Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

30th birthday celebrations

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Lovely time in Bruge and stay at hotel Montanus. Room was lovely and big. Stayed in the garden house which was lovely and had a side entrance too. Coffee corner great and relaxing. Staff very helpful. Great location, just a 5 minute walk from shop and town centre. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Excellent hotel, great staff and good common areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow Scotland

Close to all your plans

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Friendy helpful staff throughout hotel,its positioning being 15 mins walk from station or 5 mins taxi if you have hold luggage. Relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: My only complaint and its minor is the pots of coffee/tea at breakfast are not as hot as should be.
Location: This could fill the box,so as always when we visit Bruges just walk streets and head to centre but do not miss out the little streets.Info at hotel
Hotel booked via Expedia online and immediately thought Hotel Montanus looked ideal as in comfort,bedrooms,peaceful gardens with water sculptures and beautiful restaurant. We had breakfast everyday which was excellent range of hot and cold. Sadly didn't take time for dinner as we wandered far so ate in town. Staff are so mannerly along with the hard working domestics.Truly a memorable stay and will be booking here next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from toronto

A wonderful hotel near everything. Garden Lovely.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Somewhat unique in design.
Cons: Our room was perfect and no noise.
Location: Heart of city centre. Architecture So beautifully preserved.
Always something to do in Bruges or day trips. Vegetarian meals available in Bruges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, England

nice hotel, good location

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Rooms overlook a very quite garden, a nice calming area.
Cons: Car park is a courtyard and 2 streets away from the hotel.
Location: Hotel is based within a 10 minute walk from canals and city centre. Plenty of shops and bars nearby.
Very good hotel, nice friendly staff, excellent location, near city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Excellent place to stay

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Ambience, service and quality of rooms and facilities.
Cons: The room could benefit from air-conditioning, although we we're provided with a fan, and the windows have mosquito blinds.
Location: We made use of the local bike-hire and recommended the ring from the windmills to the Minnewater, as well as the canal path to Damme - beautiful
This hotel has an excellent central location within 10 minutes walk of the major attractions, but in a quiet back-street with it's own lovely garden with water feature, seating and restaurant. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, providing local information and service. On request, we we're provided with an excellent cot-bed for our daughter which she loved. We made use of a close-by underground car park which was reasonably priced for 24 hours.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Short Weekend break away

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: That it was an independent hotel with its own individual character
Cons: Tea & coffee facility in bedroom and free wifi in rooms , as well as windows to open
Location: Location good within walking distance of everything we needed
We enjoyed our stay in Bruges we found the people very helpful and friendly , we found parking close by at Novotel hotel car park ( shown by a Bruges resident who took us their ) hotel was good , but our room was very warm could of done with being able to open windows , tea & coffee facility in bedroom would have been good , no wifi in bedroom . But we would definitely return to Bruges excellent restaurants and a sociable place to spend a couple of days .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Lovely hotel helpful staff

Posted Jul 14, 2014
This hotel is only a 10 minute walk from centre, but in the nearby streets there is plenty of shops, all one needs. The hotel can only be described as beautiful. We were given a garden room which was ready for us early (without extra charge). Our room was clean, comfortable but there were a couple of downers. The mini bar didn't work (warm drinks) and also the safe in the room didn't work ( however they kindly held our passports at front desk for us). We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as it was 18 euro each - which seemed a bit much - but there are loads of places nearby where you can get a coffee and croissant / waffle etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

wonderful location

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: location, charming room and gardens
Location: able to go to the market area, visit many restaurants, shops and take a canal ride
Were able to walk to so many of the beautiful sights in this town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nathan from Swindon, UK

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is perhaps 5 minutes away from anything exciting but that means it's ever so quiet and peaceful. The staff are very attentive and the beds in particular are extremely comfortable. The garden and patio area were a very welcome feature and made for an even more pleasant stay. I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again - HIGHLY recommended.