower and bath taps could have done with being at the end of the bath; but it was clean enough and all worked. Remember it's a 3* when you book and you'll enjoy it as much as we did, arrive expecting the Hilton and prepare to be disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CHALLIEN from NYC

A Very Charming Place

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Photos on the booking website didn't do it justice. Situated on one of the canals and within 5-10 minutes to destinations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CW from Kent

Good, central hotel.

Posted Aug 14, 2013
A great location, lovely breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff. I had a great stay and would definditely recommend the Azalea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Esther from Stockton Heath, Warrington WA4, UK

A wonderful 70th birthday in Bruges

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Room 6 looks over the canal and at 7.30 a.m. the swans swim by. Free drinks for my birthday, lovely touch.
Cons: lack of cool air in the bedrooms.
Location: Very central 10mins from train station 5 mins from bus stop.
The only problem with this wonderful quirky hotel was the heat in the bedrooms. Because of t he age it would be difficult and very expensive to have air conditioning put in. Maybe a few fans could be acquired That really was the only problem. The character of the building shone through and more than made up for the slightly worn and tired appearance at times. The breakfast was more than adequate. A truly wonderful time was had by my husband and myself. My weekend in Bruges was a 70th birthday present from my dear husband. The staff were more than helpful and so full of knowledge about the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves period buildings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JLM

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by SS from Minneapolis

Old World OK

Posted May 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Reception very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Common areas of hotel are charming and decor provides Old World reflection of former grandeur. Stayed in the large room that spans front four windows on 2nd floor in photo. Clean but very worn decoration. Large bath had some modern modification but is in need of renovation. Overall, a good experience.