Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wake Forest

Very convenient

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The view and the ease of accessibility were excellent.
Cons: The wi-fi didn't work well on the patio.
Location: Well within walking distance of restaurants and shopping.
Ocean Isle Inn is easily accessible and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Fabulous mini-vacay!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We booked a room at Ocean Isle Inn very last minute. I set my expectations pretty low as we always rent a nice condo or house for our week at OIB, but was greatly surprised at how much we loved staying here! Our room was spacious, clean, & cozy. The beds were so comfy! Housekeeping was great at tidying up each day while we were at the beach. The location was amazing--right on the beach. Each day after playing in the ocean our kids enjoyed the oceanfront pool. My only complaint about our entire stay was the poolside snackbar attendant who chain-smoked while working & exposed all of us non-smoking guests to her habit. Gross! Needless to say, we didn't make any purchases there. All in all, a fabulous little hotel in a perfect location. My hubby & I are looking forward to coming back for a quick weekend getaway sometime soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte

Relaxing getaway....

Posted Aug 11, 2014
It was our first time to Ocean Isle and I love how it wasn't as crowded as Myrtle Beach! The hotel was in walking distance to restaurants ane the beach was steps away. Had a great time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great hotel with great views right on the beach...

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Clean nice hotel on a beautiful beach right near everything! Great family town...we only stayed over one night but would go back! The only con was the bathroom mirror was splotchy from age and could use an upgrade!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte,N.C.

OIINN July

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: pools,room size, free breakfast , friendly staff and location
Cons: beds wayyy too soft they need new mattresses
Location: ocean front and walking distance to pier, putt putt , ice cream places, rest. etc.
My family and I had a great time at Ocean Island. The rooms at OI Inn are nice and roomy and the sound sunset views are nice. The staff was very helpful and pleasant as well. The free breakfast was great and they had plenty of choices for breakfast. The only thing I can say that was not good was the beds, the mattresses on every bed were very soft and yes I am a big guy 269 lbs. but my children stated the same . other than that that loved it all !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No complaints at all.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The parking is a little tight for handicap spaces but, that would not influence any decision to stay there!
From the time we set foot into the door of the office until we dropped off our keys we were treated fabulously!! The staff is exemplary! Rooms are clean and cozy. I usually like a firm mattress but our mattress was soft but really comfortable. The outside pool was clean and cool, the hot tub and indoor pool were also very clean and the water temperature was nice and warm. We happened upon a young couple from Ohio who got married on the beach and had their reception at the Ocean Isle Inn. We sat out at the pool into the wee hours of the morning and we were never asked to leave. That was a big bonus for someone who has worked nights for 20 years. I cannot think of a single thing to complain about. Price was reasonable, it's oceanfront, it's clean and the staff is great. If you are expecting a Westin or Marriott, this isn't the place for you. Head on down to Myrtle Beach. Thanks to everyone at the Ocean Isle Inn, it was a great, relaxing stay!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Hotel was clean. Free breakfast was good. Views are nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Mill, SC

Needs Improvement

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Continental breakfast, pool area and proximity to beach were all great.
Cons: All rooms need to be remodeled and updated. Some soundproofing needs to be added to the walls and ceiling areas.
Location: In easy driving distance to Shallotte, Myrtle Beach, Sunset Beach and Calabash. Not lacking for entertainment at all.
Don’t get me wrong by the tone of this review. We really did have a fun, relaxing weekend celebrating the marriage of a family member. Overall, The Ocean Isle Inn was in decent to poor shape. I do have some complaints though. 1.) TV stopped working one night and it was not fixed until the next day. 2.) The Wi-Fi was hit or miss. 4.) We chose a "Sound view" room, which....frankly....you can't really see the "Sound". 5.) The ceiling and the walls were paper-thin. 6.) Our bed was comfortable but very old and squeaky. I don’t believe I would ever stay there again unless I had to. But I am not totally disappointed with our vacation either. We had a really good time hanging out at the pool and at the beach. Ocean Isle Beach is awesome and right up our alley…..away from the hustle and bustle of Myrtle Beach, which is just how we like it. The next time we go, we will probably try a different location to stay…..possibly rent a house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida formerly of Ohio

Beautiful family vacation.,,,,,,,,

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: It was a convenient location.
Location: The location was close to town and shops along with restaurants.
Many of our family gathered to celebrate a milestone birthday of family member. It was great being with family on the beach and Ocean Isle Inn facilities. Most of us had rooms for the long weekend making it convenient for visiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great fun in OIB!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Hotel staff was helpful and courteous. Rooms were clean and well kept. Better than any chain hotel