Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Book Elsewhere!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Terrible experience. Don't book this place. The room and overall B&B is quite dingy, and the area is also sketchy. The owner has a really loud dog that barks, and you can hear throughout the house (which is all this accommodation really is). Don't stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bed & breakfast with a special touch

Posted May 8, 2014
Cons: I guess it could be a touch cleaner.
Location: It's close to the Botanic Gardens which, unfortunately, I had no chance to visit but looked very inviting.
This bed & breakfast is located quite centrally and easy to reach from the airport. The house is very tastefully decorated with an artistic touch and the hostess is very friendly and accommodating. It almost felt like staying with friends.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark from England

Great guest house

Posted Jun 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Phileus Fogg is a really nice place to stay in Brussels. Lovely rooms, friendly owner, great dog, good breakfast. A gem in a city bereft of good places to stay that are not chain hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by James R from South Wales

A really friendly, unique & quirky place to stay.

Posted Jun 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
During my stay I had the opportunity to meet Karin the owner of the guest house and suddenly, "it all made sense to me"... The building is unique and quirky. .. I love that :) The other guests and I were talking around the breakfast table as though we were all friends and family. I normally stay in the usual (uninteresting and soulless) corporate hotels... I'll be heading to Karins place the next time I'm in Brussels. .. Thanks.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Last-minute room downgrade.

Posted Jun 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
A promising initial exchange of emails humoured my only request – being tall, I need a bed without a footboard. Upon touching down in Brussels, I was informed via email, however, that I have been moved from top floor to basement to accommodate a request from other guests. The basement room (the en suit basement room, according to the manager) was a very charmless affair with only a curtain between the bed and the toilet/shower section of the room. Plenty of cobwebs, too, if that's your thing.
1 out of 5
by Didi from New York

Most dreadful B&B experience in my life

Posted May 28, 2012
Pros: I had no favorite things about this hotel; thank God I was only there for six nights and moved to another hotel nearer my workplace afterwards.
Cons: My least favorite thing about this hotel was the bathroom which I could not lock while taking a bath and its unclean condition and room with no lock.
Location: Location was all right, but later on I found out that it was in the worst neighborhood of Brussels.
This so-called bed and breakfast does not deserve the name. First of all, when I arrived at the place in the morning, the owner was not even there to greet me; I rang the doorbell several times before the neighbor (who, it seemed, was used to this) finally opened her own door and asked what I wanted. I explained to her that I had a reservation at the place; she was kind enough to call the owner and she finally arrived to let me in. After apologizing and telling me that she had sent me an email when I was over the Atlantic, she showed me to a decrepit-looking room on the second floor. She left immediately saying that she would give me the key to the room, etc. a little later. Several hours later, she had not returned to explain how to open the front door, nor give me the combination to the electronic lock or even showed where the bathroom was; I was completely locked in the B&B until the evening. I requested some towels and she told me to get them myself from the closet. For the next six mornings that I was at the place, I only had breakfast once; I later found out that she didn't even live in the place and only arrived to take care of business after taking her daughter to school, around 9:00 a.m. which by that time I was gone to work. I tried to get coffee or even water from the kitchen and found it smelling of garbage and unwashed dishes and definitely unsanitary-looking. DEFINITELY NOT A PLACE TO STAY IN AND NOT WORTH THE PRICE THAT THE OWNER IS CHARGING!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
I only spent one night so my comment doesn't equal a long stay. Karin, the owner is absolutely lovely and were very generous of her time and help. Breakfast was good, fresh breads, good coffee, freshly-squeezed orange juice... Exquisite. One advice, don't arrive before the check-in time, you will find a closed door. After that, relax and enjoy your stay.