Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Duncan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great value hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: the price
Cons: lack of air con
Location: fairly close to metro station
There was no air conditioning so the room was a bit hot but for the price I paid it was extremely good value
2 out of 5
by Simon from Peterborough

Scruffy and overpriced

Posted Apr 25, 2013
Pros: The breakfast
Cons: The room
Location: Nice part of town
I travel to Brussels regularly, so my poor scores are in the context of Brussels not being the cleanest city, and hotel staff not being the friendliest. This is an extremely poor hotel, which is a shame because with a bit of effort it could be delightful. The room was dirty and smelt of cigarette smoke. It was so small I could hardly walk around the bed. The breakfast was actually quite good, and saved it from a 1 out of 5 score.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ajr

very convenient location

Posted Mar 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
A small Hotel/Guest House. very basic, ideal for short business stop over. central position & therefore quite noisy at night. Good continental breakfast & friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Considerate management

Posted Dec 15, 2012
Pros: It was near to where I was working. Nice breakfast around a communal table.
Cons: three flights of stairs
Location: convenient for my work
I forgot my laptop in the room and the manager didn't have my number so got through to Expedia who got through to me, before I'd got too far, and I could return and pick it up. I was so relieved, and thankful to them, that I felt I had to write something.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by er

Clean, cute, comfortable

Posted Oct 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel was adorable. The giant red cow out front made me smile every time I went in or out. Good price. Very close to the metro (subway) which made it easy to go anywhere, and easy to find the hotel on return. The staff was there 24/7, they went above and beyond when we asked for help for any suggestions or directions. And they spoke perfect English, which, we didn't realize, is very rare in Brussels! Be aware that the Monty has no elevator (lift) so stairs are unavoidable--no rooms on the ground floor. The room was very small; there were 2 of us (friends, not a couple) and the setup had 2 twin beds pushed together like a king bed. But from everything I've read and experienced, that's par for the course abroad.
2 out of 5
by michael from california

i was expecting better - i think you can do better

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Cons: hotel wifi encryption is wpa-2 and my older netbook could not use it
my disappointments began with three of my personal expectations missing: (1) there was no in-room coffee set up - expedia's assurances not withstanding; (2) the in-room mini-bar was broken and was not addressed during my 2 day stay; (3) the in-room wifi failed for me (hotel wifi encryption is wpa-2 and my old netbook can not use it, so i had to seek wifi elsewhere.) in my opinion, the hotel is a crudely refurbished older building with lots of gray paint throughout. Red and pink designer pieces abound, but to my eye are so much kitsch - perhaps copies of "classic" pieces, but i felt like i was in an old gray warehouse filled with plastic junk bought cheap on e-bay. i am confused how this hotel rates 3 stars. but there were good points: the staff did whatever was available to them to remedy my situation, giving me access to the kitchen fridge (albiet with 3 flights of stairs between my room and the kitchen) and having a pot of coffee ready for me at 5:30 am on the morning of my departure. there was a computer for use in the living room - a french belgian computer with its "azerty" keyboard - useable, but personally frustrating. my room was typically crampt, but clean enough, and the ensuite bathroom was good, including the hot water. the beds were ok. the location has good access to public transport - an entrance to the georges-henri tram station is just in front of the hotel. there are 2 supermarkets, 2 night shops and several eateries within an easy walk
2 out of 5
by michael from california

i was expecting better - i think you can do better

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Cons: wpa-2 wifi encryption - my old netbook can not use it
my disappointments began with three of my personal expectations missing: (1) there was no in-room coffee set up - expedia's assurances not withstanding; (2) the in-room mini-bar was broken and was not addressed during my 2 day stay; (3) the in-room wifi failed for me (hotel wifi encryption is wpa-2 and my old netbook can not use it, so i had to seek wifi elsewhere.) in my opinion, the hotel is a crudely refurbished older building with lots of gray paint throughout. Red and pink designer pieces abound, but to my eye are so much kitsch - perhaps copies of "classic" pieces, but i felt like i was in an old gray warehouse filled with plastic junk bought cheap on e-bay. i am confused how this hotel rates 3 stars. but there were good points: the staff did whatever was available to them to remedy my situation, giving me access to the kitchen fridge (albiet with 3 flights of stairs between my room and the kitchen) and having a pot of coffee ready for me at 5:30 am on the morning of my departure. there was a computer for use in the living room - a french belgian computer with its "azerty" keyboard - useable, but personally frustrating. my room was typically crampt, but clean enough, and the ensuite bathroom was good, including the hot water. the beds were ok. the location has good access to public transport - an entrance to the georges-henri tram station is just in front of the hotel. there are 2 supermarkets, 2 night shops and several eateries within an easy walk
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ash from London

good value

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: place, value for money
Cons: poor wifi coverage, lots of steps and very small room
Location: location is ok for business traveller and easy parking around...
internet wasnt covered from top floor but other than that its good for value...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok for one night

Posted Jun 28, 2012
This hotel is i suppose ok for one night. I don't have anything more to add