Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Kaitlyn from Canada

do not stay here! TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: nothing to like about this hotel, bad location, dingy rooms, and HORRIBLE staff.
Cons: the rooms need major updating and they need better employees.
Location: anything of interest is a 15-20 min walk away.
After a two month Europe trip with my boyfriend this was our last stop. We were hoping to have enjoyable stay at the Best Westen in Belgium. The room was dingy and the bathroom had black build up all over it while the tiles were cracked everywhere but the staff was the worst part. We asked for suggestions for restaurants and he said he didn't know any just to walk down the street "that way". The next morning we needed an extra towel because the hotel only provided one in the room, we called down and were questioned for five minutes by the rudest employee I have ever spoken to about why we needed more towels. He said there was only two of us in the room and he didn't understand why we needed anymore towels. After that he proceeded to say that he will have to charge us for more towels. is this a hotel or a hostel?! When checking out we found out his name was Sune and when we asked for directions to get to the train station he just said go down that street and pointed, and then went to sit in the back room to continue watching tv on his computer without a goodbye or thanks for staying with us. Out of our two whole months this was our worst hotel in all of Europe by far do not stay here!
3 out of 5
by Kelly from Port Alberni Canada

Poor location.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Staff
Location: Shady area
Near red light area and train station. Unsavoury characters hanging about. Also very untidy area walking to the hotel. Staff lacking in personality.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City Centre Hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: The staff where friendly.
Cons: Clean the rooms properly.
Location: Not safe for single business woman
Unfortunately as I'm not familiar with the country AND it was the week of the 'Seafood Festival' accommodation was difficult and expensive. I thought that I would be able to eat at the Hotel and avoid going out however they did not offer food in the evening and suggested I walk to the nearest restaurant. As a single lady in a 'not such a great area' I opted to stay in my room - hence no food. The room was dirty - particularly the net curtains which could have done with a much needed wash. The kettle didn't work in two electrical sockets. As an ex Manager of Premier Inns the standard certainly did not suit the cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Wei

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BT from HK

Hotel for short travel

Posted Apr 18, 2014
On one hand, the map that they provided is not updated. When we tried to travel to atomium by metro as the staff used their map that they provided to teach us the fastest route going there, and we were using their metro map that they provided. We were confused when we were at the metro station as the metro map was different from that in the metro and we later found the way going there by ourselves. On the other hand, their beds are really comfortable. And the staff is quite willing to help you. And we can walk to grand place within 15 min which is quite near. It is closed to the train station. The price is reasonable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Tobacco smells...

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for 1 night while on business. It's convenient for commission buildings, but uncomfortably close to the red light district too. The room was kind of ok, but smelled strongly of tobacco smoke. Every time anyone on the floor ran a tap of flushed a loo, the noise from the plumbing in my bathroom was quite invasive. I didn't use the bar or eat here. I probably wouldn't return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Base to stay

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located in an area next to a red light district, garages, and slightly rough looking. It is good for one or two nights stay, as the rooms are clean and close to the centre. Wouldn't recommend it for tourists, but okay if on business.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Pierre from Luxembourg

correct and affordable

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service, breakfast and cleanliness of the room wasn't first class but average correct.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Single Male from UK

Good Hotel in Poor surroundings

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Pros: Room larger than expected, nice and comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast not included in the price
Location: Seedy run down district but near railway Station
I only stayed one night, as I was on a trip back from Bruges to the UK, and decided to stay the night in Brussels so as to be nearer the airport for my return home.Being close to Brussels Nord railway station it was ideal for what I wanted. But as others have commented the area the hotel is in is not so pleasant, I wouldn't have liked to have been in the surrounding area after dark. It is near the red light area saw two ladies of the night on display in a 'shop' window and various establishments of a dubious nature close by. Area also very run down with a bit of a ghetto feel to it. I wouldn't choose this part of Brussels for a holiday! Having said that the hotel was comfortable reception staff pleasant, I chose a small single room which wasn't as small as I had expected, and it had good en suite facilities, TV, coffee making facilities, clock radio alarm and a comy single bed, ideal for a place to put your head down for the night.