Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jude from Manchester, UK

Beware of the summer heat

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: No air conditioning in the bedroom!
Location: Near to many restaurants and bars. Less than 10 mins walk to the metro.
This hotel was convenient and good value for money. The major down-side was that there was no air conditioning in the bedroom. Given that the temperature was around 35C, this made it uncomfortable in the evening. There is however, air conditioning on the ground floor in the restaurant. I wasn't made aware that the bedroom wouldn't be air conditioned before I arrived. Other than that though, I had no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabeth from Australia

City Hotel Budapest

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: Pleasant staff who found no request difficult, they have a beautiful private courtyard
Cons: Only one pillow per guest in room
Location: Very central to shops, eating places and transport yet in a quiet spot
I have stayed at this hotel in 2009 as well as now and on each occasion it has been great. From its location to staff and rooms there is little you could fault. Because of our prior visit we did not consider any other hotel in Budapest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good all round

Posted Jan 2, 2013
Pros: breakfast
Handy location, very clean and tidy, good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Miyanji from Orlando, FL, USA

Great Hotel for a Short Trip

Posted Nov 19, 2012
Pros: Size of Room and Comfort
Location: In the City Center
Wow, I was really impressed with the quality and the price in the heart of the Budapest, Just next door to a Hotel which charges Euro 170.00 a night. Very clean and in the city center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Doug from Australia

A great base for walking Budapest

Posted Oct 5, 2012
We arrived late at night; the bus being 2 hours behind schedule, to find a warm welcome and a very quick, efficient check-in. The staff were eager to assist and spoke good English - a great help as we spoke no Hungarian. Breakfast was plentiful and well presented. The small kitchen facilities were adequate for simple meals. For those liking to walk, as we do, the location is excellent for visiting the main highlights of Budapest, but you definitely need a taxi from the Bus Terminal. The hotel is also close to a variety of restaurants and small supermarkets.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Unnamed family of four

A sleepness night

Posted Aug 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
My husband, two daughters and I stayed at City Hotel for one night before departing Budapest. We chose the hotel because it was one of the few hotels offering room for four. There were two single beds, which were ok, but the sofa bed in the bigger room was a joke. You could feel the springs in the very thin mattress, and the bed squaked with every move. The head was lower than the rest of the body, and the mattress leaned toward the middle. The metal frame was exposed on the sides and the pillows were lumpy and thin. The room was supposed to have air conditioning, but there was none. My daughter and I did not sleep for even a minute all night. It did not help that some drunken people were shouting at each other outside our window in the middle of the night. Otherwise the street (which looked more like an alley) was quiet. The bathroom and shower were ok, but very small. A refrigerator blocked the way to the kitchen and livingroom, when the sofabed was pulled out. It's possible that the hotel is ok, if you have a regular bed, but the three beds in our suite were the whole reason we selected this unfortunate hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by 44 year old, female

Good Middle of the Road Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
Standards in the East are not the same as what most westerners are used to. Location -- this hotel is about a 40-55 minute walk from the main shopping street (Vaci Utca), the Danube river, and the area which seems to be of most interest to westeners. Castle Hill is even further away on the other side of the river. The hotel is within 10 minutes of the Opera House and the main street that goes to the heroes square. Next, and the biggest disappointment -- I specifically booked this hotel because the write up said they have air-conditioning. They DO NOT. They have an oscillating fan. This can be very important as Budapest is the second hottest city in Eastern Europe. In their broken English, they apoligized and said that THEIR website makes no such claim (I have not checked that). On the positive side, the hotel owners/managers have attempted to create a nice hotel. The rooms are spacious and are nicely appointed although the room had marks on the wall and several places where former tenants had damaged the walls. At first glance, the room did not look all that clean but on closer examination, the room was very clean, it just had some worn spots on the carpets and furniture. A generous breakfast is included (eggs, bread, yogurt, juice, fruit, sausage, cereal).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from PLAINFIELD, NEW JERSEY

CITY_HOTEL BUDAPEST

Posted Mar 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable and strongly recommended!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from West Midlands, UK

value for money

Posted Jan 5, 2012
Great location! Right in the middle of the city centre, can walk to most sights with shops and restaurants nearby. The family suite has two rooms as well as a kitchen/dinning area which is very roomy. Facilities are well kept and clean, except the sofabed is terriblly uncomfortable. Staff are helpful. Overall, we had a very nice break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

Very impressed indeed

Posted Nov 19, 2011
Location: The surrounding area of the City hotel has some good restaurants and in particular a restaurant named SMS which is a short walk from hotel and has the most wonderful Italian Chef. The Hungarian stew and Lasagne were, we both agreed, the best ever tasted!!!
This is a good hotel with exceptional staff who speak very good english. When we first arrived having booked for eleven nights to undergo dental treatment we were a little disappointed in the size of our junior suite. However the very next day the charming manager changed us to a wonderful room with kitchen facilities. Very close to the main drag of Budapest and easy reach of restaurants and a short hop to the Danube area. Could not fault the staff at all, very friendly and obliging. If we returned to Budapest we would certainly use this hotel again. Very good indeed.