Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Hotel was clean. Free breakfast was good. Views are nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Mill, SC

Needs Improvement

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Continental breakfast, pool area and proximity to beach were all great.
Cons: All rooms need to be remodeled and updated. Some soundproofing needs to be added to the walls and ceiling areas.
Location: In easy driving distance to Shallotte, Myrtle Beach, Sunset Beach and Calabash. Not lacking for entertainment at all.
Don’t get me wrong by the tone of this review. We really did have a fun, relaxing weekend celebrating the marriage of a family member. Overall, The Ocean Isle Inn was in decent to poor shape. I do have some complaints though. 1.) TV stopped working one night and it was not fixed until the next day. 2.) The Wi-Fi was hit or miss. 4.) We chose a "Sound view" room, which....frankly....you can't really see the "Sound". 5.) The ceiling and the walls were paper-thin. 6.) Our bed was comfortable but very old and squeaky. I don’t believe I would ever stay there again unless I had to. But I am not totally disappointed with our vacation either. We had a really good time hanging out at the pool and at the beach. Ocean Isle Beach is awesome and right up our alley…..away from the hustle and bustle of Myrtle Beach, which is just how we like it. The next time we go, we will probably try a different location to stay…..possibly rent a house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida formerly of Ohio

Beautiful family vacation.,,,,,,,,

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: It was a convenient location.
Location: The location was close to town and shops along with restaurants.
Many of our family gathered to celebrate a milestone birthday of family member. It was great being with family on the beach and Ocean Isle Inn facilities. Most of us had rooms for the long weekend making it convenient for visiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great fun in OIB!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Hotel staff was helpful and courteous. Rooms were clean and well kept. Better than any chain hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
We had a very nice stay at this hotel. We had a room which was ocean front. We enjoyed our stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rolesville

Beach trip to Ocean Isle

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: It was like a 4 star hotel.
Cons: There needs to be a good sitting chair in the room for the older people.
It is a beautiful location. Room was great. Bed slept good. It was a beautiful view of the ocean. Room was very clean. Loved it. It was a bit noisy, but I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SML, Va.

Good experience will be back

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Convenient location,local shops ( walk ) or drive to other restaurants Calabash, Sunset Beach etc. Steps from un crowded beach
Cons: Another table in room. Newer TV. Had a older small TV trying to watch World Cup but like my wife says didn't go to the beach to watch TV.
Location: Pier, mini golf, small shops, restaurant, it's not Myrtle Beach there's not a million things to do but that's what we wanted.
We wanted a less crowded feeling and we got it. I had read reviews before booking and a lot were true ( steps, tight parking, older facility ) but nothing that some people made it sound like it ruined their vacation. Room was very nice, bed comfortable, soft sheets, hot water, good water pressure. No musty, humid smell. We were on the sound side,top floor and it was very quiet I could see ground level in main building might be less quiet. I thought the pool area was nice. If you go to the beach for the pool you could find better but it was clean, neat ,nicely laid out. The staff was very nice we added another night and they were able to move some things around so we didn't have to change rooms. Breakfast was very good for hotel,it's not a restaurant. Good variety, good coffee. Have paid a lot more for a lot less at other places we will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great beachfront location, close to city center.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: View from balcony, location.
Cons: beds could be more comfortable, better HVAC systems
Location: Within walking distance to pier, putt-putt, food. Myrtle Beach craziness only hour away. Quiet and very family oriented beach.
Noisy air conditioner, good water pressure in shower. Adequately clean, average breakfast, but breakfast room poorly air conditioned. Nice pool. Beach was clean and not crowded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte

Very relaxing experience

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Enjoyable stay...loved the easy access to the beach with no long lines waiting for elevators.
Cons: Breakfast bar only offered high calorie, high fat, processed foods. Yuck. Nothing healthy...not even a banana! # get a smoothie at Drift Cafe
Location: Best meal...Sugar Shack Jamaican food
loved the locale!!! The hotel was older but had the beach cottage appeal. Very nice outdoor pool. My teens loved being able to walk to the shops nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Nice place to stay!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Beds were soft, bedding and pillows were above average. Ocean view with private balcony, rocking chairs - nice! Clean.
Cons: Add fruit to the free breakfast - I don't recall seeing fruit of any kind.
Location: Hotel is on the beach. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, but others are a short drive. Putt-putt golf was nearby.
We upgraded to a beachfront when we arrived, and were glad we did (and thankful that one was available :-) Spent time in rockers on the balcony. Room had all basic hotel necessities. Parking was underneath the hotel rooms - very convenient and required just a walk up a few stairs. Onsite pool was nice - they provided towels. Best part was the beds - comfy pillows and bedding was better than average. Would be happy to stay there again.