Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little on the noisy side

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Proximity to centre
When they saw our baggage the kindly offered us a larger room on the first floor as there is no lift. However the floors are wooden and we had someone who walked about from 10pm to 3am... grrrr Otherwise quite central and convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Art Deco Gem

Posted Jun 2, 2014
My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights and we had a great experience with Hotel Esperance. This is a boutique hotel with only 12 rooms. The lobby/lounge is still set with the 1930s art deco feel (feels like stepping into a different era). The rooms are updated, clean and each room has different/fun decor. The rainfall shower was great. Beds were not as comfortable as some we slept on during our time in Belgium. Kind of feel like sinking in quick sand so might recommend an improvement here. Otherwise, the room was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. We were on the 4th floor and enjoyed the climb up each level. For those with mobility issues, however, this is not ideal. We got a really good deal on this hotel, including breakfast. Breakfast was enough to start the day. Fresh coffee as order (espresso, cafe latte, etc), fresh orange juice, cereal yogurt, croissants/pastries, cheese, meat, etc. We told the staff we had to leave a little early on the day we checked out and they had breakfast ready for us before the regularly scheduled time. Located at the top end of the shopping district, it's about a 10 minute walk to Grand Place and about 15 minutes to the central train station. Would stay here again and would recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by annie u from west hollywood, ca

great boutique hotel option for Brussels

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Esperance provided a great base for a recent 3 day trip to Brussels. While Brussels is fairly easy to navigate, this hotel is close to Grand Place, The Bourse, Rue Antoine Dansaert Straat (the design district) and not too far a trek up the hill to the major museums. My room was a great modern design, was quite roomy, very comfortable and clean with a good size bathroom with a large double shower. The hotel's staff was friendly and helpful. A nice breakfast was included as is wifi. It was quite hot during my stay and the room doesn't have air conditioning but the windows opened and I was comfortable with the breeze. The tavern/breakfast room is quite charming and is in keeping with the building's original early 1900 design which is an interesting juxtaposition with my contemporary room. I love the original details but the tavern could use a little bit of a refresh as the upholstery and pain are quite aged if you look closely. Overall it was a great stay and a great value -- I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved! Staying there again

Posted Jun 22, 2013
Pros: Staff, room and location
It's was a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Ronald from Fort Lauderdale

Brussels sightseeing

Posted Jun 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is located close to sightseeing center of town, but still ended up being in a seedy neighborhood. Rooms are as represented on web site so no surprises there, but the hotel is LOUD. I heard everyone trudging up and down the stairs all night long (no elevator in this building). Overall, a fair value for the price, but if you're looking for something posh, look elsewhere. Also, front desk doubles as the bar in the restaurant. Workers were very nice and attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Susan

Intimate family run hotel in center

Posted Nov 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a simple, no frills boutique hotel - attractive modern rooms with a landmarked classic art deco ground floor, convenient to where I need to be. This time the service was a bit mixed, with a kind reception but indifferent check-out. Did not see personnel I've seen on previous visits. Change of ownership?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Katie B

Hotel Esperance

Posted Oct 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel Esperance is well located for the Grand Place and main sights of Brussels as well as the shopping centre of Rue Neuve.It is also near the Metro and just a few stops from the EU quarter. My room was newly refurbished with a good shower and bathroom, confortable bed and pleasant furnishings. The staff were helpful too. However, there is a very narrow staircase and no lift so for the rooms at the top of the hotels it is quite an effort to get a suitcase up the stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Great, modern hotel in an old character building

Posted Jun 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for one night, which we thought was great value for the night. We did not have breakfast. Well located and close to the main shops and a number of restaurants / main sights etc. The only annoying thing about the room is there a full glass panel from the shower to the bedroom and the only thing to cover it is a shower curtain - apart from the werid factor it means as you soon as you turn on the light it shines right onto the bed which is annoying if one is getting up earlier. would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clifton Park, NY

Good Price, Not Great Location

Posted Oct 12, 2011 on Hotels.com
This hotel was at a great price point. The room was clean and functional. The location was not convenient for our needs.