Ratings based on 615 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Pretty hotel overlooking a canal

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Beautiful location, authentic appearance, friendly staff and great breakfast
Cons: It's not the hotel's fault but the rooms can seem noisy because the building is old, has wooden floors, high ceilings and original windows.
Location: On the canal, short walk to the town centre. Recommend the bus and canal boat tours, Leffe Bruin beer and flemish stew with chips.
Hotel Ter Brughe is a picturesque building, situated on a cobbled street, overlooking a canal and only a short walk from the town centre. The staff were excellent, booking taxis and restaurants for us, and advising where to visit. The hotel serves a fabulous breakfast - loved the scrambled eggs and bacon - and has a cosy bar. Perhaps the only downside is that the hotel doesn't have its own restaurant but, as mentioned, the hotel staff were happy to phone around and book restaurants for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sandhurst

Lovely old hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Character, location.
Cons: Any upgrade of amenities would help, but not so much as to ruin the feel of the hotel.
Location: Everything is close in Bruges but the hotel is close to main areas of the town so you can walk there in 5 mins.
Lovely hotel, good staff - due to the hotels age etc. the amenities were not extensive, but it was very comfortable and a nice base for exploring the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel about 10 mins from The Markt.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Decor, position and staff
Cons: Sound proofing is essential
Location: Convenient to a number of attractions.
Lovely convenient hotel for centre of Bruges. Situated in a quieter area. Only problem was that the walls were very thin. Nice view of canal. Good choice of breakfast, which satisfied my husband's appetite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MB

Wow!!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
My boyfriend and I stayed in a beautiful, spacious room directly overlooking the canal. It had lovely heavy wood furnishings and the bathroom was luxurious. Breakfast served downstairs in a cosy dining area with a nice selection of food and drink. The Ter Brughe hotel is ideal if you want a romantic holiday, quiet break, enjoy luxury surroundings or just be close to everything in Bruges. Excellent, thoroughly recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

A great hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 28, 2015
This hotel is a real gem! It's right on the canal just a few minutes from the square. The room was big and the bathroom very good. I ill be using this hotel again and again!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol

Full of character but ...

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The character of the building and its central location. Excellent choice at breakfast.
Cons: The exceptionally thin walls made the room uncomfortable. The staff could be more friendly.
Location: Location is excellent - only 10 minutes to the centre. Just walking around the city is wonderful but I would recommend the Groeninge Museum.
The hotel is well located only 10 minutes from the main square. It is a lovely building, beside a pretty canal which some of the rooms overlook. It is a great place to experience the medieval character of the city, with beams and gables and a breakfast room in the cellar vaults. The included buffet breakfast was excellent, plentiful and with lots of choice and pleasant waiting staff. There are two reasons why I would hesitate to recommend the hotel: 1. The walls in the bedroom were so thin that every sound (and I mean 'every sound') carried from next door as though there was no wall there. It was difficult to sleep and even just to relax in the room as a result and we became far more intimate with our neighbours than we wanted to be! 2. With one exception the reception staff were quite unfriendly and wouldn't even look up or speak as we passed through. Our plug adaptors would not work in the room but a query to Reception was met with a disinterested shrug.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great little hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Friendly staff, nice room with canal view, good breakfast included. Only (small) downsides were that we found the bed a little uncomfortable (not enough support) and the shower had no fitting on the wall so had to be used hand-held. Great hotel for a short city break in the beautiful city of Bruges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Classic Bruges experience -very competitive price.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Very historical 'Bruges'.
Cons: The only thing I could suggest to improve it at this price would be the inclusion of tea/coffee-making facilities in the room.
Location: A five minute walk from Market square - close enough to everything. Picturesque being so close to canal.
Classic historical Bruges experience - hard to fault at this price. The only thing I could suggest to improve it at this price would be the inclusion of tea/coffee-making facilities in the room. A five minute walk from Market square - close enough to everything. Picturesque being so close to canal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chipping Sodbury

Great Character Hotel in Excellent Location

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Homely feel at economic price and yet bordering on "Boutique Hotel" type quality. Great location. Size of bedroom and bathroom. Comfortable lounge/bar
Cons: Tea/Coffee making facilities. If offering night porter/reception service, a little more attention/courtesey to customer's arrival/needs.
Location: Plenty of Bars/Cafes within a few minutes walk. Centre of Bruges Makht Square 10 minutes walk away. Quiet location.
A great stay. We have been to Bruges before and loved it so much vowed to return. Hotel Ter Brugge is in a quiet side street on canal-side but only 10 minutes walk from Main Square and sights. We were greeted by Bridget on arrival who was charming and welcoming. Our room was spacious, comfortable and full of historical charm. Will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire, England

A Long Weekend in the Hotel Ter Brughe, Brugge

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: The good-sized room, the staff, the breakfast choice and facilities. The hotel is only 15mins walk from the main squares but is in a quiet area.
Cons: Very little! We knew that the walls might not be very soundproof from other reviews but we were never disturbed.
Location: The Burg and Markt squares including the bell tower view. There are good number of nice cafes and bars away from the squares.
We had a good choice of flights to Zaventem International with SN Brussels Airlines and; despite our misgivings, the train transfer to Brugge was efficient, quick and the railway staff were helpful when required. We chose to walk from the station to the Hotel Ter Brughe (approx. 25 mins using our Expedia map). Although the Christmas Markets were similar to those in Britain (do they all have access to the same wooden sheds?) Brugge itself is always a lovely place and very welcoming. Including weekdays in our stay was definitely a good idea as everywhere was less busy than at the weekend.