Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Businessman from London

Not 4-star

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Cheerful and helpful staff.
Cons: Room facilities.
I tried Martins because there was an offer on the room (I normally stay at the Silken Berlaymont just up the road). The staff are very helpful and pleasant, and the location is excellent for those working in or visiting the European institutions, We had a good meal in the restaurant on one evening. The rooms are clean and quite comfortable -- except that there is no means to make a hot drink. There is a machine on one floor that dispenses drinks and the tea it makes is the foulest, foulest version of 'tea' ever. I rang room service at 6 am to try to order a pot of tea but there was no answer, so I had to wait until the breakfast room opened at 7 am to get something to drink. Definitely not 4-star standard of service provision, yet the hotel is the usual expensive Brussels price. i am writing this from a hotel in Dublin that costs just over a quarter of the price of Martin's, has all the same facilities plus manages to provide a kettle and selection of teas and coffees. This makes a stay, especially if one needs to work for any length of time in the room, so much more pleasant. Won't be going back to Martins. The Berlaymont makes more effort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Misspaso from Sweden

Room small and old fashion

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Don't understand why you need pay 7 euro 50 cents in tourist tax per day, when you go for holiday in Belgium, ridicules, also cheating taxi drivers Will not make you feel better, hotel lobby look fantastic, but room not same standard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2013
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service, uncomfortable bed

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: The room was clean. But this is what I would expect from any
Cons: Hotel staff attitudes.
The hotel room was OK. The pillows were not comfortable and my room was very warm. As a result, I didn't sleep well. The hotel staff were very rude and not helpful. The internet connection was very poor. I couldn't even check my emails.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rich from The Netherlands

Business trip

Posted May 24, 2013
Pros: Comfortable bed and powerful shower. Plenty of English channels on the TV and great free internet.
Cons: Tiny room with really expensive breakfast.
Location: Great location. Central to where I needed to be with loads of restaurants in the area.
Hotel was OK but the room was very small for the price. Good free internet. There was a skylight window and a massive thunderstorm through the night with driving rain woke me up pummelling on the skylight. Breakfast was an extortionate Euro 23. An express breakfast with a super small croissant, apple and coffee was Eur 7. Bathroom good with powerful shower. Bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ertugrul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

A straightforward hotel, very convenient for EC

Posted May 16, 2013
Pros: Rooms very quiet;
Cons: Breakfast was expensive - go to Exki nearby!
Location: Very convenient for EC offices & Schuman metro
A decent, straightforward, unpretentious, hotel on a quiet street within easy walking distance of the main EC offices and Schuman metro. The rooms are especially well sound-proofed and in any case the street has little traffic. I especially appreciated the thick curtains which keep the light out very well. Rooms a reasonable size and do not feel cramped. Good free WiFi and a desk and chair for work. The hotel makes a point of its Eco-credentials and you can get Eco points for not having your towels changed etc. I marked the service as "4" simply because I had no interaction with the staff. The basic rate is expensive for what it is, so make sure you get a good price through Expedia. The restaurant is on the expensive side, but the quality is good. Lots of restaurants of all kinds nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

relatively easy access, great breakfast

Posted Apr 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had an incident in the bar, that was a bit unpleasant, requiring management to intervene with the bartender because he had a very poor attitude. The management was very supportive and gave a free drink, but it left a poor taste. Breakfast service was very good, and the offerings were much better than ordinary, well prepared and high quality. The price was a bargain on the weekend, compared to airport hotels the service was better, the rooms nicer and the convenience only slightly less. OUr rate, on a Friday night for a Saturday conference, was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Simon from Peterborough, UK

Good for EU business

Posted Apr 25, 2013
A lovely hotel within sight of Berlaymont/ Schumann in the EU quarter. Nice rooms, gym has modern equipment, restaurant looked a little pricey but I did not use it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samira from Zagreb, Croatia

Great location in the vicinity of EU institutions

Posted Mar 17, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: The lack of coffee/tea maker in the room
Although they mixed up the dates of my bookingand didn't find it in their database, the problem was quickly solved and I was given a bigger nice room at the 6th floor. The only thing I would strongly recommed for such a nice hotel as a must thing to have is a coffee/tea maker in the room. Nevertheless, I enjoyed my two night stay in the hotel.