Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Outstanding Hotel in a Beautiful Location

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The style, location and architectural interest of the hotel, and the friendly staff.
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: The hotel is located in a UNESCO world heritage site (Buda Castle area), and as such it is quaint and unspoilt.
When we booked the Hilton overlooking the castle in the Buda part of Budapest, we hoped it would be as good as it looked in the pictures....in fact it was in an absolutely stunning location and the photos didn't do it justice! The hotel itself was modern and attractive but actually incorporated two older buildings within its structure - one of which was the ruins of an old monastery. This meant that the Hilton not only had a very interesting architectural feature at its heart, but also the most wonderful hidden wine bar in the form of the monastery cellar that still existed below ground level. You had to go down lots of winding stone steps to get to the wine bar, and the cellar itself was very gothic/ romantic with its wooden tables and candles. The owners were on hand to offer advice on wines, as well as wine-tasting, and we walked away with a couple of bottles of the most delicious Hungarian wine as part of their takeaway service. Our wonderful stay at the Hilton was made complete by the friendly and helpful hotel staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and one of the concierge staff even helped us by writing a note that we could hand to the ticket office when we went to buy a 7 day travel pass! We got an excellent late deal to stay at the Hilton for 10 days (which included the superb breakfast buffet each day), and I would urge anyone looking into Budapest Hotels to consider the Buda Hilton
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal for exploring Old Buda

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Position, style . Staff always helpful and friendly.
Cons: Dealing with lots of people booking out
Location: View the most beautiful church and the area around. The views looking over Budapest. The old hospital. The Roman ruins .the good eating places
Hotel ideal for exploring Old Buda lots of interesting places to visit .Good eating places Especially in the evenings.bus runs regularly into Buda. A viking represent in hotel which was Helpful. Not happy to receive a letter from the hotel after my return home to tell me that they were Going to claim for a bottle of water which was in my room on arrival which i thought was Complimentary as it is in every other hotel that i stayed in the world i am sure it must have Cost the hotel more than the cost of water to send their letter through the post.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2014 by Zoltan, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with me and with other readers. I'm pleased to read that you liked the unique location of our hotel. I regret the misunderstanding regarding the water in your room. I would like to inform you that we placed a tag on the neck of the water informing our guests about the cost of it. Thank you again for your time and review, hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Yours sincerely, Zoltan Arvai General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Aberdeen, Scotland

A good hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The rooms were superb.
Cons: The pricing for breakfast could be made more realistic and the WiFi could be free like other hotels.
Location: The location, in the middle of the castle district, was superb.
A very good hotel but Breakfast and WiFi were very much overpriced. In a country where most bars and restaurants, not to mention shops, provide free WiFi for their customers, the Wifi was vastly overpriced. All the other hotels we stayed in, while travelling around Hungary, provided free WiFi. However the hotel itself was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Traveling Couple from Wisconsin

Go for a Danube view room

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Spent two nights here and chose the more expensive Danube view room and weren’t disappointed. The hotel itself is a little bit older but still nice, although the Danube view room definitely makes up for it. It is a Hilton, so the quality, service, and amenities (and price) definitely show. The Faust wine Cellar downstairs is a nice touch too. Going down to the river and over to the Pest side can be a bit of a hike. Definitely consider taking a taxi to and from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Zoltan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are so glad to have welcomed you and your family to Hilton Budapest and we appreciate your four star review. We are always delighted to hear when our property's location and the nice view lends such amazing memories to our guests' experience. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back and to offer event more of our hospitality. Until then we wish you all the best and look forward to hearing from you. Zoltán Árvai General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hugh from somerset

Really nice hotel in the Castle District.

Posted May 18, 2014
Lots to see close to hotel, lots of excellent restaurants nearby, at varying prices. Very close to very frequent bus service to take you down to Pest. Comfortable, staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

loved being by the castle

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
outstanding, outstanding
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from Brighton

Great location and fab breakfast!

Posted May 11, 2014
Had a wonderful time. Shame you can only get free wifi downstairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dining experience

Posted May 10, 2014
Stayed for 3 nights B&B requested evening meal on arrival,informed that restaurant would be closed for two nights out of the three because it was required by delegates attending a conference.This is in my opinion is a totally unacceptable practice by Hilton management.When I book into a 5 star hotel I am being charged a premium for facilities that I can use if I choose to,dining is no different than using the the gym,it is a facility that may be used in a flexible way There were adequate facilities within the hotel other than using the dining room to accommodate this group,but the decision was made to discriminate against the individual traveler forcing him or her to dine in the lounge, bar style whilst being charged resrtaurant rates
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canadian

Great location.

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: The facilities and the price of it...excellent.
Location: It is set up on the hill side and it is easy to get around. Great shops and restaurants close by.
We had a great time at this hotel. It was what you would expect from the Hilton chain and it didn't disappoint. It was very resonably priced for what you got. The room was really more than we expected and the location was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by FrittsJ from Bath UK

More business than leisure hotel but still fun

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Definitely geared towards business although the location / view cannot be beat. Just note if you stay here on vacation you'll likely be making a few trips, cab, bus, or walk into town and it can take some time. We didn't mind as it's also a bit quieter than downtown Pest. Only negatives were: the hotel restaurant was very expensive, expensive wifi (in room), tv's locked down so you can't plug anything in, the bed was very firm and the shower pressure was very low. The rooms are big though, the chair in the room was comfy, the bed was big (especially for European standards) and like I said, the view and location for Buda is great. Some construction outside the hotel going on in May '14 and looks like it may go on for a bit more. They shut down for the night though so you shouldn't have trouble sleepgin.