Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from harrogate

Nice hotel Good position

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Beautifully decorated and tastefully furnished. Wonderful breakfast . Friendly and efficient staff. everywhere spotless. Free safety deposit boxes
Cons: Maybe tea and coffee making facilities could be provided in rooms.
Location: situated on the edge of the historic town centre there is something for everyone. Canal boat rides horse and carriages museums galore churches etc.
Booked this hotel for a four night stay commencing 8th Sept. and so glad we did. This is a charming hotel situated on the t'zand square adjacent to a variety of other hotels and restaurants etc. It is opposite one of the lifts that service the huge underground car park under the square. We received a warm welcome from the reception staff. Our standard room was on the 5th floor with a rear view over the rooftops of the spires and towers. The room was a very good size and well furnished so it made for a very comfortable stay. Although the hotel was busy there was no noise from either inside or outside the hotel so a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed was no problem. Would certainly stay her again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Lovely hotel, very friendly welcome from manager.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, unassuming staff.
Cons: The hotplate at breakfast. As usual when visiting abroad the 'hot' food was only warm.
Location: Visit the main square, cathedral, museum,and many more sites too numerous to mention. It is a very central location.
Made to feel welcome and the hotel was very clean. The breakfast was good. There was a variety of food to cater for all tastes. The room was light and airy with views of the square outside. It is located very near the centre of Bruges, not far from the railway station, and there are bars and shops nearby. I would recommend this hotel and definitely visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BRIDLINGTON

Good hotel in great location.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly and relaxed
Cons: Happy with my stay
Location: Great location handy for great shopping and very friiendly bars with an excellant choice of beers
Just stayed at the portanari hotel in bruge,had a great time , well looked after by friendly staff,pre booked the breakfast and was not dissapointed. Will stay here agaoin but if opossible get a room that overlooks the square and fountain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel, well placed for Central Bruges

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Very well situated for all our needs (bus station, shopping, sightseeing and enjoying a few Belgian beers or two)!
Enjoyed an excellent visit to Bruges staying at the Hotel Portinari for 1 night. We stayed in a room which was at the back of the building overlooking the flat roof of the dining room, with rooftop views of a nearby church and houses. The room itself was very clean and well ventilated, but very,very small, the double bed literally had 15 inch maximum walkway round it (friends staying in other rooms did not have this issue). Staff at the Hotel were very personable and professional, the buffet breakfast was very nice indeed, and the bathroom had a lovely big shower cubicle and power shower. We would thoroughly recommend staying at the Hotel Portinari and would definitely stay there again ourselves.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel - smell

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Breakfast as good
Smell of sewege in the cooridor and in the room, not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough

Great Hotel 5 min centre & 10 mins from station

Posted Aug 16, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Clean, close to train station and center of Brugge

Posted Aug 13, 2014
We booked this hotel mainly because 1) proximity to train station (about 7-8 minutes walking) and 2) air conditioning (a lifesaver when it's hot!). Also, we had free breakfast via the Expedia deal. Breakfast was pretty good (but not worth the 15 euros per person they were charging people who . We stayed here for 4 nights as a base for day trips for exploring Ghent (via train) and also a bike ride to Damme. If you are dragging luggage to the hotel from the train station, I would walk on the paved bike path rather than the cobblestone walking path in the park. Easier to drag your luggage w/wheels. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to Brugge's center, we found the location perfect. There's a huge food market on the square in front of the hotel on Saturday (?) mornings--trucks with tons of rotisserie chickens, cheeses, breads, etc. Note: there is a noisy bar adjacent to the hotel, but we had a room on the backside on the second floor and it was completely silent. Perfect for a restful night. But I imagine the front-facing rooms would be noisy. Only complaint is that the mini fridge in the room didn't work--everything was warm. Otherwise, satisfied with our stay here and happy with the Expedia deal that included breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ch

Nice hotel excellent location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
All the staff nat friendly and almost no one speaks English
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by zoe z from london

Great location, good quality!

Posted May 27, 2014
Great central location, lovely staff, rooms really clean and big, breakfast was plentiful and tasty, would defo stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted May 25, 2014
Central located more 3 star than 4 only their one night so was okay for my stay but wold have been disappointed if we were there longer