Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Perfect location for visiting the city.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Really convenient location for visiting the city, and only a few minutes walk from the central station.
Location: Slap bang in the city centre, so everything is easy to get to. Market square surrounded by cafes & restuarants right outside the hotel.
Ideally located to get to from the station, which only took 20 minutes to get to from the airport. If you get a room over looking the square then good atmosphere and good view of the Grand Palace. Adequate (typical international hotel) breakfast with a resonable choice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bate and Switch

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Reservations were unilaterally canceled without notice so we did not have the opportunity to judge - except the service, which was terrible.
Cons: Service, honoring their commitments, availability of management to address issues
Location: It is a great location near the main square. Ratings were required but since we didn't stay we could only judge based on what they showed us
We booked this hotel because of its location and the reviews. Upon our arrival, we were informed that our reservations had been canceled. According to the desk clerk there was no way to reach management as they were off for the weekend - who among us believes that. The hotel had booked us in a "comparable" hotel about a 10 minute walk away. The clerk changed his story several times regarding contacting us before arrival about the cancelation. The reservations were made 3 months in advance. Even though it was in the afternoon and many people had not yet checked in, they refused to honor our reservations. No explanation was ever given. We demanded to see their rooms so we could judge the alternate hotel. First they showed us a room off the fire stairs and claimed it was their normal room. After pressing them, they finally showed us their standard rooms. Needless to say, the hotel they booked us in was not comparable, it was dirty, the rooms were small with windows on an airshaft, door falling off closet & no safe. The hotel refused to take any responsibility for this and we were unable to contact any management to try to resolve the issue. This is totally unprofessional and unacceptable. We left our email addresses in the hopes that management would contact us, but to date, they have not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by J. Nelson from Phoenix, US

Perfect Stay for Brussels

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location of this hotel was perfect. Right in the heart of central Brussels with lots of shops and restaurants within just a few steps. One block away from the Central Station and one block from the Grand Place. However, the location of this hotel was also it's downfall. Friday and Saturday night there tends to be lots of people around outside until early morning. There was from time to time noise, but nothing that I would really complain about. I had to mention this as the noise was the only downside to this hotel, otherwise it was perfect. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Central location

Posted Dec 19, 2012
Overwhelming sewer stench in many parts of the hotel. In my 1st room, the odor was unbearable. They kindly moved me to a different room, but the odor persisted in the hallways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a bad place to stay, would stay again.

Posted Sep 24, 2012
The hotel room & facilities were fine. Reception service was a bit slow due only 1 staff member. There was some late night noise from partygoers at a nearby bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from New York, NY

Good location

Posted Aug 6, 2012
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: The smell.
Location: Terrific location, right in the heart of the tourist section of town.
The location of this hotel is superb and the staff were lovely. My room smelled a bit like sewage which wasn't so pleasant, but once I masked the odor with some spray, I enjoyed my stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Well sited BUT thats all - try elsewhere!

Posted Feb 22, 2012
Pros: For it's supposed star rating there is absolutely nothing that could be described as our favourite thing about this hotel
Cons: Least favourite things - extremely poor service, poor breakfast facilities, luke warm tea and coffe in lobby rather than a kettle in the room.
Location: Excellent location in heart of Brussels - but surrounded by better and often cheaper hotels 9we know we have stayed in them!)
An exceptionally well situtated hotel, HOWEVER poor customer service and less than mediocre facilities mean you should avoid if possible. Better (and often cheaper) hotels abound within a few metres walk. Staff missed our "wake up" call on two out of three mornings - we actually had to buy an alarm clock to ensure we were up in time for our train on our final day, as we had no confidence whatsoever in staff. Soon found out there was not much point going to the breakfast buffet unless you went early, as juices, milk, fruit salad, cold breakfast food etc. was not topped up after it ran out. On the first day we arrived 45 minutes before the supposed close of service to find only some plain rolls, margarine, warm tomatoes (!), two spoonfuls of scrambled egg and water left. Complaints eventually yeilded two croissants (big deal!) delivered with extremely bad grace. The "freely available" coffe and tea in the lobby was never more than lukewarm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2007
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nuneaton

Not impressed at all

Posted May 24, 2006
Excellent location - poor management - manager agreed that leaving a trainee (2 weeks in the job, poor English) in charge for the weekend and a single cook was not a good idea - 30 minute wait for scrambled eggs, room smelt of sewage (executive room!), pillows were uncomfortable, rooms were cleaned at 5pm. Clean bathrooms though. Decor could do with uplifting - would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

location cubed

Posted Feb 20, 2006
great location. incredibly close to central station & grand place.