Ratings based on 310 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

This hotel is such perfection in every way.

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Eveerything.
Cons: It is already perfection.
Location: See above.
This hotel ranks as one of the top five hotels around the world where I have been. Every detail is thought of for the guest's comfort. Shoes are shined complimentary. Internet is free. English language newspapers are provided. The garden and breakfast room have linen tablecloths and delicious food. Staff is wonderful. Immaculate clean. Close to most everything including the European Parliament and the US Embassy as well as florist shops and restaurants and a grocery. Bus/metro is one block away. You will never stay at a nicer hotel in Brussels. Five stars!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm springs ca

Very elegant

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Everything was perfect. Great location and quiet. I left a package in my room. They had it delivered by taxi the next day to my hotel in Bruges. Very courteous staff. Have already recommended it to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Annabella from London

Good location for work

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Comfy beds and quiet
Cons: Some rooms are very strange shapes and sizes
Location: Good for European Parliament and EU quarter, nice restaurants round the back on Pl de Londres.
Offered very strange room at first - double decker with bed upstairs and bathroom below, rejected this and put in very nice large room with double bed and sofa. Slept very well here as always, great location for my work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Servicable hotel in reasonable location.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
The Stanhope is convenient to the Brussels business district, but NOT the touristic old town (Grand Place, etc.). If you are visiting for tourism, don't stay here. Rooms are small and somewhat dated. A/C is weak. Elevator is slow and creaky (though decorated with a fun faux wall of books). Internet in rooms is NOT free after 1 hour of use. Restaurant is very over-priced (29 Euro for breakfast?!?)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beatiful classic hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an extremely beatifull hotel in an historic old house filled with fantastic antique furnitures. Also with very nice enclosed terrases. The staff was extremely helpfull (I forgot my home keys in the room and the staff went very far to help me get them back - thank you), also I could easily get an extra pillow from the chambermaid. The only thing I personally did not like was that the madras was very hard - allthough of very good quality like everything else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very convenient position in Brussels

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Close to centre
Location: Near to my meetings
Very convenient and comfortable. A good location for business in Brussels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rosemary & David from Victoria, BC Canada

Outstanding value for a weekend stay in Brussels

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great, quiet, convenient location for sights and restaurants. A10€ cab ride from Bruxelles MIDI Station. Wonderful breakfast - make sure you book with breakfast included.
3 out of 5
by Rose from London

close to museums, parks and European parliament.

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: the location, but the rooms are very small
Cons: definitely the breakfast and the chef can improve.
Location: most museums are near by, the palace, the gardens... and also the metro ( tube) adn many buses. so the location is good.
The breakfast ( from coffee to cheese or fruit) is quite mediocre and do not order a club sandwich if you come late from work. They need to improve the chef. they are mean wwith pillows. just one, can hardly sit and read on your bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Three Names

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its the little things that count

Posted Apr 3, 2014
no doubting, superb location, lovely clean hotel, excellent room. However considering the price and standard of hotel very surprising to then have to pay for internet and no tea or coffee in the room. Seems like a small corner to cut and devalues the hotels image :(
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2014 by Stanhope Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice comments. Please be reassured that you had one hour free with your booking. We always suggest our guests to book directly with us to benefit from a full free wifi connection. Moreover, please do not hesitate to ask our room service to get coffee and tea facilities in your room for yoru next stay. You can get it for free upon request. We are sorry that this information was not enough clear in the Directory. We look forward to welcoming you again.