Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by AMLC

Interesting, nice place to stay

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed out stay at Boat Hotel Fortuna. The breakfast and the ladies who oversaw breakfast were wonderful. There were plenty of options like fresh fruit, rolls with meats and cheeses, cereal, two types of eggs, etc. Our room was a nice size and had a TV. The bathroom was a bit cramped, but clean. We ate at the ship restaurant our first nite because we arrived late. The food was okay but service was a bit awkward, we did not eat there again. We had reception book us a taxi for our return trip to the train station, and while we had no problems getting the taxi, Reception was on the unfriendly side and could not offer us any other information about the taxi company or a rough estimate of what the journey would cost. If you need a taxi, I would recommend calling one of the taxi companies, most of them have an English speaking call line. Overall, we would stay here again. The location is great and it is easy to walk to sites in Buda and Pest, the breakfast is wonderful, and our room was clean and a decent size compared to the size of the boat itself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by garyfrom uk

great location

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
IDEAL FOR A SHORT BREAK GREAT VIEWS AND CENTRAL LOCATION, FREINDLY AND HELPFUL SERVICE, EXTERIOR OF BOAT A LITTLE TIRED BUT INTERIOR CLEAN AND WELL KEPT WOULD RECOMMEND AS GREAT LOCATION TO EXPLORE CITY.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by RG23

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Budapest loverfrom Brussels

Family Break with excellent location

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Would recommend to anyone wanting something a bit different, who understands this is not a luxury hotel, wants the TV to work, the shower to be hot and powerful, the bed to be hard enough, the room to be clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mariafrom Washington

Easy to get around

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
We found Budapest very welcoming and easy for tourists. We used the Hop-on Buses for transportation and two stops were within a short walk of the hotel. We found that we could easily walk into the main part of the city from the hotel and there were ample places for a coffee break anywhere along the route. Staff was very helpful to secure tickets to events in town for us and provided maps and bus information as well as facilitate our transportation back to the airport. Breakfast was ample and fresh, dining room kept clean. The large windows in our waterside room provided a wonderful view of the river traffic, but at the same time, very little privacy when big boats came near. We just changed in the small bathroom or hung a shirt over the window temporarily. Curtains weren't quite big enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christelfrom Waterloo, Canada

Convenient location

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Convenience of location, and reasonable price including a very good breakfast.
Cons: Size of the rooms, but that is not possible.
We stayed at the Boathotel Fortuna as we were intrigued by the idea of staying on a boat on the Danube. Little did we know that it was also a very convenient location to get to the center of town and all the attractions that we wanted to see. It was a short walk to the tram station from where we could get to the center of town, but also could connect to all other public transportation by buying a 72 hour pass, which lets you use any public transit. Also, we could walk to many places. The only negative was the size of the room, it was difficult to get around, and not much space to put your suitcases.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stay Somewhere Else

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place was horrible from start to finish. Our reservation was messed up and they gave us a hard time (the guy even pretended they didn't have a room until we started to leave) and told us we would have to change rooms at 10 in the morning (which made are tour arrangements more difficult). Then we were put into the wrong kind of room, but that was lucky because we would never have fit two suitcases in the double room (we ended up in a triple). The stairs to get up to the rooms are extremely steep and narrow (I fell twice). The rooms smell terrible, you cannot control the temperature nor open the windows. The light in the bathroom is almost non-existent and the shower is just a facet on the wall beside the toilet. As a woman, getting ready in the morning was a challenge. The staff are rude and indifferent and act like every question is the first time they have ever been asked it. The breakfast buffet was gross and way over crowd. We tried to have dinner in the restaurant (the pictures of the nice bar/restaurant on the top open deck are a lie because it was not open and according to the staff was only ever opened for private parties). When we got to the restaurant we were told we were inconveniencing them because there was a private party but they could seat us at a table beside the bar and in front of the door. We ended up ordering pizza. Overall, do not be swayed by the rates and romance of the boat idea, this place is a disaster. Deserves less than 1!!!
3 out of 5
by Crystalfrom NZ

Different and a bit fun at a really good price

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: unique, staff were nice. good to have option for breakfast.
Cons: Shower curtain issue. didn't feel comfortable using showers due to worried a guy might stray in.
Location: location is reasonably ok. parliment. muscial fountain which is really cool, lights up at night, but also acts like an alarm clock!
stayed 3 nights with breakfast included - although we had to leave at 6.45am on the last day but the breakfast buffet doesn't open until 7am, and no exceptions were made for us. This was the last 'hotel' we stayed at for our one month trip around Europe. I say hotel because its more like a back-packers, esp as the bathroom facilities are shared, and rooms are as small as they were in Hong Kong. Pro's - you can walk into town as budapest central is quite small, and its very close to the parliment which is good. Bed was reasonably comfy, and despite my presumptions boat didn't rock hardly at all, so no sea-sickness! Breakfast was good. Con's - Its a good 20 mins walk without bags to the closest metro, and 30 mins with bags. Loud creaking floor boards were a prob, kept me awake. Can hear what next door room is saying even when they are talking normally. My biggest prob was they had shower curtains that dont' provide 100% privacy instead of a closeable door like they had for the toilets, and you can see the showers from the hallway. showers also have no where to dry or hang your stuff and there is no changing area, private or otherwise, so you face the decision of either potentially getting your clothes wet or doing a sprint to your room in towel. The shower also was frequently blocked so got a free footbath. Also you can hear the muscial fountain which plays every 20 mins or so, with the same songs. drove me nuts. Staff were nice. Don't stay here more than 2-3 nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martynfrom Lincoln

Comfortable but basic with superb views

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Food and price
Cons: Lack of comfortable seating
Location: On the Danube about 1k north of the centre of town
You get what you pay for. Rooms are basic. Could do with coffee and tea facilities although there is a mini bar/fridge. Breakfast food was plentiful and varied. Restaurant meals were excellent and cheap. Beware the 'platter for two' as it needs 4 people to eat it all. Restaurant staff were helpful and friendly. Taxis found by the hotel were good and reasonably priced - beware the return journey!! Anyone with mobility problems could find the stairs difficult and walking to the nearest bus or boat stop nearly impossible. The only real problem with the hotel was a lack of comfortable seating (both in the rooms and public areas). Especially tedious with a 10am checkout and having to wait until 6pm for airport transport.