Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Ok for the price

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Location Cleanliness
Cons: Out of the hotels control
Location: It's close to the Danube and train stations.
Let me start by saying the hotel staff was very nice and the room is clean....and it goes downhill from here. The room was tiny. No air conditioning, but that's not the problem. It's in a noisy area. You hear the sound of people talking for blocks and every footstep.r
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glenn

Very welcoming

Posted May 6, 2014
Arrived very late; staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bonnie from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Wonderful Hotel/Wonderful Location!

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The breakfast room is wonderful - a good assortment of things to eat - some cold, some cooked. The location gives excellent access to the castle hill.
Cons: Our safe did not work in the first week - it was removed, but not replaced. The front desk offered access to a safety deposit box at the desk, however
Location: It is situated part way up Castle Hill, below Fishermen's Bastion, Royal Palace, and Matthias Church. It's a short walk to the Chain Bridge into Pest.
We spent a week at the Carlton Hotel before heading out to the country side for our second week. I looked forward to returning to the hotel for the last two days of our vacation before flying home to Canada. The rooms are smaller, but very nicely decorated. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The hotel is tucked away in a little cobblestoned side street, but worth the hunt. It's a short walk down the hill to the Danube and across the Szechenyi Chain Bridge into Buda. The desk staff were very helpful and appeared to be fluent in a number of languages. They confirmed our tours, sold us tickets to the "Hungarian State Folk Ensemble" at the Duna Palota, which I would highly recommend, by the way.There is a frequent bus (#16) which you can catch just down the street if you are not up to the hike up the hill. We bought a 5 day pass (for transit only) at one of the metro stations that was good value and you can get an excellent transit map.I would absolutely recommend this hotel and will return to it myself!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Karl from USA

Perfect, if not for the construction

Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is great. Quiet location right next to the Chain Bridge. If you want to be closer to all the "action" best to stay on the Pest side. But here you are close to everything but on a nice and peaceful spot, except,,, construction! The hotel was revamping an entire floor while I stayed there. Jackhammers , drilling and metal grinders all day from about 0800-1730. Impossible to rest during the day or get a quick nap. Of course this is temporary but this was wintertime and I wanted to take a break in the afternoon after walking all day in the cold. Even with ear plugs I had with me it just wasn't possible . Budapest is beautiful and you don't want to spend much time in your room, but sometimes you need a break or maybe have a child who needs a nap. Besides that, everything is great, service, breakfast, room, etc. I would stay here again for sure, the construction was just a pain during the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mucize Aysun from ─░stanbul

Good location

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean room, good location, strong wi-fi, rich breakfast, kind and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kathleen from California

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Some of those at the reception desk acted like they didn't want to be bothered. My room was very plain...no pictures on wall and the window was in an alcove, so room felt like a coffin. Location was good for accessing all sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dr. Robert Zuber from New York

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We all had a good stay. The hotel has good breakfast, is close to the Chain Bridge and many other attractions and government agencies, offers free internet in the rooms and in the lobby, and was quick to arrange things like transportation to and from the airport. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alex from Narrabeen

Excellent experience

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent