Ratings based on 851 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Town

Classical hotel in centre of Brussels

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Location, old world charm
Cons: See comments above.
Location: It's about ten minutes from the Grand Place and the other main tourist spots. It is near the old fish market
The hotel is fairly well located for the tourist sights of Brussels but not very convenient as a business hotel. The appearance is good and the decor of the cafe Metropole is very attractive. But being an old hotel some of the facilities are tired. My room was very disappointing. It was small, had windows looking directly onto other bedroom and had been heavily used by smokers. It smelt awful and on returning home four days later, all my clothes smell of stale smoke. The shower attachment did not work so I had to use the tub which worked well. My other disappointment was breakfast. It felt like the hotel was doing just the minimum necessary. It was not charming, creative or enjoyable. After two days of it, I decuded to go out for breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom v

Decent hotel but better available for price

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Nice place, historic, elevator service intermittent, bathroom mouldy.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom SWITZERLAND

not a 5 hotel stars

Posted Nov 16, 2014
We were supposed to stay there 4 nights but the rooms look nothing like in the pictures, the state of the hotel is very bad, I get they want to keep the old style but the furniture is damaged the carpets and chairs are dirty, we had to check tree other rooms all of them had something bad, one of them had fungus in the bad room the other one the wallpaper was peeling all of , we had to cancel the other three nights and move to another hotel, this hotel looked a two stars hotel, I would not recommend this Hotel at all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely traditional hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Decor, style
Location: Well placed for all the main sites of central Brussels
Beautiful, central, nineteenth century decor (eg original open cage lift ) like being in a film!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey UK

Metro station right outside hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: We had a newly renovated room, I think, as everything was very clean and new carpet. We had a room at the front of the hotel.
Cons: The cooked breakfast was virtually cold when we went at 10am - but the rest was very nice with lots of choice.
Location: Museums, old buildings, restaurants - wall to wall chocolate shops!!
Great, central place to stay. Convenient transport all around the city. Oldy, worldy hotel. Absolutely loved the old lift as it reminded me of my nurses' home in London on Chelsea Embankment in 1971. Staff very nice, polite and helpful in the hotel. The Metropole cafe attached to the hotel served excellent food - but we were rather unfortunate in getting a waiter who once he knew that we were English treated us with very poor service. Shame as it spoilt the evening for me. The best tip is to get a pass for 24/48/72 hours that lets you into about 32 museums, go on all transport within the city centre and then there were discounts for different restaurants etc in the book as well. We ordered ours online before we left and collected in at Gare du Midi - but they sell them in museums etc. It helped give us structure to what we wanted to go and see and do. We even went outside the city centre to the Botanical Gardens bus took 30 mins and cost about £2 single.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old fashioned grandeur

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: The history is always worth more than modern glitz.
Cons: The bath is great but not without a good shower area.
Location: A little out of the centre but the Grand Place was walkable. It did seem to be on a police car route as they went past with sirens frequently.
It is a little faded but the grandeur still shines through. We had paid for a privilege room and it was well worth it for size and comfort. The only issue was the lack of a shower curtain and the ability to have a stand up shower. The old style reception area and lift take take you back to a different era whilst the pavement bar area is great for people watching.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

A beautiful, central hotel, with a few faults

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Gorgeous building, central location, great breakfast.
Cons: Housekeeping, bedrooms, general upkeep. Staff charming, but vague (our neighbours had breakfast delivered to their room an hour late).
Location: Central, and very near metro. Location couldn't be better, though the immediate neighborhood isn't the greatest.
Extraordinary and beautiful lobby and cafe (and probably other public rooms). Rooms are ok, but not really 5 star. We had slightly peeling wallpaper, no slippers or dressing gowns, limited bathroom accessories - and they didn't keep us supplied with toilet paper. It's as if some crazed accountant is in charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful classic hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Really elegant hotel. Stephen Hawking stayed there.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Review

Posted Nov 4, 2014
The evevator was broken, the rooms need updating (old carpet, old linens). The room was clean but modest and the staff was somewhat slow and unorganized. The concierge was knowledgable and the location was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Central location

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Central location with walking distance to attractions. Friendly staff and beautiful century old design building. The corridors and rooms in need of cleaning and/or renovation.