Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Two night stay, only used for shower and sleep. Cont. breakfast as good as any, good coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Peggie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Trishfrom New Castle

Kindness

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff at this motel were very kind and easy to work with. The room was clean and was close to all amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Vic & Conniefrom Syracuse NY

step back in time

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed our stay here, while attending the ACD Festival in Auburn, IN. Room was more than adequate for the brief time we returned there, basically to sleep. Free wifi, fridge and microwave were unexpected surprises, but always appreciated. Expanded continental breakfast was plentiful with a nice variety. Staff very friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clermont County, OH

Good Base of Operations for Area Stay

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, reasonable price, location, pleasant staff, breakfast room.
Cons: More towels and soaps, change the sheets for multiple day stays. If the sheets won't be changed, reduce the price a few dollars for subsequent days.
Location: Used the Plaza as a base to visit Sauder Village and Defiance historical features.
I stayed at the Plaza 10 years ago, and it was an average mom & pop type motel. This 3-day stay in August 2014 benefited from some very noticeable improvements. While still a small town motel, it was still very clean and reasonably priced and a breakfast room was added. The breakfast was very nicely presented with some variety and a pleasant place to eat.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by T. Moorefrom Indianapolis, IN

Can't believe these reviews are for this hotel!

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Okay, I stayed here because of the high guest ratings, and this is the first time I've been hoodwinked. First, the person checking me in was in a recliner watching TV in the lobby(9:30pm - NOT late). Not a problem, but she acted bothered when she had to get up to check me in. Did not smile, was never friendly at any time. Did not mention breakfast or what time it was served. I did not ask because I no longer wanted to talk to her. CRANKY. Went to the room, it seemed pretty nice, everything in decent shape. Wife went to bed, I followed later, found that the bed was full size, booked a queen sized bed. NOT cool. I am a big person and would not book a full-size bed even for myself, much less for both of us. It was too late to change rooms and my wife was already asleep. Sorry, folks, but poor service and full-size bed are a deal-breaker for me. It was pretty clean, but in need of a remodel - bathroom was worn out with nicks in the paint, air vent did not work. Will not be returning. EVER.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Troy, Ohio

All the comforts of home reasonably priced

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Maybe in the future if they had a swimming pool it would be perfect!
Location: It was just a bit down the road from grocery... department stores... and restaurants
I had to book a hotel due to having 3 book signings in one day... the Plaza Motel has all the comforts of home with a price that doesn't break your wallet... the staff was very helpful and friendly... they serve a nice breakfast and you couldn't ask for cleaner accomadations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, OH

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Ice bucket liner. Better locking door. Firmer mattress.
Location: Sauder Village
Nice quiet room. Friendly staff. Clean. Convenient. Fantastic price and breakfast, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

This motel was a pleasant experience.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: It was like living in the past, clean and comfortable.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: The city of Bryan is a neat town.
We were going on the "World's Longest Yard Sale" and had made reservations at the Plaza for our first night. It was the best deal that we got on the trip! The room was pleasant and the breakfast was satisfying. The staff were very helpful. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice for the price

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Can't beat the price. They have most amenities like fridge, microwave, hair dryer, full size coffee maker, etc. in the rooms. Room was clean and comfortable but a bit cramped. Room is small for the amount of furniture that's in it and there is shower only, no tub. Fine for a 1 or 2 night stay, wouldn't want to stay there for an extended period. Definitely not 4.4 star as rated by hotels.com.