Ratings based on 1,331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Historic stylish hotel with magnificent pools

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The 'spa' facilities are tremendous (see above). The car park, a couple of minutes walk away, come and go as you please, was very convenient.
Cons: A minor point, but the rooms we had were a little bit drab, and the plumbing was rather old.
Location: You've got all the attractions of Pest just across the bridge, and Buda just up the hill. If you want a day's relaxation by the pool, it's right here!
The 'spa' facilities are tremendous - change into bathers in your room, put on the towelling robe they provide, take the lift and you're at the pool! That's just first one - there's an outdoor one too, with sun loungers and umbrellas for comfort, waves every so often, also a hot pool, sauna and plunge pool. It's all next to a nice restaurant (also part of the hotel) where you can get a nice lunch. For a day's relaxation by the pool, it's ideal. Besides this, there's a very nice café with superb patisseries. We didn't have time to try the restaurant with the live music.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel mit viel Flair und Zentral

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Dieses Hotel hat sicher schon bessere Tage erlebt und eine Renovierung könnte diees Hotel um etliche Preisklassen erhöhen (wir waren froh das es nicht so war). Zentral, günstig und direkt an der Donau. Das Frühstück war fantastisch und Alles war bis zum Schluss reichlich vorhanden. Durch die günstigen Metro, Straßenbahn und Busverbindungen direkt vor der Tür konnten wir sowohl zu Fuß als auch mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln Budapest super bequem erkunden. Nicht ganz ersichtlich ist, das für das Gellert Bad nur für einen einmaligen Besuch kostenlos ist, danach mußten wir "vergünstigt" 9 Euro bezahlen. Der Besuch in diesem historischen Bad lohnt sich auf jeden Fall. Aber man sollte bedenken, das man nicht mal, kurz einfach so, vor oder nach Stadt in den Pool springen kann. Schade. Der Flair von nobel und alt ist auf jeden Fall sehenswert.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location

Posted Jul 4, 2015
We found the staff very unfriendly. The young boys in the bar/restaurant arrogant. There was no air conditioning . Rooms clean but very dated.Shower over bath. Excellent breakfast but not available until 7am which is too late when you have a morning flight out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South England

Grand 19th Century Hotel overlooking the Danube.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Grand old fashioned design. The thermal pool.
Cons: They need a more efficient toaster at breakfast.
Location: Central location for getting to sights and shops. Right outside are bus and tram stops. Walk over the bridge and you are quickly into restaurants.
Impressive hotel with lots of character. Large bedrooms with tall ceilings and we had view of the Danube. Staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Great Place!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: No. If you turn it into a modern place with plastic furniture, it will be just another nameless hotel. Right now, it is a historical experience.
Location: Perfect.
Friendly efficient staff! Very Friendly and very efficient. Eager to help. Good, reasonably priced food. Beautiful view from the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from München

Hübsches Hotel, leider veraltete sanitäre Anlagen

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Die Aussicht
Cons: Die sanitären Anlagen erneuern
Location: zentral
Das Hotel war schön, das Personal, Sauberkeit, Buffet, die Aussicht - alles prima. Leider war die Einrichtung sehr abgewohnt und die sanitären Anlagen alt. Das Wasser kam nur tröpfchenweise aus dem Hahn. Aus der Handbrause kam das Wasser aus dem Schlauch, statt aus dem Duschkopf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Chic art nouveau hotel where history lives.Excelle

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Location and art nouveau furniture and the spa pools
Cons: Elevators and showers in the rooms
Excellent location,great breakfast.Helpful personnel. Lousy soap dispensers,require two hands to squeeze out the soap
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wien

Tolles THotel im Herzen Budapests

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Das Gellert Bad, das offensichtlich von jemand anderem verwaltet wird
Cons: Hotelzimmer müssen dringend modernisiert werden. man könnte mit wenigen Mitteln (tolle Tapete, neue Fliesen) viel erreichen.
Location: LAGE ist super, in der Nähe gibt es die schöne Markthalle, das Zentrum. Besser geht es nicht
ich wollte einen Tag lang in Budapest relaxen und Sightseeing machen. dies ist mir auch gelungen. Das Gellert-Bad war toll. Das Hotelgebäude auch. Innen ist es aber ziemlcih abgewohnt. Würde es aber trotzdem jedem emphelen, der zum ersten mal nach Budapest kommt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

River view and Spa

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Fantastic location and great food. The Spa is worth the trip alone! Rooms would be better with air conditioning in the hot weather but overall the staff and the hotel were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by NCS, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to express our sincere gratitude over your kind words and short review on EXPEDIA about your recent stay in Danubius Hotel GELLERT. We thank you for your kind words regarding our location, the food, the staff and the Spa -which is "worth a trip alone! ". We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Mihaly Vasony Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southend on Sea, Essex, UK

Excellent service and wonderful staff.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: I loved the thermal baths, the swimming pool and mostly the beneficial treatment of magnetotherapy and reflexology from George. This man has an amazin
Cons: I believe it will be nice for the staff who lives in the hotel to have free entrance to the thermal baths and the swimming pool.
Location: I loved the fact the hotel was not far from the high street and the beautiful market was nearby. I loved the fact that you could find so easily so man
It was my first visit in Budapest last week and I have to say I have had an wonderful experience. i have always wanted to visit Budapest as my grandfather was Hungarian, so I was so happy for the opprtunity to get to know my roots a little bit. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly and approachable. The view from my balcony was extraordinary and I have enjoyed taking quite a few lovely pictures of the Libery Bridge, the statue of liberty and the wonderful cross situated on the hill. I have enjoyed as well going up the hill where the statue of liberty was situated and I have to say I have wonderful photos taken from there...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by NCS, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion and experiences with us and with the EXPEDIA community and travellers about your recent stay in Danubius Hotel GELLERT. I will pass your positive comments to George about the "beneficial treatment of magneto therapy and reflexology " We offer our staff 10 tickets each day to get almost complimentary admission to the Gellért spa-,Full complimentary would cause income tax problems so the just have to pay a "small contriburion" like 3 Eu/occasion We were happy to read that your stay was a positive experience for you! It is so nice to know that the services provided by our team have met your expectations and the hotel’s location as well. We are really pleased that you had spent a great time here. Best regards, Mihaly Vasony Guest Relations Manager