Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tarpon Springs

Who rated this hotel to be 4 stars?

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: The room was very small. No coffee machine, only a pitcher to boil water was provided.
Cons: Have coffee available in the lobby in the morning (not only after 11 am) if they don't have a coffee machine in the room.
Location: Nice location, the castle and museums were in walking distance.
This small hotel is in a very nice area and it is pleasant, but the rooms are very small and it is not what you expect of a 4 stars hotel. The staff were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

highly recommended

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Clean and pleasant
Cons: none
Location: Close to attractions, sightseeing tours and waikabout
Situated at a quiet area, easy access to castle area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The price was very reasonable, and it is an all around excellent hotel. The rooms were perfect.
Cons: A proper shower door, we are not used to the European style which is a small piece of glass that does not keep the water in very well during a shower.
Location: The castle is literally a 60 second walk. The only downside is that when visiting Pest, which is all within easy walking, you have to walk back up!
We decided to stay in a nicer hotel on the castle hill, and Hotel Castle Garden did not disappoint. It is an excellent location on a very quiet street right on the edge of the castle grounds. The staff are great, and the hotel is excellent with everything we needed and more. The restaurant is also exceptional and worth a few meals. We had no negatives at all, and would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamburg, Germany

Excellent, reasonably-priced hotel in castle area

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Nearly everything
Cons: Some of the staff (somewhat abrupt)
Location: Castle district, great walks and views.
This hotel is basically fantastic value. Mostly you can get a deal at around €50 per night (depending on season), and for that price you really get a lot: beautiful rooms, well appointed in a great (quiet) area, i.e. the castle district. I would say it really is a 4-star hotel. The bathrooms in particular are fabulous (generous, stylish washbasins and bathtub). However, in my opinion the hotel needs to be a little careful that it doesn't become run down with wear and tear (a few little signs are beginning to show, such as noisy extractor in the bathroom (filter needs changing!) and a few marks on walls here an there, but then I'm being a little pedantic (I saw the hotel when it was new in 2008!). The hotel staff are either excellent or a little abrupt, depending on who you get! I will definitely be going there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton Alberta

Very good choice for the hilly side of Budapest

Posted Aug 28, 2014
This hotel was right in the Castle district on the Buda side of Budapest so if that's where you want to be , close to St . Stephens cathedral and overlooking the Danube with a beautiful view of the city. It was a wonderful spot from where to wAtch the fireworks show on St Stephens celebration in august. Reasonably priced and the staff very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, quiet street

Posted Aug 21, 2014
This hotel is very well appointed, modern yet comfy and cosy. We really liked the simple clean but warm decor of our room. The only thing I would improve is the breakfast buffet - selection was slim and by the time we got down to breakfast (10 AM) the buffet has been picked almost clean and not replenished. We had already paid our 10 Euro/person so we made do, but it would be great if they would pay better attention to this. Next time we will find a local cafe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great value on Buda Hill

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was a little hard to find for first timers to Budapest. But the location is incredible - right under the walls on the north side of Buda Hill. The entrance to the top of the hill is just a few steps away, perfect for an evening stroll to Mathias Church or Fisherman's Point. The hotel is modern and well kept. The rooms are a bit small. And the wireless is weak. The staff is very helpful and speaks English well. They helped us with several difficulties. Parking is tight, with some parking in the hotel garage or in the paid public parking across the road. A car or taxi is needed to get to the hotel. Metro and shopping are about 10 minutes away on foot. Overall, the location, the very helpful staff, the nice rooms, combined with the reasonable price made for a very satisfied guest. Thank you Hotel Castle Garden!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk, UK

Good location, 5 mins walk from Fishermans Bastion

Posted Aug 1, 2014
We found the hotel staff very helpful, good breakfast and food in restaurant is lovely, 10 mins walk to river. Would recomend hop on hop off bus tour, ticket last for 2 days plus river tour for 5900 huf. Taxi from airport was 35 euros. We would definately use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Charming, well located hotel.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The location, the convenience of the restaurant on site, bus stop very near by, helpful staff, cleanliness, and not a big hotel chain.
Cons: When Budapest is 88 degrees, as it was when we were there, the air conditioning was just barely adequate.
Location: The locations was great, near several of the important sights in Budapest. We bought a 96 hour transit pass that took us every where we wanted to go.
Our 4 night stay was most enjoyable. Rita, at the reception desk, was very helpful. Even though the hotel was on the Buda side, we could quickly and easily get to all the sights and all the action on the Pest side via bus, tram, subway or trolley. Just buy a transit pass. It is a cheap and excellent way to get around all of Budapest. The Italian restaurant on site was very good, and always had many locals eating there, not just the tourists. There is a grocery store near by and a wide variety of restaurants to choose from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com