Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Good location

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Location, price, friendliness of the staff, rooms were nice
Cons: Beds were a little hard
Location: Across the river from most attractions but believe this is what kept the price down. Close to Elizabeth bridge, quick/pleasant walk to other side.
We stayed at this hotel from June 26-28th. The location is great. It's across the river from most of the action, but just a short trip over the Elizabeth bridge and you are there. You can take the #5 or #178 bus from the Budapest Keleti train station straight to the hotel. You just need to get off at the first stop as soon as you cross the Danube. The hotel was a bit tricky to find originally as there was a lot of construction going on. The road in front of the hotel is completely torn up. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was meats and cheeses along with fruit, cereal, and yogurt. Each day a staff member asked us if we would like eggs and bacon, which they fried up for us on the spot. We were quite p,eased with this hotel. The only complaint would be that the beds were a little hard. But we tend to find that most European hotels have the same issue. Would recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irene from Cambridge UK

Superb location

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Such welcoming and friendly staff who cannot do enough for you. Spacious and light room very clean with free wifi as well as tea and coffee facilities
Cons: Nothing
Location: Superb as a base to explore both sides of the Danube. You can get anywhere really easily from here. Just look out for the cyclists on the promenade.
I stayed here for 4nights as a single female traveller. I love walking and was able to walk most of the Buda and Pest side from here very easily. The staff at the hotel are lovely. Much more individual attention than at larger hotels. The room was a double even though I booked as only one person. The room was wonderfully clean and light. I looked out onto a church at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was very filling. Omelettes or boiled eggs cooked to order. Plus cereals cold meats yoghurt etc Tea and coffee facilities in room very useful as it is easy to return to hotel for a refreshing stop due to excellent location. I shall return here with my husband and show him the fabulous views and sights. For me this was the perfect hotel. On the final day after lots of walking I spent a very relaxing morning in the Gellert baths just a 15 min walk from the hotel. Everything was wonderful- rooms, staff who spoke good English, safety and security, location, breakfast. If you want a walking holiday this is perfect. If you do not like walking the tram stop is 1 minute away. The Danube waterfront is 1 minute from the hotel for superb views in the day or night.It has everything I could want .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shelley from UK

Nice hotel in Buda close to the river.

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Ideal location for us, being on the Buda (Castle) side of the city away from the shopping/tourist area.
Cons: We thought it provided everything we wanted during our stay and had no complaints about the facilities.
Location: Hotel is right by the Elizabeth Bridge and only a 10 minute walk to either the Chain Bridge to the north or the Liberty Bridge to the south.
We stayed for 5 nights here and could easily have stayed for longer. All the staff we spoke to were really friendly, helpful and spoke good English. Our room was comfortable and very clean and the breakfast (which you pay for directly to the hotel) was also nice and offered good value. Although there were some roadworks going on right outside during our stay it did not prove to be an inconvenience for us, although it did take the taxi driver by surprise and we ended up going on a slight detour when we first arrived! We felt the hotel's location was ideal as we didn't want to be situated right in the shopping/tourist area, preferring instead to walk over the Elizabeth Bridge close by or along the promenade to either the Chain Bridge or Liberty Bridge. We were pleased with our choice of hotel and will happily stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from Madrid, Spain

Best Western Orion

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Location (right along the Danube between Buda and Pest). The hotel staff were excellent, very nice and really very helpful.
Cons: Nothing really. Maybe newer beds?
Location: The hotel is within walking distance of all of the major sites in Buda. You'll do a bit of walking for sites in Pest. Public transportation is close.
I was traveling solo to Budapest and a friend recommended the Best Western Orion. It is located within walking distance to the Chain Bridge, Buda Hill, Gellert Baths, Underground Secret Hospital, Marvelosa Cafe and Makos Guba restaurant (both I highly recommend). Because the hotel is located very close to the Danube, you can easily cross to the Pest side and see the Parliament Building, Opera House and Terror Museum (you'll have to do a bit of walking though). The hotel is on a quiet street and the staff were great. Highly recommended. The hotel was also inexpensive.
1 out of 5
by Skydiver from Ireland

Not happy at ALL with management..

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing...............................................................................................................................................
Cons: A better management team. That has good guest relations knowledge and know how to apply it, make the guests enjoy their stay.
Location: Would rather not..............
They were doing construction outside on ALL floors and wake us up at 7:30am every morning. when we made a comment to management, his words were... "it is a hotel, it is not so early to us".. What that's it?? "It is not early to us"??? We are here on Holiday and "THIS IS EARLY TO US"!! SO IF YOU LIKE YOUR SLEEP IN THE MORNING AND ARE ON HOLIDAY... DO NOT STAY HERE!! We will NOT be back here again!! Also it made me laugh that the manager posted on one of our comments about this tragic holiday when he said ("Our construction workers did not make any noise") Question... how does a construction worker NOT make any noise??? Do the laws of physics NOT apply in his make believe world?? I would like to work outside his house and make banging noises and wake him up every morning when he is trying to sleep. We were on HOLIDAY and were there to relax... Not be rudely woken up when we were trying to sleep late. There were NO quiet rooms in the early morning... And rude management to go with it.. They invited us to come back?? The Scottish have a a saying: Fool me once shame on you... fool me twice.. shame on me.. No they will NOT be getting our HARD EARNED MONEY nor our friends that are going in a few weeks.. I do recommend the Marriott. Their prices are just a little more and well worth the price. We also went to the Marriott for our meals as the view is just amazing and the service is great as well as reasonable prices...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy from Canada

Quiet clean hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The quiet location and friendly staff!
Location: On Pest side near many tourist attractions and just across bridge from shopping!
Hotel Orion was in a great location near the Danube but on a quiet street. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful! Room were clean and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Norfolk

Nice hotel ,just one block away from the river.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Liked the proximity to the river.Also rooms were a nice size and clean.
Cons: Although extra bedding can be requested it would be nice for there to be 2 pillows per person.I would think that is the average number that people use
Location: Very good location.Castle and St Matthias Church accessible.Across the river was St Stephens Basilica,shops and restaurants.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.Pleasant welcome by Lajos,the Manager.Rooms were a nice size and clean.Breakfast was worth the extra 2,400 fts.About 5 minute walk to the Elizabeth Bridge and then another 5 minute walk across to he other side for shops,more restaurants etc.Would definitely return to Budapest and to the Hotel Orion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Braga from London

Good value for money

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Hotel situated in very quiet area of Buda, less than 15 minutes walking way to the Downtown (Pest). Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean room. I definitely will come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Francesco from London

Super recommended

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I usually stay on Pest side, but I wanted to try Buda as well. The hotel is not brand new but very well maintained. It has a street just in front but we were in the rear side. The room was clean and spacious enough and comfortable (with fridge and kettle). The only withdraw was the surrounding neighbourhood, as you have less shops than in Pest side. Anyway the walking back from Pest side every evening was very nice and allows a nice view of the river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alastair from Maidstone, UK

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
What a place! Firstly we arrived mid afternoon and the hotel staff were welcoming and encouraging for our first stay. They recommended places to eat etc Throughout the weekend the staff were helpful and encouraging even recommending somewhere for us to have a special Birthday meal. I couldn't recommend this place enough. Don't change a thing!