Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend break in Brugge

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: breakfast was good
Cons: the bathroom, and temperature in the rooms
Location: central location
Hotel looked fantastic on arrival but it went down hill after we were shown our room. The bathroom was like something out of the 80's, very dated, who still has nylon shower curtains!! The room so hot, we switched off the radiator opened the window but it was still so warm. Pillows were like broken bits of foam The hairdryer was death trap! It just glowed red and then smoke poured out the back. Cleary they must have know there was a problem with the dryer as we found another one in the bathroom cupboard, they should have taken the one on the wall away!! Such a shame because the entrance the hotel, reception and dinning room is stunning. I had read a bad review and emailed the hotel about my concerns but I was assured we would not be disappointed with our room - well we were!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essen

Sehr tolles Hotel!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Hotellounge!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: das einzige was verbesserungswürdig wäre, dass das Badezimmer erneut wären.
Location: im Zentrum
Wir haben eine Übernachtung gebucht. Das war sehr schöne Unterkunft. Spa-Bereich ist gemütlich und romantisch))) Vielen Dank an nettes und freundliches Hotel-Team. Das Essen im Restaurant gegenüber war unglaublich hervorragend!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Impressive public areas but some dud rooms

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Update the rooms, update bathroom and better lighting
Location: Unesco world heritage site, many beautiful historical buildings. An abundance of chocolate shops.
Our stay was in the run up to Christmas. We were greeted by a friendly and informative reception staff. He gave us a brief review of Bruges main sites and marked them on an A4 map of the central area. The hotel is sited in a Unesco world heritage area so is right next to some of the main sites. The public areas of the hotel were exquisitely decorated, almost theatrical. There was a great Christmas display in the reception. We had a room on the first floor of the main building. The room was a “Superior Double”. It was at the rear and was very quiet. The bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, there was no view to speak of from the window and the room was very dated and gloomy. Especially the bathroom, which had poor lighting and no window. In the evenings the hot water was only luke warm, in the mornings it was fine. I caught a glimpse of some other rooms which looked much more opulent and brighter. Finally, when checking out, we were presented with an additional “city tax” of 7.50 Euro levied per night stayed. This was a surprise to us, and we found out to our cost it is charged at all the cities we stayed at in Belguim.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South West England

Christmas break for 4 adults & 3 dogs

Posted Dec 31, 2014
This hotel is in a fantastic central location on the canal but not amongst the noisy main street. The staff were the friendliest I have encountered and nothing was too much for them. Our dogs were very welcome and made a fuss of. The hotel restaurant was amazing, quality food (100%better than the cafe style food in the market square). This is our 3rd trip to Bruges and our 2nd at Christmas and this was by far the best!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Good: the hotel is conveniently located, walking distance to GroteMarket. Hotel staff is very helpful. The common room is very nice for drinks or reading Bad: We always liked SLH collection, but this one is a little disappointing. The room needs serious renovation to be in SLH category. The washroom and toilet are to the most 2.5 star, overall not worth the money we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Perfect Christmas break

Posted Dec 23, 2014
We stayed from the 19th to the 21st and from the greeting at reception to the taxi ordering at the end of our trip the hotel staff were brilliant. A real treat to have customer service like they offered and we couldn't have asked for nicer people to greet and look after us. Would recommend to all and thank the hotel and staff for the lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mrs Vilenafrom London

The MOST romantic hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The building is beautiful; the room was comfortable and very romantic; and the staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful- giving directions and arranging a restaurant. The breakfast room was especially beautiful. In addition, the location is terrific.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LON

Fantastic hotel with lovely staff

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Hotel was a few minutes walk from Center and markets, situated excellently on canal with nice view. All the staff were very pleasant and very helpful. Had a brilliant stay here. To top it all off, was the fire place in the room absolutely lovely to come in to that. Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Ideal 'oldy worldy' hotel near Bruges centre.

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Lovely stay. Charming staff and lovely ornate traditional decor. Some of the fittings getting long in the tooth. Small but clean and relaxing pool and sauna. Perfect venue for weekend in Bruges. Old-world decor a pleasant antidote to modern, slick contemporary hotels.