Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ewa from Lincoln, U.K.

Impressive hotel with faultless service!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The courteous and helpful staff. The speedy work of the waiting staff at breakfast.
Cons: The single beds were a little hard, as were the pillows - but these were soon swapped for goose feather pillows.
Location: Close to interesting bars and the main Jewish synagogue. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting the New York Cafe - food delicious. Quick walk to centre.
I came with 3 friends to celebrate a 60th birthday. The hotel was very easy to find and within walking distance of everything we wanted. The rooms were a little small, though smart, with not much space in the bathroom to put your toiletries - especially as we were ladies sharing. However, nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff, from bringing a tea tray to our room, to sending goose feather pillows for us to enjoy. Breakfast was delicious, but we learned to steer clear of Hungarian sausages which were either too spicy or too salty, and the bacon, which was a little on the frazzled side. The bar staff were friendly and made a variety of unusual cocktails for us. The swimming pool etc were great fun, the outside one having lovely views of Budapest. Turning left out of the doors, it was just a 5 minute walk to the beautiful New York Cafe, which also was a stop for the Hop-on Hop-off coaches, the tickets for which we bought from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexako from Bristol, UK

Lovely hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The location, the comfortable room, the menu in the dining room.
Cons: DIning room service was a bit erratic - it verged from the over-obsequious to frankly a little surly. To get a kettle in your room, ask in advance!
Location: The Jewish quarter is fascinating. I'd recommend the walking tour that starts outside the main synagogue. The metro is super-easy and super-efficient.
I stayed 8 nights at this hotel for an athletics event in Budapest in March 2013. It was a lovely base to set out from and to come back to. The rooms were comfortable (though by no means spacious) and the entrance is impressive and rather beautiful (the hotel was previously the site of spa baths). The food in the restaurant is surprisingly wonderful! My friends and i ate every night there as we were too exhausted to explore in the evenings and the food was a real pleasure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annie from Plymouth, Devon

Great hotel in great location.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Location and quality for the price paid. Also, very helpful, friendly staff.
Location: Central location in the 7th district. Short walk from the centre of Budapest where everything is.
Booked this hotel through expedia and looking at the reviews. It surpassed expectations as did the city of Budapest itself. Great hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The room itself was more than adequate and the breakfast choices were outstanding. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fran from Worcestershire

Good hotel in central location

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Nice ambiece, good facilities and helpful staff.
Cons: Room a little on the hot side
Location: Numerous reasonably priced restaurants and in good location to visit all local attractions.
Very quick efficient check in, room in quiet location although hotel on busy street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian from Mansfield England

Lovely Hotel Great Location

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendliness
Cons: Breakfast time we found that the hot selection was never that only luke warm but still plenty to go at.
Location: All main attractions within a good 15-25 mins walk all the better for walking off those calories.
Excellent long weekend break at the Continental Zara located in a perfect spot just far enough away not to be noisy but near enough for everything to be in walking distance. Great staff throughout the hotel all willing to help wherever possible. Plenty of bars all within staggering distance of hotel and loads of restaurants nearby.
3 out of 5
by Tina

Ok for the price

Posted Mar 16, 2014
If you want to save a few bucks from the more expensive hotels, this hotel is absolutely fine. A bit of a walk from the sites, but the metro is only a block away. Room was very clean, staff was helpful and nice. Hotel is in a bit of a sketchier area, that's really the only negative. If I were to return to Budapest, I'd stay at a different hotel with a better location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Reinette from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Very well situated hotel, close to everything.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: It was clean ans comfortable, staff were attentive and polite.
Cons: It could have been made clear that water provided in the room is not complementary.
Location: The location is excellent, a short walk to the river and major tourist sites and a short walk to the railway station.
The hotel was very pleasant, staff helpful and breakfast very good. The room was comfortable but very small, I would have expected more for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tommy from Mid Wales

Beautiful hotel, central location.

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Beautiful restoration. Central location.
Cons: Doors on showers didn't fit properly.
Great hotel, would definitely go again. Building great, restaurant good and cocktails in the bar were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by yvonne from huntly Scotland

5 nights at zara

Posted Feb 14, 2014
After a long night/morning travelling arrived at zara. Booking in was fast and informative. Our room was a standard room and that was what we got. Nothing special but all that we required. Lots of lovely finishing touches though( toiletries, robes, tea/coffee facilities etc) pool area small but again all we required. What made this hotel special were the staff and the facilities and all the little extras. Staff were at your beck and call and made our stay special. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from London

Well located, value and quality

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Thought the hotel was great - suited our needs and the staff were excellent.