Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel- close to many EU sites

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Lovely trip. Breakfast at €23 pp is expensive though. Also, closing the restaurant during 'summer' for dinner and drinks is somewhat.... well... otherwise, a great experience all round.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Loved our stay

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: -friendly helpful staff -spacious room! -clean bathroom -loved that the toilet was separate -kettle and refrigerator -daily free water -wifi was quick! -comfortable bed -close to the metro Cons: Can't think of any!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Location: near subway (metro) stop and hotel staff was helpful with instructions for it's use.
Hotel staff was extremely helpful and provided detail information to multiple inquiries, always very pleasantly.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by V. Smith from Baltimore, MD

What Happened Here?

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's a nice hotel BUT having booked with a friend at the same time for separate rooms on a conference call to Hotels.com for the same hotel at the same rate, I got lesser amenities, amenities that were standard at larger, less glam hotels in Amsterdam and Antwerp. For example, no black-out curtains, no coffee/tea maker, no safe, no iron in the room. I got a useless Jacuzzi. Also, no way to order a la carte in the lounge. It looked like the hotel was trying to force guests to order expensive room service or 23 Euro breakfast or dinner. Real problems with card key that didn't work. And one of the windows, when you opened it, was off its hinge.
3 out of 5
by Businessman from London

Not 4-star

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Cheerful and helpful staff.
Cons: Room facilities.
I tried Martins because there was an offer on the room (I normally stay at the Silken Berlaymont just up the road). The staff are very helpful and pleasant, and the location is excellent for those working in or visiting the European institutions, We had a good meal in the restaurant on one evening. The rooms are clean and quite comfortable -- except that there is no means to make a hot drink. There is a machine on one floor that dispenses drinks and the tea it makes is the foulest, foulest version of 'tea' ever. I rang room service at 6 am to try to order a pot of tea but there was no answer, so I had to wait until the breakfast room opened at 7 am to get something to drink. Definitely not 4-star standard of service provision, yet the hotel is the usual expensive Brussels price. i am writing this from a hotel in Dublin that costs just over a quarter of the price of Martin's, has all the same facilities plus manages to provide a kettle and selection of teas and coffees. This makes a stay, especially if one needs to work for any length of time in the room, so much more pleasant. Won't be going back to Martins. The Berlaymont makes more effort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Misspaso from Sweden

Room small and old fashion

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Don't understand why you need pay 7 euro 50 cents in tourist tax per day, when you go for holiday in Belgium, ridicules, also cheating taxi drivers Will not make you feel better, hotel lobby look fantastic, but room not same standard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2013
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service, uncomfortable bed

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: The room was clean. But this is what I would expect from any
Cons: Hotel staff attitudes.
The hotel room was OK. The pillows were not comfortable and my room was very warm. As a result, I didn't sleep well. The hotel staff were very rude and not helpful. The internet connection was very poor. I couldn't even check my emails.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rich from The Netherlands

Business trip

Posted May 24, 2013
Pros: Comfortable bed and powerful shower. Plenty of English channels on the TV and great free internet.
Cons: Tiny room with really expensive breakfast.
Location: Great location. Central to where I needed to be with loads of restaurants in the area.
Hotel was OK but the room was very small for the price. Good free internet. There was a skylight window and a massive thunderstorm through the night with driving rain woke me up pummelling on the skylight. Breakfast was an extortionate Euro 23. An express breakfast with a super small croissant, apple and coffee was Eur 7. Bathroom good with powerful shower. Bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ertugrul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2013 on Hotels.com