Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Visit!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
The entire resort was grand; staff, amenities, on-site restaurants and bars, weather, and property were fantastic. We had a wonderful visit and will return. The resort offered delicious meals, personal attention by the excellent staff, and step back in time to a more genteel and thoughtful era when customer service was important. If you are seeking plastic, neon, and noise, this is not the resort for you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee, FL

Just magical!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: My favorite thing was the walk just after dark around the covered porch...the sounds of night insects and light conversation takes you back in time.
Location: Neptune Fun Zone Pool at St Simons is awesome but you get the additional benefits of an educational tour of a historic lighthouse, a playground plus.
My family of 4 including a 3 yr old and 6 year old had a wonderful time. The beach, the pool, the cinderella carage, the rental bikes, the put put course, the croquet course, the playground, the scenic island, the deer, the turtle center, the in house cafe for bedtime snacks of cookies and milk. Everything was just perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port St. Lucie, FL

First Historic Hotel Stay

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Absolutely awesome atmosphere, staff, facilities, history, and ambience. Going to recommend it to all my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

A very relaxing atmosphere. ..it was hard to leave

Posted Aug 6, 2014
We visited for my birthday. We had visited the area in 2013 and decided to return to the beautiful Jekyll Island. Our waitress Ashley. .at the pool was known as the "Island" girl and helped guide us to Driftwood Beach. Our waitresses and waiter at the Grand Room were all so very professional. This is definitely a destination! Our home is historical and we have our own Grand Room...a third of the size...but you get the picture. The buildings are old an filled with history...nothing is perfect but the staff was pretty darn close to it...thanks so much for this great memory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel with old world charm

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The staff have to be the best part of this hotel, which has a lot of wonderful qualities. We drove down and arrived on island around 11 am. My daughter started not feeling well after lunch, but check in was not until 4pm. I called the hotel and inquired if we could check in early and instead of being told no, the receptionist checked to see if our room was ready and it was. They let us check in early and she was able to rest and get over her migraine quickly. They also matched another offer we had and we were able to get 2 tickets for breakfast. Breakfast was amazing in the Grand Dining Room. It really was good value for a luscious buffet with juice and coffee included. Would definitely recommend. Reminded me of a hotel we stayed at in Scotland. If we would have had more time, it would have been fun to have high tea. Really a great experience and even though it felt like a splurge to us was not that much more than other hotels on the island for the same night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A wonderful surprise.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Everything.
A must for anyone loves to surrounded by buildings of historical significance and natural beauty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small, but beautiful

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Room was quite small for the price, but overall the hotel is stunning and the staff were fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cynthia from Savannah, GA

Beautiful, historic hotel on Jekyll Isl GA

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The ambience of the hotel---it's historical significance.
Cons: Expanding the Spa facilties.
Location: Situated on an island off the coast of Georgia, a lot of history is around. Bike paths make it easy to get around, there is fishing & water sports.
Very relaxing weekend getaway. First time staying in this hotel and would love to come back and stay again. Food and beverages can be a bit pricey at the hotel but the several dining venues offer choices regarding what to pay. Enjoyed the massage at the Spa and, of course, the pool. The grounds of the hotel are really beautiful and well maintained. The staff was very accomodating and friendly, too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe from Kingston

Beautiful Historic Hotel in a paradise

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere of old money.
Cons: Not much.
Location: Didn't stay long enough, but this area is sort of remote from many of the 'normal' beach activities. Fishing should be great.
Great experience, this area of the island is well maintained and could not be any prettier.