Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Very clean and quiet.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Staff was great. Work out room was nice and clean as was the pool. Lots of clean towels were given. Great free breakfast.
Cons: We were a little confused by the two different ac controls in the room. One didn't seem to work but we could control by the other one.
Location: Beach, shops and great food.
We were looking for a quiet but family friendly hotel close to the shops and within reasonable distance to the beach. We were very pleased and will visit them again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

Nice hotel close to beach and Town

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The large rooms, complimentary breakfast and newspaper, outdoor pool, plenty of parking
Cons: Regular maintenance ie. air conditioner
Location: Great location....close to beach and attractions
Our 2nd stay here within 6 weeks. 1st time everything was great so we decided to book with them again. Our room was on the top floor at one end so nice and quiet. When we walked into our room it smelled very musty ie. air conditioner was not working properly. We decided to wait and see if the smell dissipated once the A/C was running for a while but it didn't help. The room was a good size and clean. Pool was refreshing. Complimentary breakfast every morning. The last morning of our stay it was storming outside and the hotel lost power several times but we were checking out anyway. We noticed a previous water stain on the ceiling and due to the heavy thunderstorms the last morning my husband noticed a leak above the bed and felt a drop while sitting on the bed. We notified management of this upon checking out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kernersville, NC

Nice hotel and close to downtown South Port

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Close to everything. Good location. Good breakfast in the morning.
Cons: exhaust fans in bathroom
Location: Great location for downtown and no far from Caswell Beach Lot of good restaurants nearby
My husband and I came down for 3 nights to go to the beach and relax. We were very pleased with our room. It was large and very roomy. The bathroom had been updated along with the room. The only complaint would be that there was no exhaust fan in bathroom. Got very steamy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Close to downtown and also not far from Caswell Beach. No charge for parking at the beach. Next to hotel was a good Irish pub that had good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte nc

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Very comfortable. Breakfast was great and staff was kind and helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
The hotel was located in a strip mall-not very scienic ! Rooms had a very musty odor Staff for the most part were friendly and helpful.They let us switch rooms.. Breakfast was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Very clean and well maintained
Location: The town of Southport is great! Be sure to take the golf cart tour.
When we checked in, our first room while clean and bed made up had food from the prior patron in the refrigerator, trash in the trash cans, open/used motel shampoo and used soap in the soap tray. The front end staff was very apologetic and and immediately relocated us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Although this hotel is not right on the beach, it is convenient to everything that we wanted to do.
Cons: Air Conditioner
Location: Close to beach, close to restaurants and shopping.
This hotel was in a great location. We were able to drive to the beach and Southport. It was close to everything. We also enjoyed walking to the little Irish Pub for dinner. I would recommend this hotel for those that only have a couple of nights to enjoy a beach vacation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte

Smelly room

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good and the employee working was very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Customer service. Be sensitive to your paying customer. If your customer has a valid complaint please do not just give a fake apology.. Fix the prob
There was a urine or a wet cat smell as soon as we opened the door. I told the front desk lady, Erika(very sweet lady). So she offered to come to our room and spray deodorant spray and verified the nasty smell. The smell just blend in with the air freshener There was no mention of offering us a different room or anything. The best they could give me is a half hearted "I am sorry". I don't think they cared. Too bad for us! This is where they failed on customer service. They expect their customer to just suffer it thru.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Advance, NC

Meh...

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was awesome and the pool was clean! And the only reasons I didn't score lower!!
Cons: Give ALL guests the best towels. QC your towels and restrooms more often. When a guest asks for a certain number of towels, let them have them.
For the first time ever, I prepaid my reservation through a third party. I wondered if things would be different, but went through with it anyway. We arrived early and the person at the front desk allowed us to leave a phone number in case a room came open early. We did get a call an hour before regular check in time. This was as friendly as the staff got. The room was decent, but the restroom had hair everywhere...the shower, sink, floor, and in the towels. The towels were not even partially fluffy. They were flimsy and nonabsorbent. When we asked for four new towels the second morning, we were told we can only get three because of the room we were in. When we did receive more towels, they were as disappointing as the first set. We discovered that if we went to the front desk for our towels, we got the better, fluffy ones. Very disappointed that because we reserved through a third party that this was the case. We won't be staying with Wingate in the future. I'm of the mindset that if you can't give your best to everyone all the time, then you don't need my money or business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Very close to Bald Head Island!

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Close to ferry.
Cons: More towels in room.
Location: Great location to downtown southport and ferry to bald head island. Not alot of restaurants. Only fast food or overpriced restaurants by the pier.
We booked this hotel beause it was minutes to the ferry for Bald Head island. The room was clean. Beds were comfortable. Only 3 bath towels and we had 4 people in our room, but hotel staff was very helpful in getting more towels right away. Pool was small but clean and we were in it most of the time by ourselves. Lots of bugs around pool area at night. Breakfast was okay... bacon and eggs were artifical but cereal, yogart, fruit, waffles and bagels/muffins were an alternative. We would stay here again.