Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel with a difference

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Peace and quiet, away from hub-bub of the city.
Cons: Tea/coffee making facilities either in the bedrooms or in a communal area.
Location: Most of the bedroom windows pleasantly look out onto the Danube. There is no passing road traffic. There isn't anything specific to do in winter.
We booked the Aquamarina hotel for a pre-christmas break. We appreciated at the point of booking that it was a distance from the centre but public transport is frequently excellent which did not create a problem. We hopped on a 34 bus that arrives every 15 minutes to Aphid metro station then caught a metro train to Deac Ferenc. With a 7 day travel pass, any public transport is accessible. The hotel was warm and clean. The breakfast buffet was well presented with adequate choice. The staff were welcoming, helpful and all very pleasant. Be warned: we took a travel kettle and cups with us so were able to make our favourite cuppa in our room. However other guests had to buy hot drinks and snacks from a kiosk on the quayside which has sporadic opening hours and certainly doesn't open after 8pm. My understanding is that in the summer, a river taxi runs fom the hotel into the centre of Budapest which would be great but it doesn't run in winter months. Don't expect 5* accommodation because it's not. It is what it is - a clean, warm place to stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SNfrom Clearwater

great location - on a ship!

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was fantastic to stay on a ship that is set up like a hotel. It's a bit run-down but kept clean and staff are very helpful & friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bremen

Bester Service auf der Donau

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Das Personal!!!!
Cons: Die Klimaanlage
Location: Siehe oben
Die Ankunft war unkompliziert und sehr herzlich. Schnell haben wir uns eingelebt, auch wenn man vorher hätte wissen müssen, dass ein Bus fast direkt zum Hotel fährt, so sind wir eine Strecke von 3 Km mit Gepäck bei 33 Grad gelaufen! Das Personal war mehr als freundlich und zu jeder Tages- und Nachtzeit sehr hilfsbereit bei jedwedem Problem! Das Hotel liegt sehr toll am Donauufer direkt an einer kleinen Amüsiermeile für den Stadtteil, daher muss man nur wenige Meter gehen um toll zu essen, netten Menschen zu begegnen oder ein einfach bei einem Bierchen direkt am Ufer der Donau Schiffe zu beobachten und die Seele baumeln zu lassen! In der Woche ist es trotz der vielen kleinen Strandbars und Bistros ab ca. 23 Uhr sehr ruhig, also keine Sorge für Menschen die früh ins Bett wollen! Wer die ungarische Sprache nicht beherrscht, dem ist zu empfehlen sich ein Wörterbuch mitzunehem, da die Speisen nur in Ungarisch an den Tafeln stehen. Sollte jemand ein bisschen Zeit haben, ist der öffentliche Fährverkehr direkt vom Anleger des Hotels bis weit in die Innenstadt Buda und Pests unbedingt zu empfehlen!!!! Alles in allem hat es uns sehr gut gefallen, wir würden es immer wieder machen!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Manfred A.from Graz

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Die Zimmer sind für ein Schiff groß. Der Boden war extrem verschmutzt. Die Klimaanlage hat leider nicht funktiomiert bei knapp 30 Grad. Das Bordrestaurant war leider auch geschlossen und das im Juli. Frühstück war in Ordnung. Das Personal freundlich.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Schönes, sehr ruhiges Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: die Aussicht auf die Donau
Cons: die Zimmerfenster müssten zu öffnen sein, die Klimaanlage
Location: an der Donau. Budapest anschauen. In der Donau baden, unmittelbar am Hotelschiff.
Budapest ist eine tolle Stadt mit vielen Sehenswürdikeiten, guten Restaurants und moderaten Preisen.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom England

Review

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Room was very hot.air conditioning was not sufficient. So the room was very stuffy.. bathroom towels where thin and didn't dry you. the bar on the boat was never open do asked staff and they said because there wasn't many people on board so they don't open it !! Really out of the way from the city . Local bars no English writing on food menus so you haven't got a clue what you are purchasing and they don't speak English think just locals go there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Reading

Lovely location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location spot on
Cons: Air con. Free transport into the city
Definitely a great option for Summer time. A little further out than anticipated but a perfect retreat after spending the day in the city. Loads of little bars and cafes on the river banks offering cheap food and drink over looking the river. A pleasant room which was a decent size and very clean. Friendly staff. Breakfast basic but not unpleasant. The only real downside was that the air con was virtually non existent and it was very hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Schanofrom Wien

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Angenehm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adrianfrom Transylvania

Great location, superb view of Danube

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The location and the view from the room. It could be a very romantic place. The idea of sleeping on a 110 years old boat. Quiet zone. Price
Cons: Heating (AC also) not working Restaurant closed Credit card payment More attention with the cleaning of the rooms Exterior renovation is needed
Location: You have to visit the Citadel The Parliament
Great location, superb view of Danube, historical background but a lack of interest from the owner. You have to reset your expectation because is not a 4* Hotel. It is closer to 2* and it costs as a 2* hotel The boat hotel is situated in a very quiet area of Budapest. It is recommended to have a car for easiest access to the city attractions. The boat is old and interesting. The rooms are big enough and looks ok. The smell issue mentioned by others is not very disturbing. It is a boat specific smell. Personally i cannot accept the heating-cooling system witch is NOT working. The staff knows the problem, but they lie they will fix it later. The filter of the integrated heating - cooling system is absolutely miserable. *see the last picture After i was waited unsuccessful 5 hours to get a few degrees more in the room, i had to ask for a solution. The other room offered not resolving the problem because the whole heating system was dead. Finally i got 2 electrical heaters and the temperature in the room became normal. Another disturbing problem is the restaurant, witch is closed. You can not serve dinner on the boat which seems unacceptable. I can't understand the owners policy... the place has a great potential witch is not exploited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Daniel Floydfrom Kent UK

Superb value for money

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ok it is a little way out of town (15 mins by car) but easy to get to. There is a water taxi that costs 750 HUF (£2) per person, each way that takes you directly from the hotel to the centre of the city on the hour every hour from (I believe 7am and last one leaves the centre around 8:45 in the evening,takes around 1hr) but is a great way to see the main sights and a nice ride if your not in a rush. Hotel itself is very nice, a little bit dated but very clean, staff couldn't be nicer or more accommodating, nothing was to much, really nice. Just outside the hotel are a few nice café/fast food "huts" (its on the riverbank and a popular cycle path/walking route) so you don't have to go anywhere for a nightcap or six or a snack. Area, yes not in the centre but in a very nice, affluent area and parking free! Yay! Would I stay again? YES!