Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MANCHESTER

3 DAY CITY BREAK

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: EXCELLENT STAFF WHO PROVIDE A 1ST CLASS SERVICE. GREAT ROOMS AND STYLISH BATHROOMS
Cons: TURN DOWN THE HEATING
Location: TUBE STATION JUST A FEW MINUTE WALK ROUND THE CORNER. BAKERY UP THE STREET, TESCO ON THE CORNER. GREAT COCKTAIL BAR A FEW STREETS AWAY CALLED RUMPUSS
Glad we picked the hotel CONTINENTAL ZARA FOR OUR 1ST TIME TO BUDAPEST. SITUATED ON THE PEST SIDE OF THE DANUBE, WE HAD GREAT SERVICE FROM ALL THE STAFF AND I WOULDN'T HESITATE TO RECOMMEND THEM. ONLY CRITICSM WAS THAT THE HOTEL WAS WAY TOO HOT AND THE AIR CONDITIONING WAS TOO NOISY. THE FEATHER PILLOWS WERE MILES TOO FULL AS THEY PUSHED YOUR HEAD FORWARD AND WE BOTH HAD NECK ACHE. THEY HAVE SEVERAL PILLOW OPTIONS SO WE TRIED THE MEMORY FOAM BUT WE DIDN'T GET ALONG WITH THESE EITHER. DON'T BE AFRAID TO ASK FOR AN ALTERNATIVE IF THE ONES PROVIDED DON'T SUIT. THE STAFF REALLY DO WANT TO HELP. THE STREET IS A BIT ODD IN THAT SOME PARTS ARE NICE AND SOME NOT SO NICE, HOWEVER WE FELT PERFECTLY SAFE AT ALL TIMES/ GREAT ARCHITECTURE THROUGHOUT THE CITY. RESTAURANTS VERY REASONABLE FOR A CITY AND WE EVEN CAME BACK WITH SOME MONEY! TRY THE NOIR DE L'OR FOR FOOD - EXCELLENT WHEN WE WERE THERE. VISIT THE CITY PARK NEXT TO HERO'S SQ. WE USED THE UNDERGROUND AND BOUGHT A DAY TICKET FOR ABOUT £4 EACH.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: At breakfast, beans were missing some days.
Location: An ideal location. Close to the centre and public transport. Plenty of eating places in the area.
Beautiful hotel in the old Jewish quarter very near to the city centre attractions. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We arrived quite late after the flight was diverted to Franfurt when a passenger was taken ill. We were unsure if our requested tranfer from the airport would still be there but it was. The driver was most helpful. On our arrival at the hotel, the bell boy was waiting outside for us. As we were booking in, the General Manager appeared and introduced himself. When we got to the room, we found we had been upgraded. The room was fantastic. We left the unpacking for later and went to the restaurant at about 10.25pm. This was due to close at 11 and we didn't expect to be served. In the event, we had an excellent meal and did not feel any pressure to rush. Breakfast next morning was good. Plenty of choice, from cereals and fruit to a full cooked one. The staff were constantly topping up items and clearing away used dishes. Even when it was busy, there was no waiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales, UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: It is tastefully restored and the staff were all polite and helpful. Having free access to the spa was also good, especially if it rained.
Cons: We did have a few problems using the key card in the lift.
Location: The hotel is located in a quiet street yet there is easy access to bus tours of Budapest and many other sights.
This hotel is in a quiet street yet within easy walking distance of the sights. There was an enormous range of food to choose from at breakfast and all of the staff we encountered were polite and helpful. We particularly enjoyed the traditional Hungarian evening held at the hotel on Fridays. It was my birthday during our stay in Budapest and in the hotel restaurant that evening I was presented with a slice of cake with a candle in. It was a lovely gesture in a hotel with so many guests to cater for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

rating the hotel Zara

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The rooms are well presented & most certainly up to date decor wise,my room was very comfortable & very easy to unwind & relax in.
Cons: personally there wasn,t anything i would have changed,well maybe the wife dwl :)
Location: because i was in Budapest as a dental patient, it was not always possible to do a lot of site seeing as i was on most days recovering from sedation.
The hotel on the whole is very well presented,reading about its history it began life as a spar,over decades neglect forced the building into near disrepair.A developer made an attempt to add features to the building,which nearly resulted in its total collaps,this had to be rectified, & new development has brought it into the 21st century,the main entrance with its copper decorative carvings are to say the least unique & quite beautiful to admire.The main lobby & all the restaurants are all tastefully designed & practical,highly recommended for the tasteful food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Great hotel within a beautifully restored building

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The beautiful building made it stand out from many similar standard hotels
Cons: The ability to enjoy a drink on the roof terrace would be wonderful
Location: Slightly away from the centre but well situated in a quiet side street. Not far from a hop-on-hop-off bus stop so good for seeing the city
For once, reality more than matched the online photos - this a great hotel set in a beautiful building. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with all the facilities for a comfortable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The roof terrace was particularly good for late afternoon relaxing after a busy day touring the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire England

Excellent hotel very reasonably priced

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Excellent hotel with very friendly polite and helpful staff. Rooms are very well presented and very clean as are all areas of the hotel! Hotel is a short walk of around 15 mins to centre and tourist attractions but only a couple of mins to nearest metro stop The wellness and spa area is very good and nice to relax in after a day sight seeing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Interesting "Fin de Siecle" architecture.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: To be quite truthful, the lobby as stated above. The little mezzanine lounge/bar area is also nicely situated overlooking the hotel foyer.
Cons: The room decor is, frankly, dreary with a mix of unpleasant browns being used as the the predominant colours. The management should think about this.
Location: The location is very good situated among excellent quality buildings, little bars, restaurants and also within walking distance of tourist sites.
The hotel lobby is impressive and is a nice blend of the previous Industrial/warehouse historic feel and a contemporary ambience. This has been cleverly achieved and it gives a very good first impression.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: It was beautiful, the garden , the piano, the bar, the breakfast, the little extras in your room ( toiletries, bobbles, tissues etc)
Cons: We had a pillar outside our room window partially blocking the garden view but when we go next time we will ask for a different room,not a problem.
Location: It is central to everywhere , fantastic restaurants and bars nearby. Follow the map and it takes you to the Octogon nearly in half the time we thought
I have just stayed a week at this hotel and loved it. Staff were great, breakfast great, cocktails great. Beautiful room (although view was blocked a little but it didn't,t matter). The pool was great after a hard day sightseeing. We will be going back next time we visit, it had a great location, couldn't fault it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Zara was in an awesome location. Very comfortable hotel with great amenities. The rooftop pool and the exercise room was better than expected. I would stay at this hotel again. I would also recommend this hotel to anyone planning to go to Budapest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Budapest break

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Excellent staff very enjoyable stay Would use again