Ratings based on 383 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Hospitality, cleanliness
Cons: Beach access
Stayed one night, great place for the family, we will be back for an extended stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Statesville, NC

Nice location and staff was great!

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Enjoyed the view of the ocean, the four weddings we got to witness from the balcony and the fact it was not crowded. Overall great experience!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Beach Motel

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Good be beach location.
Cons: All above complaints. Price considering facilities.
Location: Restaurants, miniature golf, and beach ttype stores.
Noisy air conditioner. Mirror in bathroom had black spot all over it. TV was older box type that had poor sound on some.channels. Wifi was in and out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Mediocre hotel, nice beach

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Comfy beds, nice beach.
Cons: Bathroom needs updated.
Location: Shops, restaurants, and putt putt all within walking distance.
The best things about this hotel were the beds were soft, fluffy and super comfy. The beach was very nice and not too busy. But the walls seemed paper thin and if the a/c was off you could literally hear the conversation in the room next door, let alone how bad it was when they were messing around. Not good! No breakfast available. Bathrooms small with super small sink making it difficult to fit anything on the sink but soap and toothbrush. Fan in bathroom didn't work to remove steam, and since the a/c was in wall at other end of bedroom the only way to keep bathroom from dripping after a shower was to shower with the door open. Nice location close enough to walk to some shops, putt putt and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from greenville nc

Great location. good breakfast friendly staff

Posted May 26, 2015
Had an issue but GM handled in very professional manner and staff were very helpful. Would be willing to return and overall experience was great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Oceanfront view from room was gorgeous!

Posted May 25, 2015
It was nice to be right on the beach. Room was tidy and workers were friendly. But think they do need to upgrade the beds. Too squeeky and worn. But I would go again and recommend the place! : ) Was also very quiet. No rowdy folk because most of the people were well behaved middle agers and seniors! : )
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Room was clean and bed was comfortable.
Nice place and reasonably priced. Enjoyed the heated indoor pool since it was a little chilly and very windy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2015
Great location, views & easy beach access! We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Decent hotel

Posted May 11, 2015
Ocean Isle Inn is a decent hotel. It is directly on the beach and even the "soundview" rooms have ok views. There is only one elevator in the entire hotel and there are multiple buildings connected by wooden breezeways/walkways. There are stairs in every building and only a total of 3 floors (including the ground floor) so it isn't too difficult but sometimes aggravating when making multiple trips. The staff we encountered were all very nice and friendly. But when I originally called to see about arriving earlier for an additional night, the woman I spoke to was rude enough for me to consider changing my stay to another location. The breakfast was good but could get very crowded fast, especially at the 2 waffle makers. Everything was clean in the room and at the pools. Our air conditioning was horrible though (room 223). The air was cold but would not circulate causing the room to stay warm most of the time. Also, the only ice machines and vending machines were at the ground floor elevator. It would have been nice to see more of those. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The price is typically lower than the other hotels/resorts on the island (the Islander Inn next door looked identical at least from the outside and wad a bit more expensive) and for a clean and friendly stay, this was perfect. Don't expect lazy rivers and kiddie pools though. If you want that, go to Myrtle Beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from az

Close to the beach not enough

Posted May 11, 2015
So, on the plus side, most of the staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms are very basic, but that's to be expected with a beach hotel. It is right on the beach, which is wonderful. And the rooms were cleaned and kept up, although dated. But, on the negative side- enough to keep us from returning. There was supposed to be free internet access and although we complained twice a day for the length of our 3 days stay, it never happened until the last night. When my husband asked to speak to the manager, the night person had him on the phone and he refused to speak to my husband. The staff person then told my husband to basically quit complaining because we got the cheapest room anyway through Expedia..... The breakfast is a typical continental breakfast, but would it kill them to have a little fresh fruit? Just apples and bananas at least? The mattress was terrible- very old, and very uncomfortable.