Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MGRAY from NEW YORK CITY

A LITTLE GEM

Posted Jun 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
TRULY LOVELY QUIET HOTEL. FELT LIKE BEING IN SOMEONE"S BEAUTIFUL HOME.THE VIEWS, THE ACCOMODATING AND FRIENDLY SERVICE, THE LOCATION OF IT, THE LUXURIOUS BEDDING--ALL PERFECT! I had only one complaint- that you had to pay for the sauna and the pool which wasnt even heated! Very misleading from the websites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay in the main hotel building

Posted Dec 5, 2012
Only annoying thing was the rooms were on the other side of the canal so to get to reception and breakfast we needed to leave our room and the building, cross the bridge and walk up the road to the main hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by elena

3 nights at the Die Swaene

Posted Nov 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed 3 nights at the Die Swaene Hotel in a superior room with canal view. The room was spacious with a fireplace but even with all the lights on it is a very dark room. The furniture is very old and in our room we found a lot of issues that need to be fixed (shaving mirror broken, socket not working, light above the bed not working, armchair with peeling material). There is also no safe in the room. Definitely is not a 4 stars hotel. Overall, while the location is great, breakfast is very good, I think there are probably better options in Bruges for the same money and I wouldn’t return to stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cold room, good location

Posted Nov 14, 2012
Pros: right next to a canal and near the downtown. A bar and some reasonably priced restaurants nearby.
Cons: Felt a little on the older, stale side--needs some perking up.
Location is great and the staff were very friendly. We couldn't check in even though it was after 3:00 when we arrived as they ran out of linens. Once we got in the room, we tried to turn on the heat but couldn't get it to work. On the way out we mentioned it to the front desk and they said they would look into it. When we returned, he came to the room with us to make sure it was heating up and the unit felt warm. However, nothing happened and the unit went cold again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by sdd

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Les from London, UK

DONT EAT HERE

Posted Nov 2, 2012
Pros: Quirky and non corprate
Cons: Resturant just don't be tempted by a great sounding menu.
Location: Location of the hotel could not be better suited. Quiet little street overlooking the canel and a short walk from the sights of this beatuiful city.
This is a beatuiful little hotel set next to the canel. Very quiet though. Only bad point is the resturaunt is across the canel. The food is very expensive wine over priced and waiting staff rude. It might have helped if the chef could cook as well! If it wasn't for the resturant I would give the hotel 10/10
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark

Beyond my highest expectations.

Posted Oct 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
The staff went out of the way on every occassion to help and guide us with assistance and great suggestions. The location is just unreal - it is the perfect spot in Bruges. I would go back here in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com