Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

ask for a balcony room

Posted Sep 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. While it is off the beaten path, the drive there is very scenic. You can see Lake Lugano from the front balcony, and it is a relatively short drive to Lake Como. The hotel staff were very accommodating. There is a free breakfast and the dinners were both good and affordable. We had a balcony room and were able to watch fireworks over Lake Lugano. The price for this hotel is a definite bargain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
The staff at Caroline Hotel were amazing. The rooms were very clean (two twin beds, pushed together to make a king). The restaraunt had good food and the complimentary breakfast was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

Excellent

Posted Jul 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
My family loved every thing about the hotel I highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sherman Oaks, CA

A lot cheaper than Lugano!

Posted Jul 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
We were in Switzerland and decided to go to Lugano. The hotel prices seemed high, so when the Hotel Caroline popped up significantly cheaper our interest was piqued. We had a car so it wasn't an issue driving there and provided a niice motivation to go to the Italian side and drive around Lago Lugano. The hotel works great as a place to crash during the night if you have a car. I wouldn't consider it otherwise. The rooms were good given it's Italy. Our rate included breakfast which was great. The lake is small and crossing between Switzerland and Italy a breeze. We were very happy with our two nigjt stay there
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Finland

A very good hotel in beatiful place

Posted Jul 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
A beautiful hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the lake of Lugano. Large, comfortable and clean rooms, friendly staff. Excellent restaurant. One shortcoming - a small selection of dishes for breakfast (not corresponding to 4 stars)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Minnesota, USA

Nice!

Posted Jul 11, 2011 on Hotels.com
Friendly, helpful staff who speak English. The pool area was nice and relaxing, quiet neighborhood. It is difficult to walk to the lake from this hotel as the streets are very narrow and don't have sidewalks everywhere--the main street was quite busy. Good breakfast! Restaurant on site was ok. Room was clean and comfortable--no AC, though. Be sure to take the short drive over to Lake Maggiore, too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Quaint Hotel with lovely view of Lake Lugano

Posted Jun 27, 2011
The hotel is tucked away within a quiet neighborhood. It is a few easy blocks to walk to the lake. The hotel staff is courteous and responsive. The hotel could use a little maintenance, it is old and not everything works exactly as it should. Our toilet worked, but only if you fussed with the handle and I wish the shower curtain completely surrounded the tub so I didn't have to be SO careful not to get water on the floor. The pool is quite small and I do not believe it is heated (it wasn't while we were there). Loved the view. The people were helpful and overall we enjoyed our stay there quite well. The restaurant and bar that are part of the hotel have good food and service for a reasonable price. We would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Basel, Switzerland

Posted Apr 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
We were looking for a less expensive hotel near the city of Lugano. For one night this was fine, although breakfast was just ok and the staff acted like we were interrupting them. Bathrooms need work; the faucet coming out of the wall. Traffic back into Lugano made it less attractive as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northampton

worth a try

Posted Mar 31, 2011
we had difficulty finding the hotel as the signage when arriving from the north, then had a problem with our shower but we were offered and accepted a new room. otherwise everything was very good and we regretted having eaten earlier as the on site pizzeria looked inviting, as did the prices. we had a good buffet breakfast the following morning. the staff were very helpful throughout. a very comfortable stay, we would be happy to recommend to anyone visiting the area.