Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pub stay

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Room tastefully decorated Nice big bathroom
Cons: Concentrate on management for the guests upstairs as well as the pub
staff seemed pretty stressed trying to do several jobs at once and all a bit chaotic Breakfast was cooked on char grill and was unevenly cooked nice location with close proximity to several tourist spots like West Wycombe Caves and the historic home next door
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gordon from Lancashire

Wish I had more time

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: NIce staff, interesting pub.
Cons: Room needed a rework. carpets and decor tired.
Location: There on business but pub in nice village and some nice walks locally I imagine.
Booked late through Expedia nice suprise when I got there, really interesting old pub which was busy when I got there. Wished I had got there sooner and have a few pints. Room was ok, bit dated and old but big and roomy. Strange ensuite arrangement but worked fine. Great breakfast, most enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Beauvais, France

Quiet country hotel.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Young staff extremely friendly and helpful. Very good dinner menu.
Cons: Breakfast settings such as milk, butter, jam to be available at each table.
Location: Located in small attractive village just outside High Wycombe. Avoids the bustle and traffic - parking and easy access to footpaths in nearby woods,
Overnight stay with two Labrador sized dogs. Had dinner with family group of six.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bobbie from Bury

Fantastic Food - quaint olde world hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in a very dated room but did look around one of the refurbished rooms. It is a listed building and thus it will never be modern but this would spoil its charm. the Dinner and breakfast were amazingly good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed twice now and enjoyed the stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rick from Tenerife

Hotel with Character

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very old coaching hotel with interesting room with uneven and sloping floors. Could feel the history in the place Friendly staff and good food. Comfortable bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by d griffin from dorset

old coaching inn in village

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed I Our stay and the current owner is doing up rooms etx. Lovely oldy worldly, and very politd friendly staff. We had a great evening meal and room comfortable nd clean but in need of refurb. Very good breakfast, would stay again aS on business
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by kop101 from harrogate

poor

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rubbish, no hot water,no soap or showering materials. Key was not available to lock door, so had to use a master key though only got that by asking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by alanp

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by S & N from North of England

Old coaching inn in beautiful village

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: Beautiful village setting, good free car parking, nice garden and outside space to eat. Lovely old building, nice atmosphere in bar/ eating area.
Cons: Accelerate waiting time for food orders Decorate and clean interiors This place has great potential !
Location: Wonderful location, National Trust house in village . Climb to top of the hill and visit the Caves of Hell Fire on way up. Browse the quaint shops.
Beautiful setting in lovely village but property in need of decoration and a thorough clean. Our bedroom was quite grubby. First morning waited over 45 mins for cooked breakfast, but gave up as we had a deadline to meet someone, left with nothing! Same evening ordered a meal which was very good but took an hour to arrive. Next morning with more time to spare had excellent cooked breakfast which still took a long time. Whilst we appreciate that all meals which are cooked to order do take some time to prepare , this was way too long. Because of its convenient situation and beautiful village setting I would stay here again, hoping that the new owner has rectified the problems.